Shell Helix Ultra ECT C2/C3 0W-30 oil now in Malaysia

Shell Helix Ultra ECT C2-C3 0W-30 3

Shell Malaysia has unveiled its latest flagship engine oil, Shell Helix Ultra ECT C2/C3 0W-30, at the Bangsar Shopping Centre (BSC) earlier today. The new multi-fuel lubricant, formulated with PurePlus gas-to-liquids technology, is designed to work with the latest low-emissions engines. It retails at RM338 for a four-litre pack.

In case you were wondering, ECT stands for Emissions Compatible Technology, which is designed to protect the emissions control systems – such as particulate filters – fitted on most modern petrol and diesel engines. It is also capable of being used in gas, biodiesel and ethanol-blend engines, and is backwards-compatible with many OEM and industry specifications.

Among the major stats of the new engine oil in industry standard testing include four times improved wear protection, three times better corrosion protection of engine components, 45% cleaner pistons and up to 2.6% better fuel economy, or an increase as much as 16 km per tank.

The company claims the Helix Ultra ECT C2/C3 0W-30 is the highest-specification engine oil on the market, and meets European ACEA C2 and C3 and North American API SN specifications, as well as major carmaker approvals including from Mercedes-Benz (MB229.52,MB229.51 and MB229.31), Volkswagen (VW504.00/507.00) and Fiat (955535.GS1).

“Shell Helix Ultra ECT C2/C3 0W-30 is our most advanced formulation to date,” said Shell Lubricants general manager for Malaysia and Singapore, Leslie Ng. “It is designed to deliver superior performance and protection, to help keep your engine performing at its best.”

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• It would be good if by pass the vacuum hose into the intake that cause engine oil into the combustion chamber especially turbocharged cars. The EGR too to prevent carbon build up on top of the pistons.

• DonkeyKong on Oct 07, 2015 at 12:03 pm

Hello Shell Malaysia, pls have respect for our country. How can you let the girls show their aurat? This will lead the men to get excited.

Come on Shell Malaysia, cover up your models

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 23
  • zzzlazer on Oct 06, 2015 at 8:25 pm

Wow fantastic engine oil

• are you sure pricetag is RM338??? way too much expensive… its should be RM238 perhaps

• jonathan, are you sure the price tag for 4 litre is RM338??? way too expensive,, RM238 sound reasonable

• Does this replace the current Helix Ultra or a higher spec on top of that?

• Nissan on Oct 06, 2015 at 10:20 pm

Is the price tag 338RM inclusive of GST?

• when will this hit tesco? hehehe

• pearjai on Oct 07, 2015 at 3:09 am

No 1 amoi soo cute lor !

• 0W-30?

this is still too thick for Perodua Axia, Toyota Avanza dual vvti, just to name a few.
    they uses 0W-20.

Higher precision engine, smaller gap, more reliable.
    no need thick engine oil.

Use the right viscosity according to specification to protect your engine, for better fc too. Thick engine oil will result in bad fc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
    • too thick on Oct 07, 2015 at 9:27 am

You some how never factor in the heat and humidity that we face here… This is no winter country mate.
      And off course the price to pay for anything 0W… You would actually recommend a RM300 + engine oil to a entry level Axia driver.. I recon you don’t have a degree in economics.

• He doesnt have an MBA, he has a RBA.

• Same L0rrrr on Oct 07, 2015 at 4:16 pm

Toyota genuine fully syn oil 0w-20 only RM130 (4 litres). Your economics degree doesn’t get you any better than a talkok gia.
          While you laughing ppl pour RM300 oil into a Perodua, I see a lot of sozai spending RM2500 rims for a junk FLX? Isn’t it more hilarious? HAHAHAHA…

• He also mentioned Toyota, just name a few.

He didnt just trying to recommend 0W-30 to budget car users.. THe overall point he want us to understand, make sure the specification fullfill.

example:
        1. if engine requirement = 20W-50, U wouldnt want to pour in 0-30W, too thin,
        2. if engine requirement = 0W-30, U woundnt want to pour in 0W-30, too thick.

too thick or too thin, it harm the engine.

Only if your engine say 0W-30, go ahead and use this best 0W-30 Engine Oil, it will help to protect engine.

• Talkcock on Oct 07, 2015 at 3:26 pm

The key to protect engine, is to change the lub more often. and the key to better FC, is a better driving habit. Not to buy some expensive lub market by bikini girls.
          Besides, not all lubs are engineered the same, even with the same viscosity.

The truth is an engine can adapt to multiple viscosity, depend on the desired outcome. Axia uses low viscosity lub mainly because the “advertised feature” of Axia is FC. So by poring a 0W-20, and assuming all target drivers are city dwellers that don’t over rev their engine, you get that low FC. But somethings has got to give in the long run.

• Toyota design and build engine to last..
            Perodua is using 0W-20, same goes to Toyota models, including new Toyota Avanza Dual VVt-i.

Except Vios and Rush, both still using the older engine.

Toyotas’ OW-20, comes with reduced wear and tear @ both cold start and hot idle, Enhanced protection.

Just like u say, different oil, different standard.

but the basic is, Viscosity must be within appropriate range. Then, u choose between Mineral, Semi or Full-syntehtic.

• 0W-20? Bloody hell! No wonder it needs 5000km service compared to my Gen2’s 10,000km. Lower viscosity can also lead to higher engine temps and therefore the oil needs to be replace often to keep it still functioning.

• Mark Tan on Oct 07, 2015 at 11:39 am

Perodua Axis service interval is 10,000km.
        uses only 0W-20 Fully synthetic.

1,5,10,20,30,40….

• Kenneth Fook on Oct 07, 2015 at 11:16 am

I would love to pour dem shell helix all over them. Dayummm

• Lau Kok Chin on Dec 14, 2015 at 12:46 am

multi cam valve engines engine need lower viscoty to ensure cleanliness of engine parts.