Road users can soon report potholes in Selangor directly to municipal councils using Waze – Azmin Ali

azmin ali

Selangor chief minister Datuk Seri Azmin Ali has revealed that the state government is currently in discussion with navigation application developer Waze to allow road users to report potholes directly to municipal councils, The Malay Mail reports.

“We are discussing with Waze at the moment, on the possibility of using their application to strengthen our initiatives for smart solutions in Selangor,” Azmin said.

“And certainly there are many mechanisms that we could use within this application, so we are proposing to Waze if we can use the app for road users to report back to our local council if they find any potholes on the road while on the way to the office or to their homes,” he continued.

Waze Planned Drives_All iOS Screens

According to Azmin, six municipal councils – Ampang Jaya (MPAJ), Kajang (MPKJ), Subang Jaya (MPSJ), Shah Alam (MBSA), Petaling Jaya (MBPJ) and Klang (MPK) – will be involved with the project, and they will be assigned key performance index (KPIs) to meet in the form of a minimum response time to each pothole reported.

“From the dashboard at the local council level, we can monitor closely, and with the exact location, because they are (providing) coordinates, the local council can rush to the location as soon as possible and try to resolve the problem, maybe within 72 hours,” said Azmin, who hopes that the programme can begin as early as mid-2016.

Using apps to report on damaged roads isn’t new. Previously, the Works Ministry introduced its Aduan Jalan KKR in March last year, after it announced it in 2014. The Ministry of Urban Wellbeing, Housing and Local Government also introduced its CaknaKPKT mobile app last year, for users to file various complaints to local authorities.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Hang up on Apr 22, 2016 at 1:37 pm

Millions potholes vs 1 apps.. The apps will hang in just a week.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 4
  • Gargantia on Apr 22, 2016 at 1:47 pm

Ok fast I want to complaint the road in my area here… too much holes !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • Same L00 on Apr 22, 2016 at 1:52 pm

While we can report potholes via Waze, where can you report your proton break down?
    Proton quality principle: You buy you break down your own problem. Don’t play play with our Sendiri Cakap Sendiri Syok QC.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 39
    • Preve 1 - Altis 0 on Apr 22, 2016 at 6:46 pm

Last weekend saw a newly registered altis breakdown side of the road near tapah caused few people surround the car.The owner said the car dashboard vibrated so loud & engine rattled after he hit a small 3foot little tree branch on the way down from Cameron highland.When asked how big the small tree branch the owner show his skinny hand wrist only.That made me surprised! What happened to toyota qc same lorrrr? Factory forgot to screw it tight or losing one? Preve guy beside me just smirk looking at the poor jepunis sushi.Luckily just a little tree branch not a plastic hump at malls or big deep hole.Else both dashboard & engine fall down.lol 5mins later tow truck came.

• Fuel up lah on Apr 22, 2016 at 6:54 pm

Saw black vios side of road.Tot breakdown but driver said no petrol.What? What? If buy P1 or P2 can save 20-30k money for whole 10year petrol..haha.

• Same L00 on Apr 25, 2016 at 3:11 pm

When you are reparing or selling your Proton, you will regret why didn’t you spend that RM20k – RM30k extra.
          Why foreign car so expensive? Ask your beloved Proton!

• PKR-Daerah Hulu Selangor Secretary on Apr 22, 2016 at 2:11 pm

Well done Azmin, a step towards the right direction.

Hopefully the repair work is good and can last more than 2 weeks! And no kickbacks to the contractor please, we voted for change, change you must!!!!

-Concerned Citizen, Child of Selangor-

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 6
  • seancorr (Member) on Apr 22, 2016 at 2:14 pm

Good one bro now just let us see how fast they will respond since there are millions of holes all around Selangor and I can’t even include the shitty roads on the SKVE and MEX since its not under the government.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
  • start a fight on Apr 22, 2016 at 2:27 pm

so.. they should have a stretch function so I could mark the whole road from my house up to SILK highway.

• Thomas on Apr 22, 2016 at 2:42 pm

People are quick to forget

http://paultan.org/2015/11/26/google-maps-waze-a-threat-to-national-security-mp/

• Donel Teram on Apr 22, 2016 at 2:43 pm

Nanti cakap ada jalan tu Federal punya la…tak boleh ambil tindakan la…apa la. Last2 RAKYAT merana.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
    • kzm (Member) on Apr 22, 2016 at 4:11 pm

Use Cakna app lo…apply to all road n the complaint will be sent to appropriate authority

• Finally someone suggests something smart. But please don’t let it be an empty promise.

• In b4 why Gov expects us to do their job. Oh wai… different Gov…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
  • Report is one thing, repair is real one. YB may pay visit to Pekan Seri Kembangan, years on temporary diversion.

• Neutral on Apr 22, 2016 at 3:10 pm

Report cepat pun tak berguna kalau tindakan lembab. Kami mahu tindakan yang cepat, bukan report yang cepat!!!!

• tokmoh. on Apr 22, 2016 at 3:22 pm

I used cakna before. MPSJ took way beyond 2 weeks to repair a road with leaking pipe. What a huge waste of water.

Still, good effort. Good job, MB Azmin.

• BitumeN on Apr 22, 2016 at 3:26 pm

Our team can resurface every damaged roads, Not repair potholes only.

• Tong Sampah on Apr 22, 2016 at 3:33 pm

just drive around and you see all holes!

• Tong Sampah on Apr 22, 2016 at 3:36 pm

From Melaka, to Johor, Selangor has the most in-city tols (those bs kesas, ldp, puchong, etc), and also the most holes in all roads, obviously those none tol has more.

Contractor getting the job obviously purposely do a lousy job so EVERY year will have to come back and patch like broken cloth..

What a shame that the G is looting all people living in Selangor…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • truthbetold on Apr 22, 2016 at 4:04 pm

one step at a time. hopefully you have enuf manpower to respond to the gazillion pot holes all over. lol

• Sick&Tired on Apr 22, 2016 at 4:16 pm

You guys can also report at mbpj facebook page. I came across a pothole, which damaged my rim. Took a picture and posted on their facebook page and within a week it was fixed. There is still a lot to do, but there is an improvement under azmin ali.

• You sure about MBPJ. Why don’t you take a drive through the “one loop system” in PJ. It has been years of digging. Last time put the blame on the sewage piping. But the sewage piping contractor has completed their job and left. Now it is entirely Selangor appointed contractor. Please do not be like BN, talk only and no action. Simple job like the “one loop system” can screw us for years. Can Selangor government pay for the damages on our cars!!!

• Eddy Irwan on Apr 22, 2016 at 4:37 pm

turap jalan baru boleh tak? dah banyak sangat potholes yang dah tutup. jalan berlekuk. kesian kat rakyat marhaien yang bawak kereta tayar kecik dan assorber murah.

• pimple road on Apr 22, 2016 at 6:33 pm

Go solve the blardy road near armada pj first la. The condition is worst than kg road and ironically your mppj surrounding road is as bad as our mb face.

• Imacelebrity on Apr 22, 2016 at 11:58 pm

Azmin… Azmin… Please dont use “rush to the location” and “within 72 hours” in the same sentence. Haha! But kudos for the effort!

• Anti Pot Holes on Apr 23, 2016 at 7:58 am

Good move.. Another effective way to reduce road accident risks…

• report pothole…good…
    then what? patch it….ok…minor nuisance for road user…

most important is the quality of the repair?

some road has brick tiles…i see tiles came off lying in middle of road…how safe is that…

• It’s a breath of fresh air compared to the brainless dbkl proposal to close the roads for rempits. However, execution of the plan is crucial, there must be sufficient man power and contractors to ensure that the problems are attended to within the time frame otherwise it is a waste of money and certainly will not be viewed favourably by taxpayers.

• Nak report sampah sarap area PJ guna app apa pulak?

• azermalak on Apr 25, 2016 at 9:24 am

If Selangor Gov used all the allocation from Federal Gov this potholes problem won’t be an issue. Use lay the money, simian but apa? Nak tunjuk your gov can save money ke?

• Did we had any SOP for road maintenance?
    Who check after the job done?
    because most of the repair pothole leave uneven road surface.

• Bernard on Apr 25, 2016 at 1:58 pm

“…local council can rush to the location as soon as possible and try to resolve the problem, maybe within 72 hours,”

Rush, 72 hours………………keeping my fingers crossed:))

• anonymous on Dec 18, 2018 at 3:04 pm

Hi, are the local councils sleeping or dreaming or blind? Are they doing their work actually? There are thousands of holes in most of the roads around klnag valley main roads, such as old klang road, taman OUG, Bukit Bintang area just to name a few. Easily just come out from my house can see holes in the roads already. Can the local council quickly do something about this? Really can’t stand this! Everyday we risk our lives by being tripped or fell caused by the holes in the road or our cars being spoiled because of this. How long are we going to live with this condition and how long can we endure this? We all got pay road tax right? Then, why not use the money to beautify the roads, please? Idiot!!