Audi RS 6 Avant, RS 7 Sportback performance variants introduced – 605 hp and 750 Nm, 0-100 km/h in 3.7 sec

Ingolstadt is bringing the Audi RS 6 Avant back into the game, this time together with the RS 7 Sportback. Both have now been given a “performance” label, replacing the “plus” suffix used on older models.

At the heart of the vehicles lies the same twin-turbo 4.0 litre TFSI V8 engine, which has now been tuned to produce 605 hp and 750 Nm. That’s 45 hp and 50 Nm more than the “standard” variants. Here, an overboost function is present – this lets the driver obtain the full 750 Nm of torque.

The engine management system has been tweaked to give the turbocharger added boost pressure, while both continue to be paired to an eight-speed Tiptronic gearbox with Sport and Manual modes. The 0-100 km/h sprint is now done in 3.7 seconds, which is 0.2 seconds faster than before, while accelerating from 0-200 km/h is done in just 12.1 seconds, 1.4 seconds faster.

A dynamic package that lifts the top speed from 250 km/h to 280 km/h can also be specified by customers. Although the performance models feature more power, Audi claims that the fuel consumption numbers are unchanged. The Audi RS 6 Avant performance averages 9.6 litres per 100 km, and the RS 7 Sportback performance achieves 9.5 litres per 100 km.

Of course, quattro all-wheel drive comes as standard on both model, while an optional sport differential with active torque distribution on the rear axle is an option. Suspension-wise, the performance models come with a, RS-tuned adaptive air suspension that is lower by 20 mm. One can also choose the stiffer RS sport suspension plus with dynamic ride control instead.

Furthermore, other options to enhance the drive include dynamic steering with a continuously variable steering ratio, which can be integrated into the Audi drive select system. The system can now be switched between comfort, auto, dynamic and individual from a button on the RS multifunction steering wheel, similar to the Audi R8.

Inside, both models come with RS sport seats, while a new Alcantara and leather combination upholstery can be requested. The overboost function is displayed on the driver information system, changing from white to red when it’s activated. Additionally, other optional interior items include night vision assistance, adaptive cruise control with Stop&Go function and Audi connect.

Outside, the RS 6 Avant performance stays pretty much the same, but it now features updated LED headlamps and rear tail lights, matte black coated roof rails and rims in a 21-inch aluminium five-V-spoke star design, with a matte titanium and gloss finish. The RS 7 Sportback performance gets a different five-double arm design, in the same finish.

A new metallic colours is also available – Ascari Blue. The RS 6 Avant performance goes for 117,000 euros (RM550,225), while the RS 7 Sportback performance is priced at 121,700 euros (RM572,366). Both RS performance vehicles will go on sale in Germany in November.

Audi RS 6 Avant performance

Audi RS 7 Sportback performance

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• venven81 on Oct 23, 2015 at 2:27 pm

RS7…my most loved Audi of all time. guess it will breach the RM1m price bracket once it touches down on our shore. bring it on!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • My Preve is better than this junk. I modify my Preve, I can lumba any car on kesas Friday night. Most of the time I win. I can smoke this Audi junk anytime

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 13
      • But your Preve smoke is not poison, the Audi/VW gas in poison.
        You smoked them they won’t die.
        If they smoked you, you will get poisoning.

• thiago on Oct 26, 2015 at 2:44 pm

you will get poisoned in your heart and mind because u cannot chase vw. how can u chase vw if your car is already poison. hahaha

• kipas angin on Oct 23, 2015 at 8:32 pm

third class mind set!!

• Samtowtruck on Oct 24, 2015 at 8:06 am

Tiptronic will get kaput like DSG . Must ready with tow truck speed dial.

• quadexhaust on Oct 24, 2015 at 1:38 pm

Let my myvi smoke this

• The Archbishop of Banterbury on Oct 24, 2015 at 7:48 pm

^ahem, smoke the die-cast model.

• hailmyvi on Oct 24, 2015 at 8:16 pm

Myvi highbeamed slowpoke Audi RS, you can’t go wrong with sushi

• undrtakar on Oct 25, 2015 at 3:50 am

A sporty hearse!

• thiago on Oct 26, 2015 at 2:46 pm

tow truck can have a rest because dsg not broke down anymore. there was no issue i heard about dsg. that means all dsg issue had been resolved.

• heybadigol (Member) on Oct 23, 2015 at 3:15 pm

Gotta love fast wagons. Practical, fast & sleeper. An RS6 just zoomed past me on the Federal Highway a couple of days ago. Sounded amazing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
    • That amazing sound you heard is the poison gas from a VW.

• thiago on Oct 26, 2015 at 2:41 pm

gas we smell not hear. hahaha! the amazing is vw still can be driving everywhere.

• Mr Dont Know on Oct 23, 2015 at 3:30 pm

Is it possible to order any audi rs from audi malaysia as a custom order?

• csteoh7828 on Oct 23, 2015 at 3:54 pm

Yes, I’m sure is right way to offer it.

• Richard Johnathan Lim on Oct 23, 2015 at 6:44 pm

You can buy it from a grey import.I have been checking on Mudah, this RS7 and RS6 are selling for an average RM620K.The A6 line of cars are great cars, I personally own an A6 Hybrid.This RS6 and RS7’s are perfect, practical, fast, sleeper, and nice to drive around corners too.

• Hidup Proton Power on Oct 24, 2015 at 1:31 pm

my standard satria neo can tapau this Audi easily….