VIDEO: Why you MUST use seat belts and child seats

????????????????Please fasten the seat belt ?

????????????????Please fasten the seat belt ???????????????????????????????????????? Parents please take note!???????????????????

Posted by D'garden Educare on Thursday, February 13, 2014

Here’s a short and simple video that succinctly explains why you absolutely must use seat belts and child seats in a car. It shows a vehicle following a truck rather closely, with the rear seats occupied by a baby strapped to a child safety seat, and an adult who is not wearing the seat belt. One right, one wrong, then.

The truck then slowed down abruptly, forcing the vehicle behind to brake sharply. As you’d expect, without the seat belt to restrain her, the adult is thrown forward violently, while the baby in the rear-facing child seat barely moved at all. This is a prime example why it’s recommended to use a rear-facing seat for as long as possible. Watch the video below for a longer explanation.

As for the use of seat belts for adults, well, it’s a no-brainer, really. Whether you’re up front or at the back, you must strap in. Alarmingly, that’s not the case for a large majority of Malaysians.

A recent World Health Organization (WHO) Global Status Report on Road Safety 2015 suggests that Malaysia has a seat belt compliance rate of 77% and 13% for front and rear occupants. Funnily enough, the Malaysian police refuted these numbers, claiming that they should be higher.

Meanwhile, the Malaysian Institute of Road Safety Research (MIROS) found in May this year that only 7-9% of Malaysians wear seat belts in the back. On an even sadder note, MIROS found that compliance and overall awareness on the importance of buckling up at the back was founded more on the fear of being fined, as opposed to anything else.

We know full well why we must buckle up, front or back. And law or no law, fine or no fine, belting up in the back is not difficult to do – we value our lives as well as those of our loved ones, don’t we?

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• modesto.h on Nov 18, 2015 at 11:59 am

the baby was so cute when emergency brake was applied.

• Forget about seatbelts. Typical Malaysians: aiya no need seatbelt la, I just drive safely. I die or not all depends on God. Even with all kind of safety precaution if my time to die is here, I will die.

Malaysians are still not giving any shit about road safety, just look at the number of low safety cars on the road, example, VIOS, MyVi, Axia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
    • Ahmad on Nov 18, 2015 at 1:12 pm

Safety is not on the priority lists amongst Malaysians. Forget seatbelts, ABS, EBD or side airbags, as long as people get point A to point B.. depends where point B is, either ur destination or to a morgue.

• Consumer on Nov 18, 2015 at 1:15 pm

Low safety rating car is one thing, price is another thing. Not everyone were born as Rajak’s son. But for whoever that finally efforts to get into a car, at least put the fxxking seat belt on just for your own safety. Dont complaints no airbag/vsc etc if you never think about buckle up.

• Price is not a valid argument here. Look at God car TRD Vios at 90k, there are definitely A LOT OF BETTER SAFER cars to choose for the price! Same goes to MyVi at 55k with low safety standards!

I agreed that Malaysians place more importance to whether a car has leather seats, anti-snatch hook, DRLs, bluetooth and push start! PITY!!

• George Abdul on Nov 18, 2015 at 12:26 pm

We know we know child safety is important… but LOUSY BN Government nonstop busy on setting cronies company to set as GLC/CSR to make profit and rob Rakyat !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
    • kzm (Member) on Nov 18, 2015 at 1:45 pm

I don’t know why u wanna include govt. U think change govt pipu will start using seatbelt? Ur safety start from u not anyone else n certainly not govt

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 11
  • HaIrI on Nov 18, 2015 at 12:27 pm

Cute reaction from the baby there hee, I always drive far from any bigger vehicle especially lorry since their brake light sometimes difficult for us to see and some totally kaput. Why on earth lorry don’t have bigger brake light?

• Ahmad on Nov 18, 2015 at 1:09 pm

What i dont understand is why all lorries used for constructions do not have the reinforced bar at the rear to avoid cars or bikes slipping underneth! These lorries USE public roads and they SHOULD obey public road safety. Yet still no Polis saman/no roadblock. Focusing too much on dark tints and small number plates. Bodoh.

• Polis Raja Di Malaysia (PRDM) on Nov 18, 2015 at 12:33 pm

Firstly and foremost, PDRM must sort themselves out first. Corruption is at unprecedented level. Everything also money talks. The Trafik Polis are the worst. So seat belts enforcement is ZERO. Majority of them always on the take to make the saman disappear.

Now, they are even brave. They even ask the offender and even quote the amount.

Offenders will be offenders. You can blame the driver to a certain degree but enforcement is vital.

The PDRM is the SOLE CAUSE of most accidents in Malaysia because, everytime an officer takes money to make the saman disappear, he encourages such offenders to continue doing the same offence over and over again.

Please start by ensuring your officers stop taking money from the offenders to make the saman go away. Unless you saman and show a good example, Malaysians will continue breaking the law

• Consumer on Nov 18, 2015 at 1:24 pm

Are you trying to say without enforcement Malaysian not even need to put seat belt? Let’s forget about enforcement. Self awareness is much more important than enforcement.

• whatever on Nov 18, 2015 at 12:39 pm

sill children life more cheap that some child seat

• Ahmad on Nov 18, 2015 at 1:05 pm

I myself dont understand the mentality of most malaysians in this case. When I had my baby last year, i immediately put him on a car seat i bought for RM399. Rear facing till 3 and can be changed to front facing. From day one, he has been in the car seat with teather. I was in a minor crash with some bumper damage but I was assure he was safe.

But when i went overseas with my wife for work, I gave my child to my aunt to take care at the age of 6 months. I even lent her the car seat, but no avail, they did not use it for a month as they said it was frustrating to install and cannot be bothered. Secondly, onced installed, it takes one passenger seat space which, to some Malaysians, can fit 2-3 children. The mentality of these Malaysians cannot be changed urgently..it would only do so if something happened to their kids instead.

Even now, when i see PDRM/JPJ roadblock, they only check front passenger seatbelts and not the rear. Once had my brother at the back with no seatbelts and they did not stop us. Weve been urging malaysians to use rear seatbelts since 2005 with free installations and its nearing 2016, still weak response.

• kzm (Member) on Nov 18, 2015 at 1:55 pm

I do agree with u until ur bro part. Can’t u ask ur bro to buckle up from start?

• BNaik on Nov 18, 2015 at 5:37 pm

Diam la kzm !!! BN will win next GE. You dont dream of owning a car after I get a sit in parliament. BN will win and will make you live in Longkang !!!

• testing on Nov 18, 2015 at 3:55 pm

Hafriz, from the video, can see the car aldy keep some distance with the lorry(V1), V2 i think is zoomed lens thats why it look like the distance rather closely. Sorry for the lousy english

• bot_tech on Nov 18, 2015 at 4:29 pm

Just see how driver’s focus away from road/front, talking to the lady, his head tilt to the rightlittle bit…he should be in control for the braking if he is 100% focus.