VIDEO: TMJ’s cars in KL – Dodge Charger SRT Hellcat, Mercedes-Benz SLR McLaren 722 and G 63 AMG 6×6!

Over the weekend, the Tunku Mahkota Johor, Tunku Ismail Sultan Ibrahim, made his way to Kuala Lumpur to witness the Malaysia Super League football match between Johor Darul Ta’zim FC and Felda United – in which his side clinched the title for the second successive year. And of course, what would the arrival of TMJ be without his trademark armada of high-end machinery?

And this time, the lineup was as impressive as any previously seen. The first car alone – seen in the above video, by ImpexBee, leaving the Shangri-La Hotel on Jalan Sultan Ismail – was a lurid green Dodge Challenger SRT Hellcat, one of the most hyped and sought-after muscle cars of the moment. Given that the 6.2 litre Hemi V8 in this one is pushing a ludicrous 707 hp and 880 Nm of torque, it’s not hard to see why.

But behind that is something even rarer and unique – a Mercedes-Benz SLR McLaren. True, it’s not the new thing on the block since both its successors, the SLS AMG and AMG GT, have gone on sale, but the long nose and cab-back proportions are still something to behold. Particularly in this 722 Edition guise with the supercharged 5.5 litre V8 now breathed on to make 23 hp more at 640 hp.

The Lamborghini Huracan LP 610-4 may not be so special in these parts anymore – particularly in this milquetoast white – but hey, a Lambo is a Lambo. But it’s the car behind that steals the spotlight, and it’s a bright yellow SLS AMG Black Edition, whose extroverted wings-and-spoilers aesthetic hides a 6.2 litre V8 churning out 622 hp, some 63 hp more than the standard SLS.

Passing after the brawny German is the Bentley Continental GT3-R – the limited-edition British brute serving its own type of muscle, in this case a 4.0 biturbo V8 engine pushing out 572 hp and 700 Nm. Outside, its white bodywork is adorned with green stripes and masses of aerodynamic addenda.

But all are overshadowed – quite literally – by the final car, I mean, truck, on parade. It’s a Mercedes-Benz G 63 AMG 6×6, the last bit of the Middle East special’s name referring to the six wheels providing six-wheel drive. Power from the 5.5 litre biturbo V8 – 536 hp and 758 Nm – are sent to the massive 37-inch tyres on rugged bead-plate wheels; they make the car pretty much tower over the KL traffic.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• xxXxx on Aug 24, 2015 at 11:10 am

How much total? RM10 mils?

• So rich, go and donate better lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 62
  • alldisc on Aug 24, 2015 at 11:30 am

1st. he can afford them
    2nd. no need to pay hefty taxes.

so he saves a lot of money while still earning a lot

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 2
  • lazyf on Aug 24, 2015 at 11:36 am

Meleleh siotttt!!!

• Ahmad Tarmizi on Aug 24, 2015 at 11:38 am

who drove all those cars? by the way it looks like somebody is doing shooting of a new Transformers movie.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
  • jay8393 on Aug 24, 2015 at 11:58 am

Isn’t the Bentley GT3-R using the twin turbo 4.0-litre V8?

• tinmilo on Aug 24, 2015 at 12:06 pm

feels like a bunch of autobots leaving.
    makes my car look like a pile of scrap metal.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 1
  • jay8393 on Aug 24, 2015 at 12:06 pm

Isn’t the Bentley GT3-R based on the V8 model?

• Photos are missing.

• In the past, Malaysians would have poured scorn on this kinda obscene display of wealth, but now that they have a new favourite villain to despise, I guess all its good then. Especially if that royalty is also targeting the villain.
    Them royalties dun have to stay below radar anymore, especially the younger generations.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 2
  • Wee fuk yew on Aug 24, 2015 at 1:53 pm

i promise to be a good human being in this life so that i might be reincarnated as a prince in my next life. Till then, i will just toil with my highly taxed ride and drool at those beauties.

• Lance on Aug 24, 2015 at 1:55 pm

Eh, how come no Proton? I thought they say Proton is better than BMW?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 24
    • frossonice on Aug 24, 2015 at 3:17 pm

If you want to be an idiot, keep it to yourself. Sultan Johor bought a few Protons and most of it, he put special plate numbers which he bought from JPJ to the amount of hundred of thousand ringgit per number.

Even your house is cheaper la…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 4
    • Dude, what you smoking? Even Beemers dun play with those kinda crowd. Way above their league.
      And FYI, his father has a Satria Neo Lotus Racing Edition. So F-off!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
      • TheDean on Aug 25, 2015 at 8:11 am

Are you Zahid Hamidi? Stay calm and polite. These are only opinions.

• komarad on Aug 24, 2015 at 2:06 pm

there’s only one TMJ… so who is lucky enough to drive the other cars…?

• Go buy M1 tank & drive around lah…then got full attention from whole M’sia lagi best!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
  • BigBalls on Aug 24, 2015 at 2:08 pm

Its common for TMJ to bring an entourage of exotic cars for safety reasons as nobody knows which car he will be in..

-BigBalls-

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
  • Optimus Prime on Aug 24, 2015 at 2:40 pm

Autobots, Roll Out !!

• nabill (Member) on Aug 24, 2015 at 2:52 pm

yes , the hellcat wins , bt the G63 i bet scared the sh@t out of those ppl waiting at the traffic light!

• hadi75 on Aug 24, 2015 at 4:49 pm

He got AP’s……of cos he can afford it..

• albag on Aug 24, 2015 at 7:23 pm

JPJ diam diam

• Allroadquattro on Aug 24, 2015 at 7:28 pm

HELLCAT! HELLCAT! HELLCAT! #muscleftw

• Bazza on Aug 24, 2015 at 7:30 pm

… And all paid by you lovely malaysian tax payers. Enjoy their entitlements.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 12
    • Sohai on Aug 24, 2015 at 8:06 pm

Family business goddamnit. Not from our tax.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
      • TheDean on Aug 25, 2015 at 8:09 am

….. and royalties should stay away from businesses of certain value. Not a fair advantage to the rakyat.

• dominic on Aug 24, 2015 at 7:59 pm

To me if we have a vehicle that can take us to meet our heavenly creator when the time come is even more important than all the best the world have to offer .

• Dehsice on Aug 24, 2015 at 8:42 pm

I love this guy, not only does he buy all the RIGHT cars, he drives them. not park it at home waiting for it to rot, honestly i am just in love with all his cars, would love to meet him one day and spend a whole afternoon talking about all his beauties :D

• Palathasan on Aug 25, 2015 at 12:06 am

Tmj All ur cars are super.

• TheDean on Aug 25, 2015 at 8:16 am

This saddens me a bit. Even if he can afford these, it would be better to not show them off. He’s a public figure. In England, the royalties don’t do this. Only the super rich middle easterns. Islam is all about moderation. As a future head of islamic affairs, these super cars are hardly reflective of that.

• smarttess on Dec 22, 2015 at 10:08 pm

Why anyone should need 6-wheel to get to a hotel in KL is entirely beyond me. Yes, I know, I wouldn’t be using logic like that if I was a real petrol-head.