Volvo XC90, S90 and V90 to get 1.5 Twin Engine power

2015-volvo-t5-twin-engine-live-pictures- 001

Volvo may soon have its 90 Series of vehicles adopt its new 1.5 litre Twin Engine plug-in hybrid powertrain. Initially designed for use in the brand’s compact models, the car maker believes that enough power is available to motivate its larger models as well.

“We have been running a V40 mule with the turbocharged three-cylinder engine and a dual-clutch gearbox, and it’s already excellent,” said Volvo’s head of research and development Dr Peter Mertens to Auto Express.

“With the 1.5 we can easily get up to 150 hp and more, and unless somebody told you, you wouldn’t know it’s a three-pot. We will definitely have it in the next 60 Series models (S60, V60 and XC60) and I can easily see how it would end up in the S90 as well. It’s really promising,” he continued.

Currently, the only hybrid powertrain available to the XC90, S90 and V90 is the 2.0 litre T8 Twin Engine which produces 407 hp and 640 Nm of torque. While Volvo’s 1.5 litre three-cylinder petrol engine develops up to 150 hp, the T5 Twin Engine for its compact models promises up to 250 hp and 400 Nm of torque – sufficient figures, it seems, to haul larger models likes those in the 90 Series.

As detailed before, the new T5 Twin Engine was said to be for the car’s more compact models, such as the Volvo V40 and expected XC40. The plug-in hybrid powertrain consists of a 1.5 litre Drive-E petrol engine which drives the front wheels and a 55 kW electric motor which powers the rear – forming a hybrid all-wheel drive system.

Detailed earlier for use in a compact vehicle, the T5 Twin Engine’s vitals should differ once fitted to a larger 90 Series model. For its 40 Series, though, the powertrain is said to yield a full electric driving range of over 50 km, be equipped with a 9.7 kWh lithium-ion traction battery and will be mated to a six-speed dual-clutch automatic transmission.

Chris Aaron

With an equal passion for fast cars and everyday workhorses, Chris Aaron maintains a passion for European makes, Formula 1, playing the electric guitar and spending endless hours on the PlayStation - first-person shooters and the Gran Turismo franchise are his favourites. He also finds it strange to have written this in the third person.

• shawal on Mar 07, 2016 at 10:12 am

400nm of torque shubbe sufficient for old people who just wants to cruise around town…

the current s80 has only 300nm of torque….

so yeah…it makes sense…

a V40 with 400nm of torque is hot hatch territory already…

• Regalia on Mar 07, 2016 at 10:18 am

3 pot engines. Some rich motor geeks here will lose their heads.

• nabill (Member) on Mar 07, 2016 at 11:19 am

I lost my head when they mentioned that they are pairing it with a dual clutch

• tokmoh. on Mar 07, 2016 at 10:23 am

*breathing intensifies*

• Kenneth Fook on Mar 07, 2016 at 10:27 am

Great move by Volvo. Like i say b4, the only reason you dont buy a volvo is because you dont like the brand. Not the car. Meanwhile on the other side of the rainbow, toyota vios now comes with a new dual vvti motor. and ESP!!!

• Have you ever own a Volvo in Malaysia? No? I thought so…
      It is quite a problematic European brand too.
      The design is nice, good features and powerful engines for their “T” series…. But but but, the reliability and parts are still not upto the German “B”s

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 12
      • Tahar on Mar 07, 2016 at 7:43 pm

Many people are owning Volvo and yet some of them never complain about Volvo being problematic especially when you mentioned their parts does not last like german cars.

Maybe you using and replacing with VOLVO OEM parts and not the genuine Volvo original replacement parts for your Volvo because the parts cost 30% to 50% cheaper and does not last like the original.

I had lot of problems about durability using Volvo OEM parts in the past until I gave up and started changing back to Volvo Original parts. It cost slightly more but I do not have much issue on reliability and parts durability compare using OEM parts. The original parts last me a few years while the OEM parts last only within a year or slightly more.

So far to say Volvo is a lovely and secure car to drive and own compare to any Japanese , Korean or few Europeans makes.

My advise , Please do not use OEM parts if you can afford while is cheap but do not last

Use original parts please.

• Keras batang on Mar 07, 2016 at 9:06 pm

I fully agree with u bro…ppl belum tau the real things aboutI the doggy car (i always called wow wow)….parts all made in Poland,Sweden…

• tokmoh. on Mar 07, 2016 at 11:25 pm

Liar.

You yourself don’t sound like you’ve owned a Volvo.

German B, what, the Banyak Masuk Workshop brand? Or the brand with Damn Stupid Gearbox?

Volvo has most comprehensive after sales care for the longest time before any German brand. 5 years factory warranty + 5 years free service parts and labour + 5 years on-call service. Go Volvo Malaysia fb, nothing but joy among owners, sharing nice scenes of places they can go with their “problematic” China car.

BMW used to no telor, give 2 years warranty only. I can go to Auto Bavaria service centre and enjoy pop corn watching owners wanna kung fu with mechanic for their very reliable German B brand.

VW even have owners protest at HQ hahahahahhahahahahahhahaha topkek very reliable German brand. So reliable they gotta give RM90k discount also people don’t want.

• Volvo lol? on Mar 08, 2016 at 8:27 pm

Volvo is always below the german big 3. If the chinese company didnt bought it years back. Its already bankrupted. Sales speak for itself. Dont assume all consumers on planet earth are stupid that you outsmart them.

• Same goes with japanese make like Toyota, Honda , Nissan and so on, People does not like the brands too because it tells us our affordability is one step below premium car brand affordability and yet people buys them because of the cars and not the brand too.

• Keras batang on Mar 07, 2016 at 9:01 pm

I’m driving a Volvo….5 years old S40….yeah i admitted..it’ll lose to wv,beemers, merc when talk about speed but about reliability….its on par and even better than beemers….pls check…how often a beemer having oil leak? Always overnight inside garage….after 5 yrs on d road….I’d use it every week to travel to jb, melaka and penang for business….haven’t change any absorbers …also, all parts can be bought thru online nowadays…..i know Volvo cantafford sell bcos ppl dun like the design and tease it as China car….but i can assure u its a hulk on d road when come to safety….a beemer used to kiss my back side while i was traveling on hiway at 80kmh….mine only few scratch….while d beemer….bonnet kemek, bumper fell off…both headlight gone….haha…..

• tokmoh. on Mar 07, 2016 at 11:57 pm

Worldwide reliability studies often rank Volvo highly compared to most German brands. It can’t be fluke if it’s so consistent.

Look on the road, plenty of Volvo 240, 740, 940 from 80s or older are still running around as daily driver. Need anymore assurance Volvo makes reliable cars?

Another aspect Volvo puts German to shame : comfort. It starts with the seats, and Volvo makes the most comfortable seats in the business, period. Read international motor journalists, they all speak of this with high regard.

It’s puzzling how the Germans somewhat overlook the importance of creating very good seats for some of their models. Jumping from Volvo, some German cars’ seats feel like they’re made of cardboard.

People are jealous Volvo owners are people who sit down, think logically and smartly realise Volvo is very great car to own. The bashers think their German is superior, then become more butthurt when their car’s reliability is worse than Proton’s power window. It’s always German fagboys with low self-esteem that bash Volvo. Hardly see Japanese/Korean/other conti brand owners bash Volvo.

Volvo is very well respected as World’s Safest Car, only retards would bash Volvo for valuing safety above all else. Boring? Fine, but unreliable? Being Chinese? Lol, fix yourself before saying nonsense about Volvo. If China makes such crappy car, no waterface la if Volvo can make safe, stylish, comfy, powerful, fuel efficient, reliable, good value for money car but Germans cannot do better.

Now Volvo even focus on driving aspect, Germans better watch out.

• Keras batang on Mar 08, 2016 at 8:15 pm

Well said….. being the safest car in the world its Volvo ‘s commitment, not to be the biggest or largest…… for what being the most stylish car but always masuk garage….lol