Mazda diesel vehicles confirmed for Malaysia in 2016!

mazda-2-sedan-skyactiv-d-engine 855

All you diesel lovers out there, you’re gonna love this – sources within Bermaz Motor have confirmed that the company will be bringing in Mazda’s range of SkyActiv-D diesel vehicles, starting from next year!

Although details regarding models and pricing have yet to be finalised, it’s likely that the lineup will include the Mazda 2, CX-3, CX-5 and possibly the Mazda 6 as well. The CX-3 should be quite a shoe-in, as a brochure of the oil-burning variant made the rounds on the Internet alongside its petrol sibling – the latter is slated to enter the market before the end of the year.

We also know that Bermaz has been testing diesel-powered Mazda 2 and 6 models on local roads (and local diesel) for a while now, and the former was also featured in a fuel efficiency test from Bangkok to Penang. As for the CX-5 diesel, surprise, surprise – it’s already being assembled in Inokom’s Kulim plant here, albeit only for the Thai market; Bermaz only needs to take the cars out of the factory and put them in showrooms!

The decision to bring in diesel vehicles must surely have been swayed by the recent introduction of Euro 5 diesel – required to maintain the longevity of the diesel particulate filter in the exhaust – in certain stations in the Klang Valley. BHPetrol was the first retailer to offer the fuel last month (coming on the back of its introduction in Johor last year), and Shell is also expected to provide Euro 5 diesel by year-end.

Mazda currently builds two SkyActiv-D turbodiesels – the 1.5 litre mill is used in the Mazda 2 and CX-3, and produces 104 hp at 4,000 rpm and 270 Nm from 1,600 to 2,500 rpm. On the other hand, the Mazda 6 and CX-5 utilise the bigger 2.2 litre twin-turbo oil-burner, available in 148 hp/380 Nm and 173 hp/420 Nm outputs. So, are you looking forward to a diesel-powered Mazda?

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Anti-Fuel-Price on Sep 08, 2015 at 5:06 pm

Does the EURO5 stick to B10 decision? So far no news regarding B10 or B7??? Confuse about the information, anybody can update current status.
    GREAT news for Diesel lovers as state by Jonathan Lee but most important is “BETTER Environment” comparing to current Diesel.

• tokmoh. on Sep 08, 2015 at 11:21 pm

Deswai, so quiet now, what’s the story la? Did govt still bulldoze ahead? Or bow to pressures from carmakers?

• See, we can trust our BN Government. They tunai janji. Said diesel coming by 2020, now come earlier.

This shows we can trust BN for honesty and prudence. Let us trust the BN Government who has run our country so well the past 50 years. Don’t be bodoh like the Bersih supporters.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 40
        • joseph on Sep 09, 2015 at 1:28 pm

Understand your zeal of being a passionate cybertropper, heading directions of your paymaster; but this does not entitle you the right to call your fellow countryman names, just because they are exercising their right and urging for better governance and management of this country. Unless you are not even from this country, but a half baked ‘import’, paid to do you paymaster’s biddings. Nonetheless this is an automotive website, please stick to automotive related topics please

• TheDean on Sep 09, 2015 at 7:54 am

What’s a B10 and B7?

• Are we getting our CX3 soon?

• Gaviny on Sep 08, 2015 at 5:59 pm

Nice cruising at 1500rpm 110km/h and just floor to overtake, just quiet effortless

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
    • Ive owned diesel cars before and i wont go back to them, yes they save alot of fuel, but ultimately lack power and acceleration. Turbo petrol cars are the way to go, not cheap on fuel, but very satisfying to drive.

• lonelyobserve (Member) on Sep 08, 2015 at 6:02 pm

It would be better to provide both manual and automatic transmissions for Mazda vehicles with SkyActiv-D engines.

In Japan, manual transmission is returned due to diesel engine where the fuel economy of vehicle with manual transmission and diesel engine is better than vehicle with automatic transmission and the same diesel engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
    • In Malaysia, pipu dunno how to use manual alredi. Those who do know will komplen tired lah, jam lah, old fashion lah, cannot raba-raba my gf peha, etc. Thats why Berjaya is reluctant to bring in MX-5 manual until theyre sure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • cyberbanana on Sep 08, 2015 at 6:45 pm

agreed, with such wide torque range driving manual would be effortless even in a traffic jam

skyactiv auto transmission tends switch to the highest gear even if you wish to drive a bit more aggressively, its really annoying unless I switch to manual mode

• talk only on Sep 08, 2015 at 7:18 pm

no diesel, ask for diesel…diesel launched, ask for manual…manual lauched, ask for diesel manual with hybrid…what u want? lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 6
      • tokmoh. on Sep 09, 2015 at 12:14 am

We yearn for more choices, especially if it’s more value for money. Manual, is cheaper. Modern diesel, is more fuel efficient.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 32
        • TheDean on Sep 09, 2015 at 7:53 am

He was only being humorous la. Tokmo must be Zahid Hamidi. Cakap sikit, gangster response.

• volvo? on Sep 09, 2015 at 9:15 pm

u pakai volvo kah? value for $ meh? zaman apa punya volvo maish guna manual? is volvo fuel efficient? use ur dick to slap urslf la…ha

• tan sari on Sep 09, 2015 at 10:48 am

because they cannot afford, want this want that, biasa la, lol

• tokmoh. on Sep 08, 2015 at 11:28 pm

*Bro fist*

#savethemanual

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
  • Deez Nut on Sep 08, 2015 at 6:26 pm

Finallyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy!!!

• sepul on Sep 08, 2015 at 6:28 pm

Diesel CX-3 and 2 will be a hit.

• arcana on Sep 08, 2015 at 7:01 pm

thank you mazda!! waiting for ur high spec CX3 diesel to come to Bolehland.

• seancorr (Member) on Sep 08, 2015 at 7:05 pm

The diesel Mazda 2 is quite interesting. That’s a lot of torque for a small car.

• Welcome diesel car.

• alldisc on Sep 09, 2015 at 10:20 am

toyota. you are late. could have created vios 1.5D and boost sales.
      (target – sales marketing ppl who travelled a lot and maybe, taxis which do not need to pay hefty taxes only pay car price)

honda – late also. your 2.2 turbodiesel is delicous!

proton…when? past history is past lah. wira diesel was using old technology and rattle like a lorry. now there is something known as Common Rail Direct Injection which is better, more efficient and a lot less noisy.

• Jimmy on Sep 08, 2015 at 10:23 pm

Skyactif coming to Malaysia becomes Skyhigh.

• preach!!

• Let’s hope more manufacturers will follow soon.

• Launch CX-3 earlier please . Can’t wait for his arrival so I can test drive and place a booking.

• I’ve almost put a booking for the Camry Hybrid.

If this news is true enough, i may wait for the Mazda 6 diesel.

• yeap in deed good news. looking forward to drive a diesel CX-3 as i have always been a SUV lover.

would it be possible CX-3 be priced under 100k?

• where in Sarawak can I buy Euro 5 diesel ?
    Is Sarawak part of malaysia ?

• Where have you been? Sarawak is almost independent, look at their customs and immigration, its easier getting through in Los Angeles than into sarawak

• Calcutta Taxi on Sep 09, 2015 at 3:43 pm

Klak, klak, klak, klak, klak. Motorists may need to buy ear plug comes 2016. Brader, your mazda sounds teruk macam taxi. Engine konk ah?????

• Moving Forward on Sep 09, 2015 at 7:16 pm

Diesel + Manual
    +1

• old dog on Sep 09, 2015 at 10:55 pm

CX3 Diesel at RM99K..!

• Anyone got news on when the CX-5 diesel would hit the road and which variant?

• Aeric on Mar 02, 2016 at 8:43 pm

It’s almost half year since this news but no more update yet.