Rewaco RF-1 LT-2 trike lands on Malaysian shores – powered by 1.5 litre turbo with Punch CVT gearbox

Rewaco RF-1 LT-2 Turbo Malaysia  001

German trike maker Rewaco has been producing trike and trike conversions since 1990, and its RF-1 LT-2 trike has landed in Malaysia. The RF-1 is a three-wheeler with swoopy, out of this world looks, and has a significant amount of road presence.

Powered by a Mitsubishi-derived 4A91T four-cylinder 1.5 litre turbocharged engine, mated to a Punch VT3 CVT gearbox – the same unit which is installed in the Proton Suprima S, Preve and Exora CFE – this trike will turn heads wherever it goes.

Power is claimed to be 140 hp at 6,000 rpm, with torque quoted at 210 Nm at 2500 rpm. The weight of the RF-1 is 705 kg, and seats two. There is also a three-seater version available.

The transversely mounted engine fits tightly under the bodywork, and an intercooler sits up top, with a small electric fan for cooling during stops. The CVT gearbox is hidden deep in the recesses of the engine bay.

The RF-1 you see here is a prototype for the Malaysian market, and is currently undergoing type certification and inspection. It certainly is imposing, with a length of 3550 mm and a width of 1880 mm. This is, in comparison, the same physical footprint as the Perodua Axia.

Riding the RF-1 is easy, there are only two controls – throttle and foot-brake. Without the worry of having to balance the trike or putting your feet down at stops, anyone can learn to ride the RF-1 in minutes. The gearbox selector sits on the ‘tank’ between the rider’s legs, and is marked with the usual CVT markings, instantly familiar to anyone who drives a car.

There are three storage areas on the RF-1, two sidepods on either side of the passenger seat, and a rear trunk that functions exactly like a car’s.

The RF-1 is imported by Punch Powertrain Malaysia. Punch is currently looking for distributor partners in Malaysia for the Rewaco range of trikes and bike conversions. The RF-1 is sold in the US for an approximate price of USD45,000 (RM196,000).

What do you think? Would you ride one on Malaysian roads? Leave a comment with your thoughts and opinions.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Malaysians Struggling to Eat on Jan 13, 2016 at 7:04 pm

Majority of Malaysians are struggling to feed their families, pay for healthcare and education. Only a bodoh company will bring this toilet down. Nobody, unless rich idiots will buy this. That also, rich through corruption.

If you are billionaire through hard work, you won’t spend that much money on this junk

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 37
    • Are you saying TMJ and his father is corrupted?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 14
      • Kristof Verpoorten on Jan 14, 2016 at 8:26 am

Cannot understand Malaysians, wasting money to buy a Rm200k kapcai. 2016 Mercedes C200 with corporate 6% discount can get for RM230k

• Kristof Verpoorten; Punch Powertrain on Jan 14, 2016 at 3:35 pm

above comment is not mine of course…

• John Otak Taik on Jan 14, 2016 at 8:29 am

Only a bodoh like john will think of such scenarios

• parkjw on Jan 14, 2016 at 8:35 am

of course they are. if stripped off their powers and ranks, they will go thru what we have today. make them no difference than us. else, no matter what? their “wealth” can’t easily be matched by the majority of us.

• donno on Jan 13, 2016 at 7:25 pm

For this 200k piece of contraption; question no 1 – will you need to get a tricycle licence (kelas C) to ride it? ; question no 2 – How do you pass electronic toll booth systems as it is supposed to be a motorcycle, no toll (or how can it get into penang bridge motorcycle toll lanes?)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
    • Kristof Verpoorten; Punch Powertrain on Jan 13, 2016 at 8:51 pm

First of all, thanks Paul Tan for the review! Rewaco and Punch are currently investigating how to have the trike licenced in malaysia, also we are searching for a distributor. Currently the trikes are already being sold all over Europe, Middle east, US, Russia, … . Having spend over 2 years in Malaysia i can imagine this trike to be a joy to drive there. If you would have any questions for us… please feel free! enjoy your day. Kristof, Punch Powertrain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 8
      • John Otak Taik on Jan 14, 2016 at 8:32 am

Is it ethical for the owner himself to promote his products here? Very low down thing to do

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 16
    • Ganesh on Jan 13, 2016 at 10:11 pm

still a motorbike. Car langgar sure injured badly. When rains, sure to get wet. When hot sun, sure to feel heat and sweat. When MBPJ do fogging, still go into eyes.

Go motorbike lane, all get angry cause cannot overtake you

Go car lane, cars get angry with you. So where to go?

Pay RM200k for all this?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 4
      • applegreen on Jan 14, 2016 at 8:56 am

people love to see something different. I’m very sure people wont angry if u ride this vehicle on motor or car lane. They will get angry if u ride this trike super damn slow

• komarad on Jan 14, 2016 at 9:45 am

i’ve seen can-am using smartag to pay toll…

• donno on Jan 13, 2016 at 7:29 pm

Btw is punch malaysia hoping to offset its pending lost of cvt gearbox sales to proton by offering this three wheeled thingy?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • Scooter on Jan 13, 2016 at 7:56 pm

Its okay if the gearbox jerking like hell, the big buttock seat will absorb all the nonsense.

• Gaviny on Jan 13, 2016 at 8:06 pm

That huge copper grounding sets only tells new this thing is an electrical gremlin. That kind do know syrups ate only used in industrial applications

• Must be a relaxed ride…! it wont be cheap but it sure is a head turner… Who is going to sell this thing??

• Punch CVT is the cue to avoid buying this contraption

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 15
  • Consumer on Jan 13, 2016 at 8:42 pm

Even though it still under type certification and inspection, it is always good to introduce more vehicles to have extra choice over honda gold wing if it class as motorbike. The stated price are still naked, it gonna price a lot higher in our land.

• Oh mak lu cina on Jan 13, 2016 at 9:15 pm

This vehicle nak terbalik macam Relliant Robin!

• Bakry halaby on Jan 13, 2016 at 9:16 pm

We was waiting for you and dreaming about that trikes , thank u to come here with ur trikes i hope we will be first customer for you plz give me ur number and adresse and when can visit and take a look first

• CFE punch CVT on Jan 13, 2016 at 9:32 pm

FYI, Suprima,Preve and Exora which using CFE engine use VT3 and VT3+, not VT2. VT2 found in Saga FLX,Iriz and Preve Exec (non-turbo engine). Please correct the article.

• Biker on Jan 13, 2016 at 9:36 pm

This thing drives pretty good, very agile and swift due to the torquey boosted engine and light vehicle weight! Guaranteed fun. But indeed, pricey…
    If you ever have the chance to testdrive it, take it. Quite the experience if your a petrolhead

• godcar on Jan 14, 2016 at 8:53 am

What’s the point ? Still stuck in jam behind my godcar while i enjoy my cool aircond, you are sweating like a pig behind me and smelling my exhaust.

And with mrt construction everywhere in kl/selangor, you are just inhaling more dust and maybe get free shower from bangla who accidentally spray you while cleaning the road.

So, which is wiser choice, buy a toyota camry hybrid or buy this tai lang gong 3 wheelers ?

• Biker on Jan 14, 2016 at 9:31 pm

The point would be ‘fun’.
        It’s not meant to be a practical people carrier.

• wat license to ride?

• Kristof Verpoorten; Punch Powertrain on Jan 13, 2016 at 9:58 pm

First of all, thanks Paul Tan for reviewing the trike. Punch powertrain and Rewaco are currently checking how to get the trike on licence plates in Malaysia. That is one of the reasons that we are looking for distributors. Having lived in Malaysia for a few years i can image it would be great to drive a trike in malaysia. I understand the on the road price is expensive, but that is the case for most imported niche vehicles. Currently the trike is sold all over europe, US, middle east, china, canada, … with succes. Let’s see how the malaysian market reacts. Thanks everyone for sharing their opinion.

if you would have any questions please feel free, we will follow this comment section.

Kristof Verpoorten; Punch Powertrain

• Shamsul on Jan 14, 2016 at 8:39 am

company with no ethics. Can come here to promote their products. free advertising. No ethics at all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 14
      • DonkeyKong on Jan 14, 2016 at 11:21 am

The product that they’re bringing in is featured on this site, and their staff are responding to queries in the comments section. How is that unethical? They’re not forcing you to buy it. They’re not saying those who have negative comments are dumb. They’re not hijacking the comments section to talk about promotions. I don’t see the point in this product either but I simply don’t understand the arrogance and hostility shown by you uneducated morons

• Consumer on Jan 14, 2016 at 1:16 pm

People from every corner from this earth love the cool stuffs. But they have to impose with a very igh taxes rate when make legal on this land. This is still the main factor that holds the people from this land to go with some cool stuff ie trike above. Therefore practicality with reasonable price tag become so important here.

• It should be a VT3 instead of VT2 mentioned?

• kristof Verpoorten; Punch Powertrain on Jan 13, 2016 at 11:41 pm

yes indeed, it is VT3. kristof Verpoorten; Punch Powertrain

• gggvv on Jan 13, 2016 at 10:30 pm

i can see some tengku, royal whatever would buy this.

• Jimmy on Jan 13, 2016 at 10:34 pm

SLK, Boxster or Z4 are better options.

• BeingPositive on Jan 14, 2016 at 12:30 am

It should comes with 2 passenger seats to make it practical. Imagine Uber or GrabCar on that thing.

• rempit on Jan 14, 2016 at 7:22 am

i just wetted myself

• Izzat Ramli on Jan 14, 2016 at 7:26 am

Rm200k.seriously?!
    Malaysians could build their own trike,even better than that with that much money.

• Drive on Jan 14, 2016 at 11:01 am

This German brands use punch CVT gearbox same gearbox that use on Preve and Exora but why some Malaysians said punch CVT gearbox not refine and jerking. Which one correct the German or those some Malaysians?

• DonkeyKong on Jan 14, 2016 at 11:37 pm

Go and test drive a Suprima yourself and find out. It’s free and the Proton sales people are not going to hold a knife to your throat and force you to buy one. Just try it for yourself and see. It was after I test drove a Suprima when it was launched that I started really looking at the Punch CVT through the eyes of an engineer to see its merits, and to see what was wrong with the earlier implementations (which boiled down to the clutch adaptation program).

But alas, based on comments in Paultan, most people will just bash based on hearsay.. based on what they heard their friends’ father’s colleague’s friend said, etc. and have never even driven a Preve or Suprima before, but bash Proton and Punch CVTs till kingdom come.

• all the chrome & headlights remind me of jeepney in philipines ^^

• karl rogers on Mar 12, 2017 at 12:45 am

is the 1.5 non turbo model use vt3? What vehicles other than Rewaco use this vt3? How many years has this vt3 been on market? What the approx cost to rebuild vt3 as being a rewaco consumer? from usa