3M Scotchshield Crystalline Security AutoFilm launched in Malaysia, introductory prices from RM2.9k

2016-3m-scotchshield-crystalline-official- 001

3M has introduced its new 3M Scotchshield Crystalline Security AutoFilm in Malaysia. The brand’s latest AutoFilm product is said to offer greater heat rejection as well as enhanced safety and security features.

“In light of the daunting statistics of car break-in cases in Malaysia, safety features of window films are becoming increasingly important. In response to this need, we are proud to provide Malaysians with a solution that provides not just excellent solar heat rejection, but also an effective deterrent against smash-and-grab perpetrators,” said Ge Quee Ann, GM of Electronics and Energy Business at 3M Malaysia.

Limited to the first 100 customers, 3M Malaysia is offering its new 3M Scotchshield Crystalline Security AutoFilm at special introductory prices, listed below (regular prices in brackets). Do note that to be eligible for the offer, customers will have to visit the brand’s local website and fill in an online form first.

• RM2,880 for standard sedan vehicles (RM3,840)
  • RM2,995 for large sedans (RM3,940)
  • RM3,168 for mini MPVs and SUVs (RM4,224)
  • RM3,456 for large MPVs (RM4,608)

2016-3m-scotchshield-crystalline- 002

The prices listed here include auto film protection for all six windows of a vehicle, and comply with the Road Transport Department’s (JPJ) regulations. However, 3M Malaysia tells us that it doesn’t recommend its Scotchshield product for the front and rear windshields. Therefore, the prices listed above include the regular Crystalline AutoFilm for those areas.

The latest Scotchshield Crystalline Security AutoFilm builds upon the original 3M Crystalline AutoFilm. The new product is just 0.1 mm thick and features the brand’s proprietary Multi-layer Optical Film (MOF) technology – combining over 200 layers in a single film. Underestimating its strength would be a mistake, because while this film may be thinner than a Post-It note, it offers up to 25,000 psi in tensile strength, 97% Infrared Radiation Rejection (IRR) and up to 60% Total Solar Energy Rejection (TSER).

Other benefits of the Scotchshield Crystalline security flim include 99.9% Ultraviolet Rejection (UVR) protection and a Solar Projection Factor (SPF) level of over 1,000. The latter is said to reduce cracking and fading of a car’s trim, upholstery and carpet, while protecting passengers from harmful UV rays.

The film is non-dyed, which helps your vehicles maintain its original appearance. It is also non-metallised, meaning that it doesn’t interrupt the connectivity of your mobile devices.

2016-3m-scotchshield-crystalline-official- 008

Where Smart Tag devices are concerned, 3M explains that the Crystalline AutoFilm on the front windshield does block infrared signals used by the devices. However, the company adds that installers do provide a neat workaround to this. No specific method was revealed, but we understand that this includes removing a small portion of the auto film to allow Smart Tag signals to pass through.

The 3M Scotchshield Crystalline Security AutoFilm is now available at all authorised 3M AutoFilm car centres. Its prices include a five-year e-Warranty that covers the replacement of the film due to any bubbling, peeling or blistering as all as 100% of relevant materials and labour charges – glass breakage is not included.

Customers that tint their vehicles with selected series of 3M AutoFilm between March 1 to May 31 2016 are also entitled to take part in the company’s Tint & Win with 3M AutoFilm contest. Lucky winners will receive an iPhone 6s or a 3M AP DWS 1000 Water Filter. More information on this is available at 3M Malaysia’s website.

Chris Aaron

With an equal passion for fast cars and everyday workhorses, Chris Aaron maintains a passion for European makes, Formula 1, playing the electric guitar and spending endless hours on the PlayStation - first-person shooters and the Gran Turismo franchise are his favourites. He also finds it strange to have written this in the third person.

• MalaysiaBoleh on Apr 14, 2016 at 3:13 pm

Crazy prices for tint films. Ppl who do not mind shelling such money are those earning easy money, cronies and etc.

Foreigners would laugh at the fact that most malaysians(our country’s average income>3k) are earning less than the price of a 3M window tint per month!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 8
    • This is security & solar 2 in 1 film. Normally for 3M, u have to put one atop the other. The ori price is a bit steep, but 2.9k is quite okay since u getting security & solar, US made film, authorised installation, & 5 year warranty.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 13
    • cool Apek on Apr 14, 2016 at 4:08 pm

Our ekonomi is booming!!

new Samsung & Iphone cost 3K also very long Q maa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
    • Team Iron on Apr 14, 2016 at 5:58 pm

Average price lah… good security tint like Llumar and 3M are all around RM3k++ for normal sedan. If you get cheaper it usually means the car company subsidy or else kena con by salesman. Cost price for these already RM2k+++ in Msia. Most come with 5 year or 10 year warranty with one time free replacement if kena koyak by JPJ

• DonkeyKong on Apr 14, 2016 at 10:03 pm

That’s why, don’t you regret that you sucked at your studies and you’re now just a lowly paid semi-skilled worker? Live within your means.. This 3M film is obviously targeted at high achievers that have a good career, not for factory workers or despatch riders who drive cheap cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 13
      • DK, not to say that ur wrong but I tint my Gen2 with 3M crystaline when they 1st came into MY. As above, it isnt cheap. But i can see & feel the quality of the tint, the professional explanation on the pros of the film, & i also observed the installation process before plonking my hard-earned money.

So yeah, there r pipu like me who drives P1 but willing to pamper our rides (3M tint, Michelin tyres, full synth oil, TLC on paint & leather interiors, the occasional V-power red & blaze100, etc). It serves me well, so it deserves them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
      • Redidiot on Apr 15, 2016 at 8:05 am

What a mean thing to say

• Muniandy Periasamy on Apr 15, 2016 at 9:03 am

Don’t be rude donkey and look down on other people

• Ironic statement, coming from someone who is rude to others. Why not use ur real nick huh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
  • Same L00 on Apr 14, 2016 at 3:19 pm

What is the point of RM3.9k? The window still break and scatter around.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
  • Halimy on Apr 14, 2016 at 3:54 pm

Giler, RM3 ribu untuk tint security. Lagipun cuma 4 tingkap yang ada security tint. Kalo saya pencuri, saya pecahkan windscreen la…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
    • Windscreen is laminated. Bukan senang nak pecah masuk, beb. Thats why they oso gip normal Crystaline film for front n rear.

• Blaster88 on Apr 14, 2016 at 3:54 pm

Protective films can be a double edge sword. In situation whereby you are trapped in a car, your rescuers would have more difficulty getting to you. Also, if you are trapped in a burning car, the film would melt. Imagine hot liquid and molten films dripping on you, not to mention the toxic fumes that these films may emit…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 4
    • wilson on Apr 14, 2016 at 4:26 pm

wow
      never think that way……..

tqvm

• Zakir Turun on Apr 14, 2016 at 5:17 pm

I think you have been watching too much DVDs lerrr. like that that stay at home lar and close all the windows and lock the door.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
    • Choong sinn on Apr 14, 2016 at 8:01 pm

Sounds like final destination

• Fucukyongtaufoo on Apr 14, 2016 at 8:12 pm

Exactly my thought too!!! Nowadays too many cases of toddlers left in car under hot sun!

• Imacelebrity on Apr 15, 2016 at 5:39 am

Film is said to be 0.1 mm thin. I doubt that’ll melt like molten lava on your skin. Drama Queen la you. Lain kali jgn tengok Hollywood movies byk sgt…

• Insider News on Apr 16, 2016 at 12:23 am

That’s why they can’t apply the-said-tinted-film in front and back windscreen.
      They already think of this matter. Try google it. Side windows can apply from 4mil above but front and back max 2mil.

• hamster on Apr 16, 2016 at 10:00 am

I think it may have something to do with distortion n clarity as thickness increases.

• Even the window films is more expensive than my wife’s handbag

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
    • Ya you are right.. you think your wife handbag is important than safety film

• JAZZYTINTPRO on Apr 14, 2016 at 5:39 pm

What sort of shiity film with this kind of price? 3M autofilm does not worth of price! For what sort of pricing you are looking at, u can find it better out there such as Ecotint or Konica Minolta film which made in Japan with much cheaper price. Further lower budget, RAYTECH also good. 3M film sux big time and it affect your signal! If you wana stop at Smarttag, go ahead! My advice, stay away from 3M autofilm!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • VincentKOH on Apr 14, 2016 at 6:04 pm

Ask government to remove import tax/GST if he knows his people is having heat burn in this country

• BP Lab on Apr 14, 2016 at 6:44 pm

The white lab coats alone push the price north by 500 ringgit . Lol . Such marketing strategy to justify the crazy price .

• Help, I can’t break the window to get out!

• 3M is a collaborator with the Bilderberg group and is involved in illegal activity. I dont buy anything from them.

• Jebon on Apr 14, 2016 at 7:47 pm

What is the cheapest 3M solar film? I want to tint my viva. Any website that i refer to check the price and spec? Is 3M has branch in KK?

• tokmoh. on Apr 15, 2016 at 9:29 am

It’s best you ask at their official dealers. There’s a list of the places at 3M Malaysia’s website.

http://solutions.3m.com.my/wps/portal/3M/en_MY/AutoFilm/Home/Contact/WTB/

Avoid other places not listed there. They cannot guarantee its authenticity.

That said, not all dealers have standard price. SS 15 can be quite pricey, Kota Damansara and Bangsar quoted me cheaper before.

• Choong sinn on Apr 14, 2016 at 7:59 pm

Actually very worthy, 2,900 / 5 years / 365 days = rm1.5++ not even the value of a cup of teh tarik, can protect u from hear, uv and thief

• KennyFang on Apr 14, 2016 at 9:25 pm

Way overpriced. Security film can be broken through easily with sharp object. Of course the demos all use blunt objects.

• Imacelebrity on Apr 15, 2016 at 5:41 am

Tape with these prices I think I’ll just spray paint my windows. Jimat!!

• Battu on Apr 15, 2016 at 11:55 am

i am more concern on the safety issue during accident. there is no way people inside and rescuer outside to break this damn glass to save those who trapped inside during accident.