Here it is again, the Volkswagen Passat B8. It was last spotted in Kerteh, and now again in Pekan, thanks to reader Amirul Hazmi. Last we heard, the B8-generation Passat is slated for a local introduction by the first quarter of 2016. So not long now.
The B8 Passat sits on the company’s MQB platform. While it’s slightly shorter than its predecessor (by 2 mm, at 4,767 mm), it has a longer wheelbase (by 79 mm, now 2,791 mm), in addition to being lower by 14 mm.
The new Passat can be specced pretty high, but a lot of the new equipment available is optional, so it depends on Volkswagen Malaysia’s product and price positioning. It even has the option for a fully digital display that can show info like navigation maps just like the new Audi TT.
Other markets get a choice of five TSI petrol mills with outputs from 132 PS up to 280 PS, while a plug-in hybrid variant can also be specified. Said hybrid variant incorporates a 156 PS 1.4 TSI engine and a 109 PS electric motor, producing a combined total of 211 PS. It’s yet unclear which engine variant(s) we will get here.
GALLERY: Volkswagen Passat B8 in Malaysia
its time to go conti than boring Malaysian market Japs..
Can’t wait to try the TDI here. We got no tight emission in Bolehland. With Euro 4 diesel, I think I’m going to enjoy it
Nobody interested in this car or any car from VGM. Malaysians are fed up with all the lies by VGM. Mat Salleh got Dieselgate but we in Malaysia, we got DSG Gate which until today, VGM has not apologised or compensated the cutomers who bought a lemon.
I ama VW owner and I regret buying my VW junk. Now, the car has no RV because used car dealers refuse to take it in cause they too know about the DSG stigma.
Until today VGM is still lying saying DSG has been sorted out with mineral oil. Trust me, read their facebook page and see, everyday even until today in Novermber 2015, so many cars breakdown because of DSG.
You are sam loo colleage lah. Both sales man talk coxk here. Sales is bad.
why i can’t see and read about it? is that rumors? why my cousin polo never brokedown? and he used mineral oil as recommended by VGM
Give the option for auto gearbox and it will sell better
Every B9 Passat you buy we give you 20 Free towing to SC within a 50 KM radius.
Thank you for buying VW.
everytime im going back to kampung and town, never used free towing service like u said because my Passat always run smoothly on highway and jalan kampung. from north to south every month. thank you VW for making great and lovely Passat to me.
Im good.. Thanks
Nm the dsg which many associate anything everytime a VW comes up, but i jus read that 2015 models passat n golf being recalled in the US.. due to camshaft failure.. If u though dsg issues are not serious enough…
but i didn’t hear any VW car being recalled in Malaysia. if in global, not just VW being recalled. others manufacturer also recalled their car like Toyota, Honda, Ford
Don’t miss the chance again!
Get to test drive complimentary VW cars provided FOC.
When your own VW stuck in the workshop for monthsss^^
still waiting for my VW Polo to stuck in the workshop but it never happen. i want to drive complimentary VW cars provided too. who knows luckily i got to drive Golf GTi. haha
Bungkus and send back to germany la!
Any news anywhere of vw hybridgate??
Why need to spy VW? Just visit their service center and very soon you will see the latest model there! Aiyoo…
I’ve had my B8 Passat since May 2015. Don’t get this…..why is there talk of it being spotted. There’s thousands of them on the UK roads. I’ve got a Oryx White GT estate. Pretty cool car tbh and hasnt had too many issues apart from a recall on the premium LED headlights, which by the way, are awesome
the cheapest way to experience the Audi TT’s Virtual Cockpit.
Never ending VW stories, one group of people bashing and another group of people claiming they have no issues with it.
One can be sure that the RV for VW is bad. Camry, Altis and Vios had been using the 4 speeder for 10 years and nobody is complaining anything about the gearbox breakdown. Proven reliability and good RV.