Sultan of Johor’s customised Mack truck unveiled in Brisbane, and it’s the most expensive Oz big rig ever

Sultan of Johor Mack truck20

The world’s most expensive Mack truck has been delivered to the Sultan of Johor, Sultan Ibrahim Ibni Almarhum Sultan Iskandar, in Brisbane. The price of the truck was not disclosed, but it smashes the previous record of A$481,000 (RM1,457,490) for a customised rig, ABC News reported.

According to the report, the blue, white and red Super-Liner took a year to build at the Mack Trucks Australia’s Wacol headquarters, south-west of Brisbane. Plenty of fancy stuff on the customised big rig, including a six-camera CCTV system, two flat screen TVs, a stone-topped kitchen area, barbecue, double bed and seats with 72,000 stitches of gold thread. Also in solid gold is the truck’s tiger hood ornament.

HRH Sultan Ibrahim is a happy man. “I have always appreciated Australia’s engineering skills and have collected a few Holden cars over the years. I am looking forward to showing its workmanship to the people of Johor as soon as the Super-Liner is shipped over,” he said.

More details from Big Rigs, which listed down the 685 hp royal truck’s kit in detail.

• A specially-built sleeper unit 80 percent larger than standard and fully upholstered with imported South African leather
  • Royal emblems embroidered into the front seats with 72,000 stitches of gold thread
  • A gold tiger hood ornament specially commissioned from Wallace Bishop
  • A rear leisure deck complete with sun shades, deck chairs and pull-out barbecue
  • Solid jarrah timber flooring throughout the cab, sleeper unit and rear leisure deck
  • A six-camera CCTV system linked to two flatscreen TVs inside the vehicle
  • Police-standard flashing lights and an ear-popping four air-horns
  • Programmable strip-lighting built into the full length of the cab and deck flooring
  • A stone-topped kitchen area including fridge, microwave and grill
  • Extra-wide Michelin X1 tyres for the smoothest possible ride
  • A Bose surround sound system and Xbox and Playstation consoles

“The fanciest extra in most Aussie trucks is a microwave or a small fridge. We’d never contemplated the features that have been included in His Majesty’s truck. This is the most luxurious truck to have been built in Australia and probably the planet,” said Mack Trucks Australia’s VP Dean Bestwick, who flew to Singapore to meet the Sultan of Johor a year ago for the design brief.

It is reported that the big Mack’s first drive in Malaysia will be at a charity run when it arrives at the end of this month. It will be quite a sight, that’s for sure!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• XD tow a 2 chairs & 2 umbrellas? Why not get a USA bus caravan with luxury living & class?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 13
    • SkullJuJu on Oct 15, 2015 at 10:11 pm

Because he can.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 6
      • Protonian on Oct 17, 2015 at 7:39 pm

Waste of money. Better ask Proton’s ‘amazing’ engineers to build one

• Mann Bell on Oct 15, 2015 at 10:28 pm

really? it’s like telling a guy who bought a ferrari to get a bentley flying spur instead because it can seat 4 ppl comfortably

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
    • heybadigol (Member) on Oct 16, 2015 at 8:42 am

He customised the Mack to pull his speedboat (which is equally cool). So its not just for fun (ok, maybe partly was for fun).

• Since Johor royalty is against Najib, this is dihalalkan, jangan persoal. Tak suka, u kluar Johor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 27
    • Not really, I kinda question this lavish spending of royals too. And I’m from Johor. I mean, I’d prefer it if he uses the money to actually bring in engineers from Australia to share their knowledge with Johoreans than just simply buy one for show.

But then again, it’s his money. Not like he leeched from the peoples’ tax money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 2
      • Ollie on Oct 16, 2015 at 4:26 pm

Adoi..ignorance. royalty in Malaysia have their own money? We Malaysians fund their expenses and annual income. Sultan Johor made RM 2.4 bil selling land to China in Iskandar, and bought Berjaya Times Square. That was his private land? Who gave him the land?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
      • Biase la Johorean yang ignorant tahap otak kat kaki

• Bus and truck are 2 different things. It is all about interest….

• lembu jinni on Oct 15, 2015 at 10:08 pm

mod it into optimus prime. oh ya!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 3
  • mumu mama on Oct 15, 2015 at 11:41 pm

can the truck transform to lobot ka???

• To be.. on Oct 15, 2015 at 11:42 pm

untung la…

• Same L0rrr on Oct 16, 2015 at 7:56 am

Whatever.. This truck have bad RV. Buy preowned Toyota Camry better than this junk transformers wannabe truck! Toyota good RV!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 26
    • frossonice on Oct 16, 2015 at 9:14 am

Toyota doesn’t even produce this kind of truck la. They only produce sissy trucks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
      • Same L0rrrr on Oct 16, 2015 at 2:25 pm

Stupid imitator has no idea what is RV then come here bullshit.
        Buying Mercedes/BMW definitely no RV, but the buyers are usually rich enough not to bother RV.
        But before they get rich, they usually have to save money in order to accumulate wealth. Toyota is one of the method. They know they spend minimal on maintaining the car and fuel, and the car bring them maximum RV. So they can upgrade to luxury cars.
        Not like Proton, car already expensive, the maintenance and fuel consumption are even worse, end up the owner can’t get out from the vicious cycle because no saving at all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 20
    • PDW7257 on Oct 16, 2015 at 11:43 am

RV? WT*!

• Yeah nice, use the rakyat’s money for more toys then show it off.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 31
    • frossonice on Oct 16, 2015 at 9:15 am

Baru keluar gua ke?

Johor Sultanate is rich, they do not need people’s money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 24
      • Ollie on Oct 16, 2015 at 4:27 pm

You are in which gua? Where they got the money in first place?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
        • idealtech on Oct 17, 2015 at 8:58 pm

U and our forefathers werent there too, dont be too cocky. Unlike u procured ur “wealth” from working ur ass as an office boy to get cold hard green paper, the Sultanates own, rule, preserve, n discover and open lands and natural resources. Those are real WEALTHS fyi.

• idealtech on Oct 16, 2015 at 3:05 pm

Oh please, they own the land of Johor n the wealths in it since u were still in the heaven! Save your money for your trip back to Him.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
      • Then like that All the land in Malaysia belong to Agong ka? Stupid johorean

• Anonymous on Oct 18, 2015 at 4:19 pm

Just go back and learn your history before you embarass urself.

• Anonymous on Oct 18, 2015 at 4:43 pm

Please do your research thoroughly n learn history in depth before u run ur mouth n hurt urself. The Johore Sultanate have been in business since 1855… of which the wealth is used to run n build the state.

In another matter, the Johore Sultan and his family have never USED federal allocations, they funnel it to education and welfare foundations for the people of Johore.

• thefact on Oct 16, 2015 at 8:09 am

flaunting their wealth..is the new trend it seems…

• superbird #43 on Oct 16, 2015 at 8:21 am

that looks a lot like the flagship Mack Titan than a Super-Liner to me.
    but i could be wrong.

• heybadigol (Member) on Oct 16, 2015 at 8:54 am

When I was younger, was a big fan of the striking red Kenworth truck in BJ and the Bear. I still prefer a cabover truck (engine below the cab), rather than a front engined one. But the Sultan’s Mack is amazing. Interestingly, most articles only mention the power, but not the torque, which is more important in trucks.

• waaa…… beli 1, ada 1 white chick…… not bad ;-P~~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • GBtoymachine on Oct 16, 2015 at 10:21 am

It does look huge! hehe now, hope he makes a custome Peterbilt truck from the USA with Optimus Prime exact livery hehe that’ll be quite a sight to see on our highways

• TheDean on Oct 16, 2015 at 12:42 pm

Like stated before, even if one can doesn’t mean one should, especially when one is a public figure and religious leader. This is a time of economic and political hardship for Malaysians, and he bought this ridiculous thing with the intention of touring it around Malaysia. Not exemplary.

• Later the sultan’s fans come say u dengki and say it is, again, his “own money”.

• abg gagah on Oct 19, 2015 at 1:17 pm

Sekali sekala sultan tunjuk kaya, rakyat yang berlagak kaya hanya ……

• money is made by selling land(coastal) to the Chinese developers. in return these developers make a bunch of higher density apartments as it is = higher profits.
    if you dont like the land being sold to foreigners or personal gain.. dont buy these properties.. state isn’t improving.. but i think the garage is getting bigger..
    wait till the oil gets tapped from eastern shores

• Mohamad Asraf Mokhtar on Sep 23, 2022 at 9:19 am

Aku memang suka truck macam ni. First time tengok dalam siri TV BJ and The Bear. Skrg ada Ice Road Truckers kat Astro. Dah tiba masa nya kita bawa masuk truck berkuasa spt Kenworth, Mack, Peterbilt ke Malaysia. Boleh la gantikan truck yg ada kat Msia ni, naik bukit Karak pun semput setengah mati. Kalau ada peluang nak jugak jadi dealer truck berkuasa tinggi dari Australia.