Mazda CX-3 production begins in AAT plant, Thailand

Mazda CX-3 3

Mazda has confirmed the start of production of the CX-3 at the AutoAlliance (AAT) Plant in Thailand today. This move will see the crossover share the same production line with the Mazda 2, Ford Fiesta, Ford Everest, Ranger and the its BT-50 twin.

The AutoAlliance Plant in Rayong, Thailand is the second facility to produce the CX-3, the first being its main facility in Hiroshima. Kiyotaka Shobuda, managing executive officer of Mazda said, “AAT is an extremely important hub that consolidates our system for supplying the CX-3 promptly and consistently to the growing compact SUV market.”

In Malaysia, the CX-3 is slated for a local launch some time in early December this year, while deliveries are expected to start in the middle of the month, as confirmed by Bermaz Motor. Prices of the Honda HR-V fighter is said to range between RM130K to RM135K, a tad higher than what was estimated earlier.

It’s expected to arrive on our shores in front-wheel drive form and without Mazda’s i-Activsense suite of safety tech. We’ll likely receive the 150 hp/204 Nm SkyActive-G 2.0 litre petrol engine and a six-speed automatic transmission. We’ve driven the Mazda CX-3 in Melbourne recently – read our test-drive review here.

Mazda CX-3 2.0L SkyActiv-G in Melbourne

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing's better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that's designed and built for that purpose.

• Mozilla Chrome on Oct 26, 2015 at 6:24 pm

Greedy Bermaz. With a price tag of RM130k++ for CX-3, I guess CX-5 is a better buy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • Nofun on Oct 26, 2015 at 9:27 pm

When you close the door, you don’t feel the car is solid, it is just like a piece of plastic. This car is over rated.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
  • Faizah on Oct 26, 2015 at 8:13 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 139
    • Mazda CKD on Oct 27, 2015 at 7:42 am

Closing down Proton? After Proton closed down, will you provide new job to the employees? will you take care of their family?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
    • Proton Tidur Dan Makan Nasi Lemak on Oct 27, 2015 at 9:05 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 136
      • letstorque on Oct 28, 2015 at 8:24 am

Stupid you. Where you get your fact saying Australian population is 60mil?

• brazbuz on Oct 26, 2015 at 8:33 pm

Possibly cbu from thailand instead of japan?

• notworthit on Oct 26, 2015 at 10:15 pm

for this price, I will get a cx5. stupid bermaz.

• or perhaps Mazda3 would be a better buy with all the full specs.

• zamzam on Oct 26, 2015 at 10:30 pm

Bermaz can CKD this CX3 surely beat HR-V

• It’s taken Mazda far too long to bring this to the Thai market. And not giving launch info to prospective buyers doesn’t help.. I was waiting but put deposit on HRV two weeks ago

• Modesto.h on Oct 27, 2015 at 10:35 am

They are competing against the entry level of cx5. Internal price war?