Toyota Vios and Altis 1.8 get DRLs, free in CNY promo

Vios-Altis-DRL

The Toyota Vios and Corolla Altis now sport new daytime running lights (DRLs), introduced in conjunction with UMW Toyota Motor’s Chinese New Year promo. Free for now on almost all variants of the popular B- and C-segment sedans, along with other free accessories and cash rebates.

The aftermarket DRLs for the Vios is a dotted strip of LEDs slotted into the blank space on the bumper between the headlamps and fog lamps. All Vios variants (J, E and G) except for the TRD Sportivo will get this DRL design for free during the promo period (now till January 31), and that’s because the range-topping TRD Sportivo already has DRLs – a small strip squeezed in under the fog lamps.

The LED DRLs for the Corolla Altis appears to be of the light bar variety, and it’s rather neatly integrated into the inner corner of the fog lamp housing. Like the top Vios, the Altis 2.0V already comes with DRLs (factory units in the headlamp cluster), which means it misses out on this aftermarket design, which is free for the 1.8G and 1.8E during the promo period.

No new design DRLs for the Vios TRD Sportivo and Altis 2.0G as they already come with DRLs

Daytime Running Lights aside, there are other freebies for CNY. The entire Vios range gets a free DVD-Audio Video Navigation head unit with reverse camera (without navi for the J), while the J and E receive front foot illumination in the cabin. The mid-spec E gets another extra – Toyota’s solar and security film.

For the Altis range, added value is given via a free aerokit, the DVD-AVN head unit and a digital video recorder. As mentioned above, the aftermarket DRLs are only for the 1.8 litre variants. The aerokit and DVD-AVN have been standard since a spec revision in September 2015.

The CNY promo also includes the Hilux, Fortuner and Innova. The pick-up truck (3.0G TRD Sportivo, 3.0G, 2.5G TRD Sportivo, 2.5G AT and MT) gets the DVD-AVN with reverse camera, sports bar, hood protector with red sports stripe and carbon-style stickers on the B-pillars, plus cash rebates. Only the DVD-AVN with reverse camera for the Fortuner range.

005 DVD-AVN

UMWT’s free gift of choice (that’s the DVD-AVN with RC if you haven’t already noticed) is also given to Innova E and G buyers, but they’ve added tinting, a roof-mounted monitor and portable tyre pump to the G. Bear in mind that some of the items here have been standard since 2015, highlighted again by UMWT.

The DRLs are the newest and most eye-catching accessory listed above, and now that it has been developed for the Vios and Altis, we’re expecting UMWT to continue to offer the item after the promo period. As a chargeable option, perhaps.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• I dun want rubbish

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 7
    • Longkai on Jan 07, 2016 at 1:12 pm

u love those DRLs more or your own life??

Only 2 airbags & No VSC!! #2nyawa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 5
      • Cut a hole at the bumper and install DRL.
        Sam is superbly genius! (or lame)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
        • Cheapo on Jan 07, 2016 at 5:56 pm

UMW Toyota harga kasi naik. FREE DRL!!!wakakaka

• Toyotasux on Jan 07, 2016 at 6:17 pm

Free DRLs boost 100% up in car’s overall safety says UMW Toyota

• Trading our lives for DRLs..

• Same L0rrrr on Jan 08, 2016 at 12:17 am

You don’t meet fatal accident every day but we see Proton break down everyday. When you couldn’t afford Toyota with better safety features like Altis Camry, you pretend they don’t exist. I feel so sorry for you guys.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
    • karam singh on Jan 07, 2016 at 1:30 pm

I dun wanna ride in a moving coffin

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 9
  • sendusendan on Jan 07, 2016 at 11:59 am

Vios…the best car EVER!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 57
    • karam singh on Jan 07, 2016 at 1:32 pm

LED DRL , go to ah beng shop & install it .
      Done. Some cost less than RM100

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 5
  • Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on Jan 07, 2016 at 12:01 pm

Stupid LED kits at super wrong position. Look fugly

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
  • I’m willing to trade the touch screen HU, cheap-looking DRLs and footwell lighting for Stability Control. But I bet most people in UMW have never ever heard of that feature. Nevermind, though. High RV will always prevent your car from skidding.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 3
  • Aero (Member) on Jan 07, 2016 at 12:07 pm

Eww, the Vios DRL is horrible… looks like the car grew a ‘misai’ or cat whiskers. haha

The Corolla’s DRL looks just fine, it’s the nicer CCFL/ light bar/ ‘jedi lightsaber’ type, not the single unit LEDs in the Vios.

This is great, now Vios owners won’t turn on their headlamps at night… they will say “Kereta saya sudah ada LED ma, headlamp tamau pakai, boleh jimat bateri & FC.” lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 4
    • 4G63T DSM on Jan 07, 2016 at 2:18 pm

I have bigger problems with VIOS TRDs with their rear fog lights on all the time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
    • tokmoh. on Jan 07, 2016 at 2:59 pm

New Volvo XC90 Thor’s hammer is the best DRL.

If u stop at traffic and the Volvo is right beside u, it looks like it’s giving u the finger. Volvo : u mad?

• itupreve on Jan 07, 2016 at 4:12 pm

ya, sama itu macam orang pakai preve, malam-malam tak on headlamp, on led saja mahu bagitahu satu dunia preve dia ada led..hikhiks

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • Nice Faraed, good idea! please add more accessories.

• Sama lo on Jan 07, 2016 at 12:25 pm

yeah yeah.. Come my shop help you modify the DRL to be full time switch on even with headlamp on at night

• can u give me your shop address? i want to change my drl vios trd with switch on. how much u charge?

• Jimmy on Jan 07, 2016 at 12:31 pm

We certainly welcome this kind of safety gadget.
    For those who do not have DRLs, you can opt to swith on you headlights during daytime which you can see in Europe daytime.
    Do not forget to add ESP and 6 airbags.

• UMW has done a great job here. By adding DRL the car has suddenly become very safe to drive! Instead of adding some tiny accessories every few months, might as well add the airbag and the VSC! Leave the DRL to Brothers shops…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • So basically for this CNY, toyota is giving you a free torchlight, dvd player and a GPS navigator.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • 2016 increase price, then say give free?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
  • DPCraft on Jan 07, 2016 at 12:49 pm

Looks like Toyota Vios just grew some LED Whiskers.

• UMW Fail on Jan 07, 2016 at 12:51 pm

Why is UMW focusing more into installing new lights? This doesn’t bring extra safety to the car. They could have offer safety more, rather than cosmetics. Another fail by UMW. They should reshuffle the directors and the management.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • Aero (Member) on Jan 07, 2016 at 1:16 pm

Exactly. Some Malaysians will tell you that DRL is a safety feature, but it’s not really. In our sunny weather, DRL is mostly useless. In North America and Europe, during the winter and fall seasons, daylight is scarce, especially in countries like Canada and Sweden. And sometimes, white or grey cars can blend into the snowy landscape. Thus, having bright DRLs can make cars more visible, even from afar. Pedestrians and other drivers have more time to react because they see the cars sooner.

In Malaysia, ESC is far more useful, since we have heavy rain, terribly maintained roads and inconsiderate drivers all year round. But yet UMWT (and Perodua) won’t give us ESC on their popular models. As long as people buy the Vios and Myvi, they will continue to sell them without ESC. What to do.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
      • alldisc on Jan 07, 2016 at 2:22 pm

Malaysia does have that. It is call 7 o’clock.

• Chin Peng on Jan 07, 2016 at 2:57 pm

7 o’clock is the time to turn on your headlamps already la

• bunny on Jan 08, 2016 at 1:04 am

What is 7 o’clock? Am kinda noob at these terms. Please clarify. Highly appreciate it. Thnx

• If you throw in Traction Control and Electronic Stability control for a price, I don’t mind but not LEDs that are hideous. Wait a minute, its UWM Toyota, I guess it won’t happen anyway.

• Black on Jan 07, 2016 at 2:31 pm

All of sudden with this promo the car seems to be value for money already. I’m gonna place an order with Sam Loo now.

• cendol (Member) on Jan 07, 2016 at 2:54 pm

Now even more reason to buy Vios

• Ah Beng TRD Vios godcar on Jan 08, 2016 at 2:09 am

Work harder you kimchi peasants. Next month I will get my 4th Vios TRD.

• Jobless on Jan 07, 2016 at 3:08 pm

Buy Toyoda the best proved u smart and made it in life, unlike those half baked Ford Suzuki Potong losers..saw one Ford Fiesta driver tailgating new Altis, really laughed at the dumb ah beng Ford loser thinking he driving BmW

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
    • Still using old newspaper? I will show you the RR, MB, BMW, Audi, Hyundai, etc

• Sammy Loo on Jan 13, 2016 at 1:47 am

all those in the list will get tailgate by our most famous car for the past 10 years -> Myvi

• happy Picanto owner on Jan 07, 2016 at 4:24 pm

Meh…
    My 2013 small picanto already had DRL which comes as standard spec for auto & manual

• Tambah airbags lagi bagus

• munaki on Jan 07, 2016 at 5:54 pm

add DRL, instant 25 bhp increase!

• tinmilo on Jan 07, 2016 at 6:00 pm

If it is free can i just take the DRL?
    I don’t want the car….

Cannot? aaahhh…. inclusive in the price… which just got increased…

• kacang tumbuk on Jan 08, 2016 at 12:13 pm

walauyeh! umw just increased vios almost 4k & now only DRL they gift ah??? sohai!.. sucking people money.. better send your car to ah beng shop to install only cost 106.00 (gst included)..

• No VSC, Twin bags of the year on Jan 08, 2016 at 4:24 pm

UMW, this is the best joke in new year 2016.
    You wanna fool ppl or fool yourself?

U raise your price, make 90s car with DRL & VSC.
    Malaysian are not fool!
    a C segment Cerato K3 price on par with your B segment VIOS TRD,
    Come with 6 bags, ESP, more bags, 6 speeds, higher CCs than your Flintstone’s Vios.
    Take note, K3 comes with Navi and better looks DRL!