2016 Bangkok Motor Show – the sexy ladies of BIMS

BKK Girls Pt1 Cover

Sawasdee krub. We hope that you’ve enjoyed our live coverage of the 2016 Bangkok International Motor Show so far. In paultan.org tradition, we cover everything we possibly can, and BIMS 2016 threw at us a long list of cars that have already been launched in Thailand, but are on the way to our shores, a preview of what’s to come. And this.

The headlining act at Impact Muang Thong Thani is the new Honda Civic, which is available there in four variants (1.8 NA, 1.5 Turbo) and Modulo accessories. Honda Malaysia has hinted at the radical tenth-gen car’s arrival this year, along with the Accord facelift, which sees the D-segment sedan get a new face and new equipment.

Another Thailand-before-us new model is the W213 Mercedes-Benz E-Class, which now looks like it fully belongs in Daimler’s core sedan family, a junior S-Class in many ways. GM previewed facelifts of the Colorado pick-up truck and Trailblazer SUV via a pair of aggressive-looking concepts, while Subaru gave the Malaysian-made Forester SUV a regional debut.

Toyota, Thailand’s market leader, rolled out TRD Sportivo versions of the new Hilux, new Fortuner and Yaris hatchback, along with a major update for the Vios. Thailand is truck-land, and the updated Mitsubishi Triton and kitted-up Nissan NP300 Navara Sportech were also on display.

There were other interesting machines in Bangkok, such as the wicked Mazda CX-3 Racing Concept, BMW Motorrad’s starter G310R and the MG GS SUV, a Chinese rival to the CR-V and CX-5 powered by a 2.0 litre turbo engine and DCT gearbox. The most bizarre car on display has to be the Thairung Transformer II, a Hummer on a Hilux wearing Iron Man’s mask. Go figure.

This writer was locked away in a cold room typing out stories for most of our time in Bangkok, so this very nice gallery of the ladies of BIMS is the handiwork of photographer Sherman Sim, whose sore foot complaints I do not believe. Khob khun krub and have a good weekend.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Tomyam is modders heaven, this includes non-automotive too

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
    • Muniandy Periasamy on Mar 26, 2016 at 11:11 am

Paul Tan, how can you show gambar like this? You must do like TV Direct on TV where they blur out the image of the chest part. Tak boleh tunjuk like this in Malaysia!!! Ha Ha Ha

Thank you PT! No harm putting some humour sometimes!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 15
    • Muniandy Periasamy on Mar 26, 2016 at 11:37 am

A big question we must ask is this. Why is BIMS so much better than our KLIMS? in BIMS, there are so many new car launches. In KLIMS, we got no car launches at all.

Worse still, in KLIMS, there are hardly any new cars on displays. The last time I went to KLIMS, there were more banks promoting credit cards there and trying to make you sign up for new credit cards, people selling tyre wax, people selling motor oils, people selling petrol additives or octane boosters etc.

We need to rethink what our KLIMS is all about. Cause every year, people say they feel cheated. Pay so much for entrance fees but go into a supposedly International car show to be sold with credit card promotions.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 5
      • P Selvi on Mar 27, 2016 at 8:15 am

Haha you’re right about KLIMS. Pay entry fees to see what you get for free in local car showrooms.

• seancorr (Member) on Mar 25, 2016 at 8:43 pm

Wow @ rocket sound

• hazamiey on Mar 26, 2016 at 8:50 am

Agree with u..

• Albert on Mar 26, 2016 at 10:23 am

@seancorr – really..? most of the girls look bizarre and possess some “questionable” assets.

• Gay is happy? Really? on Mar 28, 2016 at 1:04 am

I guess if put muscle hunks on Toyota as models surely vios sales going upwards tremendously.Questionable asset won’t be an issue anymore.Hahaha.Sorry but vios really like a gay car! Kwahaha

• Boboy on Mar 25, 2016 at 9:09 pm

Are you sure they are actually ladies? ;)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
  • BEEMEER on Mar 25, 2016 at 10:10 pm

you sure all are “ladies”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • Sad Malaysia on Mar 25, 2016 at 10:15 pm

No more KLIMS?

• Which of the were male?

• Macai on Mar 26, 2016 at 6:42 am

Probably all of them were men. You know, transvestites

• OMG so nice, I mean the place, not the cars or shemales

• skatax on Mar 26, 2016 at 11:38 am

i think most of the blog commenters have come to a level of maturity, judging by lukewarm response on the photo gallery – which is good btw. anyway thanks for the effort.

• aqeef on Mar 26, 2016 at 3:52 pm

*secretly doubting their gender*

• Happy Family on Mar 26, 2016 at 8:54 pm

are the ladies really ladies?

• Ulala on Mar 26, 2016 at 10:10 pm

Tulen or tiruan

• Jimmy on Mar 26, 2016 at 11:43 pm

Enticing.

• What dslr being used? Damn good quality. Can see facial scars and armpit hair on models!

• We won’t be fooled again….. hopefully.

• thomas on Mar 27, 2016 at 10:03 pm

Ladies? Or ladyboy?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • azrai on Mar 28, 2016 at 8:20 am

Honda – The Power of Wet Dreams.

• Thank you Danny & Sherman. Peace bro.

• leonardo on Mar 28, 2016 at 12:25 pm

If you have been to other Motor shows in this region or in Europe, you will be terribly disappointed with KLIMS.
    We need a bigger and purpose build venue, not the small and overcrowded PWTC, which was not designed for motor show, but just for conferences and meetings.