VIDEO: Sultan of Johor’s Mack truck goes on a drive

Sultan Johor, Sultan Ibrahim Iskandar memandu sendiri trak Mack dari Istana Pasir Pelangi, Johor Bahru ke Muar untuk bertemu dengan rakyat.#OPPOF1 #OPPOMALAYSIA

Posted by Buletin TV3 on Tuesday, 9 February 2016

Thus far, we have only seen still images of the Sultan of Johor, Sultan Ibrahim Ibni Almarhum Sultan Iskandar’s magnificent customised Mack Super-Liner truck. If you’re ever wondered what it’s like behind the wheel of the big rig, TV3 has released a video where HRH Sultan Ibrahim is seen taking the Mack on a drive from Istana Pasir Pelangi, Johor Bahru to Muar.

As a recap, this is the world’s most expensive Mack truck ever made, said to exceed AUD$481,000 (RM1,425,044) for a customised rig, according to ABC News. It is powered by a 16.1 litre MP10 turbodiesel straight-six, with 685 hp and 3,150 Nm of torque on tap.

Sultan of Johor Mack truck20

The blue, white and red Super-Liner also gets a bevy of toys and custom details that includes, but is not limited to a specially-built sleeper unit that is 80% larger than standard with imported South African leather, royal emblems embroidered into the front seats with 72,000 stitches of gold thread, a Bose surround sound system with Xbox and Playstation consoles and even a solid gold tiger ornament on the hood.

With so much equipment packed into a truck of this magnitude in size, you might think that it would be a handful to drive? Not the case as you can see here, with HRH Sultan Ibrahim easily navigating the streets of Johor with the greatest of ease, much to the amazement of pedestrians and motorists.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• joule on Feb 12, 2016 at 4:32 pm

daulat tuanku!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 18
  • only rm1.5m for a custom truck with all those goodies? Damn, a better buy than a Ferrari

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
  • nighttrain on Feb 12, 2016 at 4:39 pm

Paul Anka!

• The 2 frontal lower funnels shud face forward since its the air intake. Facing back wud mean the engine work more to suck in air at low RPM and lower top end power at higher RPM.

Seems like nobody dare to tell this to tuanku.

• Afiqms on Feb 12, 2016 at 8:46 pm

Have you considered rain? The truck is moving forward and sucking in water directly causing hydrolock.

• The filter box at the bottom of those funnels have water seperators. All trucks have them.
        If u doubt me about the Mack, see picture in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mack_Super-Liner

• apeng on Feb 12, 2016 at 6:59 pm

steady tuanku…

• loong on Feb 12, 2016 at 7:27 pm

not wearing seat belt?

• donno on Feb 12, 2016 at 7:27 pm

If the actual price is really just rm1.5 mil, that mack truck is actually cheaper than the brabus g class 6×6 that naza brought in.

• sultan x pakai seatbelt, hmm..

• hondaman on Feb 13, 2016 at 8:08 am

i don’t think it is a compulsory requirement for truck drivers. Kena check dengan JPJ kot

• Ariff on Feb 12, 2016 at 10:49 pm

andd… I just sitting in front of my PC playing American Truck Simulator with the highest price truck i could buy with the virtual money. ATS is actually quite a good game :)

• swoosh3553 on Feb 13, 2016 at 10:32 am

Hmmm… guna polis escort utk clear jalan…. like there is no better use for police riders and patrol cars. What to do… if you have the power and wealth, this is Boleh-Land.

• See if any stupid woman dare to block this VIP. If i him, i’ll just ram thru

• Adlan on Feb 14, 2016 at 10:26 pm

HRH Sultan has a good taste! Both in vehicles and music. Daulat Tuanku! :D