Tiga SCS

The Shuttle KTM Komuter service for northern states will start operating from September 11, which is this Friday, Bernama reports. This comes after the Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD) gave the green light.

The three-coach Electric Multiple Unit (EMU) trains will ply the Kamunting-Butterworth-Gurun route and it will stop at 11 stations, namely Kamunting, Bagan Serai, Parit Buntar, Nibong Tebal, Simpang Ampat, Bukit Mertajam, Bukit Tengah, Butterworth, Tasik Gelugor, Sungai Petani and Gurun. The 144 km route will take two hours end to end.


Click to enlarge

There will be 12 services daily – six from the Kamunting station and six from the Gurun station. According to KTM’s schedule (pic above), the first train leaves Kamunting station at 5.25am, while at Gurun it’s 5.16am. The last train from both stations depart at 8.25pm and 8.16pm respectively. The interval is three hours.

Adult fares range from RM1 to 10.50 for a one-way trip and concession fares (50% off) are also being offered to senior citizens, the disabled and children between four and 12 years old. Weekly and monthly passes are available for frequent travellers.