Skoda Octavia RS – all-wheel drive and six-speed DSG

OcRS_4x4

Skoda seems to be on a roll at the moment. Just to jog your memory, it was back in February that it unveiled the vRS 230, which was powered by a 230 PS 2.0 litre turbo charged engine, good enough to achieve the century sprint in 6.7 seconds and hit a top speed of 249 km/h.

Now, we have the latest news on another Skoda variant. It may not be as blisteringly quick as the vRS 230, but the Octavia RS is impressive nonetheless. Available as either a Sedan or a Combi (wagon), the sporty yet practical offering now comes with all-wheel drive.

OcCRS_4x4

The Octavia RS diesel 2.0 TDI is the first variant to feature AWD, and the 184 hp and 380 Nm oil burner is mated to a six-speed dual clutch transmission (DSG). Performance specs include a 0 to 100 sprint time of 7.6 seconds and a top speed of 228 km/h.

According to the company, the third-generation Octavia that was launched back in 2013 has sold more than 58,000 units worldwide. While the Octavia models have always been about space and functionality; it is interesting to note that the RS badge symbol first appeared on its racing cars in the 1970s and 1980s like the 130 RS, 180 RS and 200 RS.

The Skoda Octavia RS

Anil Prabha

Anil Prabha has always been a petrol head. He also has a strange knack for remembering car models and their respective registration plates. Naturally aspirated engines are always better than turbocharged or supercharged ones, in his opinion. Ultimately, he believes that there is nothing better in life than just going for a drive.

• Malaysia When Probe VW and Audi? on Sep 25, 2015 at 2:49 pm

DSG is DSG. It is inherenty faulty in hot countries and countries with traffic jams. DSG can be used in cold countries but in hot countries like Malaysia, it will judder, overheat and stall. Even mineral oil used cannot stop your DSG from breaking down continuously.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
    • Where you get your fact? You saying winter no problem la?

• charms on Sep 25, 2015 at 4:16 pm

Saw more and more Jetta on the road in KL lately. But I haven’t see anyone at the roadside. Is that means DSG no problem already?

• VW_rocks on Sep 25, 2015 at 4:36 pm

Long story short. 2 points
          – 2013 onwards or units with mineral oil changed
          – if u town drive a lot, replace clutch pack every 40K kilometers

Enjoy driving the DSG

• I hope VW owners in malaysia sue VW for their faulty DSG and now their diesel emissions lies

• Nonsense on Sep 28, 2015 at 4:08 pm

Which mean vw owner totally cant drive the car during summer? Stop talking nonsense la
      Cold countries can drive their vw car during summer then why not Malaysia?
      Besides, y’all keep saying that vw car always breakdown but I didnt see any vw car breakdown on the roadside pun. Really got breakdown or not?

• tokmoh. on Sep 25, 2015 at 2:55 pm

Sked DSG
    Sked emission penipu scammer
    Sked everything sbout the car penipu scammer.

• I love VW on Sep 25, 2015 at 4:04 pm

Tokmoh. Already tolak hujan, tolak jerebu.. This time. You tolak VW out of Malaysia la… Hi hi.

• VGM should shut down in Malaysia. Malaysians are fed up with their lies.

• kadajawi (Member) on Sep 28, 2015 at 8:17 am

VW doesn’t sell diesel cars in Malaysia…

• albag on Sep 25, 2015 at 5:36 pm

suprima s’s ass

• The Archbishop of Banterbury on Sep 25, 2015 at 8:13 pm

…and this won’t hit our shores yet so many people barking
    but this’d be a cheap alternative over Audi S3 Sedan & VW Golf R Wagon (albeit less powerful)