ASEAN NCAP crash tests Toyota Rush, Great Wall M4

asean-ncap-toyota-rush

ASEAN NCAP recently crash tested two SUVs sold in Malaysia – the Toyota Rush and Great Wall M4 – and has released the results. The safety body said that with support from Bloomberg Philantrophies, it has progressively performed crash tests on SUVs offered in ASEAN to ensure that safety levels meet United Nations standards.

The Indonesian-made Toyota Rush facelift that was tested (as sold in Malaysia) came with ABS as standard across the board, and had Isofix mounting points plus two airbags, but no Electronic Stability Control (ESC). It achieved four stars for both adult occupant protection (AOP) and child occupant protection (COP), scoring 12.47 points out of a possible 16 and 82% compliance, respectively.

ASEAN NCAP noted that the Rush achieved a relatively good result for COP, better than all the SUVs it has tested before bar the Honda CR-V at 86% compliance.

asean-ncap-gwm-m4

The Great Wall M4 was crash tested in June. The Gurun-assembled car, the first ever China-branded car tested by ASEAN NCAP, scored 9.64 points out of 16 for three stars in the AOP, and four stars in COP with 79% compliance. It comes with two airbags, ABS and Isofix, but no ESC.

While the M4’s AOP score is relatively low, its COP rating is reasonably good and betters the five-star Honda HR-V (73%), Subaru XV (67%) and Mitsubishi Pajero Sport (40%) in the SUV segment.

With this two additions, ASEAN NCAP has so far crash tested seven SUV sold in Malaysia. View the freshly-released star rating vs price chart for the SUV segment below.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• stupid on Aug 14, 2015 at 3:24 pm

two airbags w/o ESC can achieve 4stars?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
    • alldisc on Aug 14, 2015 at 5:39 pm

it is how the cabin was designed. no point in an event of a collision the occupant dies when 8 airbags deployed at the same time (read – Michelin man).

the most important thing is after an accident, the occupant still can exit the car (all the doors can be opened) and escape serious injury.

of course, as long as all passengers wearing seatbelts – which sadly not happening in Malaysia. and of course the collision is not at 110kmh (this is reason why asean NCAP, ANCAP, euro NCAP, US IIHS and NHTSA all conduct tests at between 56-64kmh. anything more than that, even volvos not confident to claim their cars can withstand.)

having a lot of airbags is not the answer to safety. many other aspects like cabin cell strentgh, car speed, seat belts worn or not, head on crash direct or offset etc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
    • SAM Jamban Loo on Aug 15, 2015 at 4:17 pm

This jamban junk Rush can even get 40 stars one, what do you expect from ‘L’ANCAP @ L****u ASEAN NCAP where even brand new dangerous junk cars without VSC can score 4 stars.

In EU countries, with their new regulations, no VSC in brand new cars other than compulsary airbags and 3-point seatbelts in every individual seat (doesn’t matter Proton/Perodua/Toyota or even luxury conti cars), those cars can pack up and leave.

• Macais will say:
    This is wayang saja. Only to makan more money. How can lousy Proton Exora is better than glorified Toyota Rush. Very suspicious. Somemore china brand Haval just 1 star below toyota. Lagi suspicious. This is all a lie. Its a setup to convince the rakyat that Proton is better than toyota. Actual fact toyota rush is 6 stars but MIROS is under orders to downgrade it below Exora. You know, I know lah, whose orders is it…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 39
    • Y CRV,XV get 5 stars?

• Great ball on Jul 11, 2016 at 7:33 am

You so confident with haval better get one and add all the stars you want, better read all those real accidents and you can go ahead with your self claim expert and good luck

• What?? Rush No VSC? on Aug 14, 2015 at 4:05 pm

Now, with the new Accord and Civic, habis la Sam Loo (ori1), Same Lorrr and SamShowedMetheHilux. All crying now. Even Rush also no VSC

In overseas, Toyota is highly respected. But in Malaysia, Toyota now has become a laughing stock. If you buy one, people secretly laugh at you thinking you are the dumbest person in town cause the Toyota is heavily stripped of its safety features. Now somemore, Picanto, comes with 6 airbags and can be safer than a Camry!

Malaysians already now know how Toyota has been cheating people. Until today, even RM150k Camry got no VSC and only 2 airbags. Paultan already wrote long article how vital VSC is 3 years ago and yet UMW don’t care a damn for our lives.

Global price of Camry with 10 airbags and VSC is US$22,000. Besides VSC and 10 airbags, the global Camry has about 20 other safety features that is NOT in our Camry. These features are standard and free on the global Camry.

UMW don’t care about your life. you die or vegetable, they don’t care, janji untung lebih. they take out safety features to save cost. Yet, they charge us 3x the global price of US$22k. We buy for RM180k a heavily stripped down car. Same with Altis. Same with Vios.

Worse still, it is CKD and Made in Malaysia. The price is even cheaper. If US Toyota is sold at US22k and still make a profit, you can bet that UMW will get this car at country distributor price of US15k. CKD it, it will be US$12k (about RM40k). But they sell to Malaysians for RM180k.

Camry Hybrid even better. US$26k with full spec. Come to Malaysia no tax. But somehow, it is sold for RM175k despite it even being CKD.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
    • Great ball on Jul 11, 2016 at 7:35 am

You are right, that the reason camry were used as taxi in usa, Malaysia should use camry as taxi and not those small saga

• nabill (Member) on Aug 14, 2015 at 4:10 pm

what WALL is that to only get 3 stars?!! :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
  • what toyota trying to tell us? compare the safety with chinese car? is that mean ur safety just better than chinese car? pity u
    by the way, i have seen less than 5 rush a year in malaysia…

• SAM Jamban Loo on Aug 15, 2015 at 4:27 pm

Those material and quality in Toyotaik Rush, it was even worse than basic RM24k Axia yet they can sell their taik Rush over RM100k where lot’s of other good cars can sell at far more less than that.

• Aero (Member) on Aug 14, 2015 at 7:30 pm

Oh man, I feel so bad for GoAuto Great Wall… They will now have to work twice as hard to shed their newfound ‘milo tin’ image. ASEAN NCAP’s standards aren’t as strict as ANCAP’s… so a 3-star ASEAN NCAP rating for a 2015 car is downright terrible. 4-stars isn’t much better either.

ANCAP has a saying… “5-stars. Accept nothing less.”

• panjang on Aug 15, 2015 at 7:35 pm

I have to say the M4 is quite pleasing to the eye.3 star is bad for nowadays standard but just flashback about the koreans few years ago…
    now the koreans are up there with the others.resale value is just a man made perception jist like what happen to the property market today.

Lets just hope the chinese will catch up and offer lots more choice in the market to make the so called market leader to snap from their dream.

• Great ball on Jul 11, 2016 at 7:36 am

Another china knockoff