Land Rover Discovery Sport SD4 previewed in Sepang – 2.0L petrol and 2.2L diesel to go on sale late-July

Land_Rover_Discovery_Sport_Malaysia_ 002

The Land Rover Discovery Sport has made its first appearance in Malaysia – the seven-seat (or rather, 5+2) replacement for the Freelander 2 was previewed a while ago at a Land Rover Malaysia off-road experience event happening in Sepang, but the new Disco Sport won’t go on sale here until late-July or August.

Two engine variants will be available when the SUV eventually arrives, and these will be the familiar 240 PS 2.0 litre turbocharged petrol (which is the Ford EcoBoost mill) and a 190 PS (and 420 Nm) 2.2 litre Ford/PSA turbodiesel. No indication of pricing as yet, nor is there any on what trim levels to expect.

The showcase model is a metallic Yulong White 2.2D SD4 example, and wears a SE level trim, dressed in an Ebony interior (with Ebony grained leather). Here, the oil burner is mated to a nine-speed automatic transmission with paddle shifters.

The kitbag on the display unit includes xenon headlamps with DRLs, a powered tailgate, a panoramic roof and a Meridian surround audio system. Also on here are eight-way electrically adjustable front seats, reverse camera and a new eight-inch touchscreen.

There’s also configurable mood lighting and a HDD navigation system, and the SD4 example is shod with nine-spoke 18-inch alloys and 235/60 profile rubbers. We’re however told that the specifications for both the diesel and petrol Disco Sport we’re getting hasn’t yet been finalised, so the SD4 you’re looking at may not be fully representative of the type, at least in the case of the diesel variant.

The Disco Sport is equipped with the automaker’s Terrain Response system, and features 25-, 31- and 21-degree approach, departure and breakover angles respectively as well as a wading depth of up to 600 mm, making it one ready for any rough moments. We’ll have more on the SUV when the time comes – stay tuned.

Land Rover Discovery Sport in Iceland

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Based on UK prices this should be slightly more expensive than the Evoque. But you do gain much more space in return

• kzm buda bodo (Member) on May 22, 2015 at 6:28 pm

No idea why people buy this problematic junk. In the UK, Warranty Direct confirms, in a list of 100 car brands, Land Rover has the WORST reliability and highest breakdowns and problems.

It is known as the most problematic car in the UK with highest maintenance cost due to so many failures.

But in Malaysia, conjob company Sime Darby promotes this car as luxury and cuts your throat for RM500k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 21
      • sudonano (Member) on May 22, 2015 at 8:06 pm

Your head la.

Go and find me an owner of a Land Rover or Range Rover built after the brand was sold to Tata that has broken down completely. That is right, none.

I have a Land Rover myself. I can tell you, if at all, whatever doubts I had with the car when I bought it was gone over the last 3 years with the car. I never had a single mechanical fault, and the only fault I had was when the car was tinted, the guys didn’t reseat my door panels correctly. But Land Rover got that done and I was good to go. Plus, as part of the maintenance plan I have never paid a single sen for service too, which means all I did was fill up petrol, rotate tyres, and have fun. Till today, I still am amazed by the way this thing can cope with the KL rains, imagine 120-140kmh, on the highway, even on rainy days, it takes it all in its stride. By far, the AWD really works, and I would only trust TerrainResponse when the going gets tough. xDrive comes at a second but xDrive and quattro’s diff lockup time isn’t as fast as TerrainResponse.

It was by far, more reliable than even my Toyota. I kid you not, my Toyota went thorough 2 sets of suspensions in the same period, driving on the same exact KL roads.

If at all, the only thing I find a bit meh is the engine used in the Evoque and Freelander2, the 240PS is not really designed like the Germans, in the sense the boost is very noticeable. The Germans tend to tune the turbo such that it is more linear.

Thank goodness I didn’t buy a bloody Lexus RX. I think I would have fallen asleep.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 17
        • John Harvard on May 23, 2015 at 12:28 am

You are typical reckless drivers who has no responsibility and driving120-140km in the rain and proud of that. Police should have stop you (which we know our policeman is highly inefficient in catching the real culprit) or you are those with a whatever plate that is immune to be ticketed.
          Whichever way shows your are one of those dangerous on the road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 17
          • sudonano (Member) on May 23, 2015 at 10:12 am

Is there such a thing where 120kmh is reckless, but 110 kmh is not reckless? I have seen idiots driving even at 50km/h.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 9
          • 140KM in the rain? on May 23, 2015 at 11:51 am

Already stupid enough to drive 140KM in the rain, somemore come here and give even dumber comments.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
          • sudonano (Member) on May 23, 2015 at 1:08 pm

Joke’s on you.

http://www.caradvice.com.au/317208/i-drove-312kmh-on-a-public-road-didnt-die/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
          • He is sharing his experience driving that car. I have a SUV and driving in the rain also in that speed. If you know the road well, understand your driving capability as well as the car and tyre limit, then shd be no problem. Idiots are those who switched ON his hazards lights in the rain and drives on the right hand side thinking he is doing some public service !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
        • Land Rover Kaki Breakdown on May 23, 2015 at 11:26 am

How to trust a reckless driver driving at those high speeds? Sound like some young rich ciku who got no discipline.

The truth of the matter is, Land Rover is kaki breakdown. I work for Sime Darby and I can confirm with you, the car is King of Breakdowns. Pay such a high price for a car that is so low in reliability.

I have seen the latest surveys. Even in 2015, Land Rover is rated the worst car to have

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
          • sudonano (Member) on May 23, 2015 at 1:08 pm

Why not show us proof of the issues of those broken down Landies?

While you are at it, take a read on this.

http://www.caradvice.com.au/317208/i-drove-312kmh-on-a-public-road-didnt-die/

• Obviously (Member) on May 23, 2015 at 1:48 pm

You got yourself an Evoque, mate?

• Bro sudonano, I agree completely with your views on the Land Rover brand reliability. Family had the new Range Rover Sport delivered earlier this year. Went without hiccups and is a dream to drive. Had an X5 xdrive35i E70 which is still in the stable and the new RRS is miles better compared to the X5. Can’t comment about the reliability of the RRS yet as it is still new but having no complains thus far. The X5 recently went through a set of busted differentials and transfer cases and had it changed for RM30k for both and it was found out right after the day the warranty expired. Tough luck but it shows and emphasized the point that the E70 chasiss is unreliable as with other bmw E70 ownership experiences worldwide. Apparently had a few cases in Malaysia with the same busted transfer case and xdrive differentials when the family’s X5 went in. Right after sending the E70 in when to the Land Rover dealership and test drove the new RRS and were completely hooked to it.

• Same Lorrrr on May 22, 2015 at 10:26 pm

As I said, rich people go for Camry just like me. You will never go wrong with Sushi. Work hard like me in order to be able to afford a luxury and expensive Camry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 20
  • Jimmy on May 22, 2015 at 5:40 pm

Qecil.

• seancorr (Member) on May 22, 2015 at 6:26 pm

This is going to be a pricey bugger…

• sudonano (Member) on May 22, 2015 at 8:30 pm

My guess they would price this about the 330k-350k mark. Pretty much Audi Q5 and Volvo XC60 money. They have the Evoque to go after the upper compact SUV market like the Macan and NX200t anyway, so anything more would begin to destroy the Evoque appeal. Plus, this could be the car that could propel Land Rover to a new level here in Malaysia, if they have like a 250k variant somewhere. Catch all those fellas moving up from a CRV or CX5.

• Bro sudonano,
        If the new LR Discovery Sport is to follow the previous Discovery.. Then the price will be set above 400k.

• Paul Tan on May 22, 2015 at 8:49 pm

Discovery Sport replaces Freelander, not Discovery.

• sudonano (Member) on May 22, 2015 at 8:55 pm

Yeah Disco Sport is actually the replacement for the Freelander2.

Basically we will have 3 core brands now, Defender, Discovery, and finally Range Rover.

So which means the lineup IIRC is like this:

Defender: pure off road, something like the 110 replacement would be here soon.

Discovery: Active lifestyle car, day to day practical SUV. Will spawn the Sport (this one), and the full on Discovery, basically the Disco5.

Range Rover: Full size, Sport and Evoque. More of the luxury focussed go anywhere car.

• King of RV Depreciation on May 23, 2015 at 11:54 am

Pricey with the worst RV ever. Buy RM400k today, tomorrow sell for RM200k also very lucky

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • shawal on May 22, 2015 at 9:21 pm

bad choice of color n rim for a preview, extremely bland…

• This is rich man’s Toyota Fortuner, no?