Tesla Model X – first pictures of production model out; has seven seats, is expensive, but ludicrously fast

Tesla-Model-x-14

For all Tesla fans out there, here’s some news that will make you pretty envious – customers in the US are now starting to customise their personalised orders for the new Tesla Model X. Pictures of the production model have made surfaced on the Internet too, posted on the Teslamotorsclub and EVObsession sites.

Apparently, there are two levels of reservations currently offered: one for the regular model, which requires a $5,000 (RM21,000) deposit, and a $40,000 (RM168,800) deposit for the limited Signature edition. As reported by Bloomberg and confirmed by Tesla, the base price for the Model X Signature series is USD$132,000 (RM555,400).

On top of that, there’s the “Ludicrous Speed Upgrade” option, which is a cool USD$10,000 (RM42,000) extra. Put the two together and you’re looking at a RM600,000 vehicle in the US.

Tesla-Model-x-10

The Model X Signature edition will have a 90 kWh battery, and should be good for 386 km on a full charge. It will reach 96 km/h (60 mp/h) in 3.8 seconds, with 259 hp from the front motor and 503 hp from the rear motor, all good for a 250 km/h top speed. Spec the Ludicrous mode and it’ll get to 96 km/h in 3.2 seconds. Mind you, this is a seven-seat family vehicle!

Standard equipment on the all-wheel drive Model X includes ‘Falcon Wing’ rear doors with built-in sensors, and more importantly, free long-distance travel on Tesla’s expanding Supercharger network. Autopilot features such as self parking, as well as air suspension, satellite radio, ventilated leather seats and independently-operable, adult-size second- and third-row seats are all standard too.

Anil Prabha

Anil Prabha has always been a petrol head. He also has a strange knack for remembering car models and their respective registration plates. Naturally aspirated engines are always better than turbocharged or supercharged ones, in his opinion. Ultimately, he believes that there is nothing better in life than just going for a drive.

• seancorr (Member) on Sep 02, 2015 at 12:16 pm

Say hello to the quickest 7 seater SUV in the world…

• joseph on Sep 02, 2015 at 12:53 pm

Nice family ride, really wished that Tesla cars are sold in Malaysia through official channel. it is there is opportunity for tesla cars to b assembled in Malaysia, for the Asean region, wont that be great….

• Erwinkarim on Sep 02, 2015 at 3:54 pm

Tesla caters for the 1 percenters. Malaysia market is too small to be in their radar.

Plus. You not just buying the car. You buying their dealer support network and most importantly the supercharger network.

A car is no good if something breaks down and you don’t have no one to call to.

• the rear reminds me of preve

• I ate on Sep 02, 2015 at 1:32 pm

Why does almost everyone ‘s minds here seem be limited to proton designs?

• Hor Shen Hau on Sep 02, 2015 at 10:38 pm

And why does everyone minds in Malaysia when talked about Proton car,seem to blamed for copying the others like Honda?Even the Iriz you guys said its copying Jazz.

• Black Dog on Sep 02, 2015 at 1:33 pm

The kids will have an exciting day riding their dad’s car!

• Jay Law on Sep 02, 2015 at 2:49 pm

It’s the end for combustion engine.

• oscar on Sep 03, 2015 at 8:37 pm

damm…7 seat in a sport car?? it this joke??

• Amran Pekida2 on Sep 08, 2015 at 1:15 pm

don’t you think this how preve should look ? Tesla done it right.

• nisar ali on Oct 05, 2015 at 9:03 am

i saw tesla car its a good model 7 seater i like but in malaysia first arrangement for pin mostly in highway services and city parkings area or petrol stations thanks