Pos Malaysia takes delivery of Tata Xenon truck fleet

pos-malaysia-tata

Pos Malaysia has took delivery of 553 units of the Tata Xenon pick-up truck. The postal service provider will use the new fleet in its courier, express and parcel delivery business – Poslaju.

The Tata Xenon Single Cab 4X2 is powered by a 2.2 litre commonrail turbodiesel engine with 140 PS and 320 Nm of torque from 1,700 to 2,700 rpm. The special customised box body is equipped with a reverse camera and access from the rear as well as both sides of load body to meet Pos Malaysia’s requirements.

pos-malaysia-tata-2

This deal happened in November 2015, when Pos Malaysia decided to lease the pick-ups through DRB-Hicom EZ-Drive leasing facilities. The lease period is for 36 months, with an option to renew for another 24 months.

Tata Motors commercial vehicles are distributed by DRB-Hicom Commercial Vehicles in Malaysia, and Pos Malaysia is also in DRB-Hicom’s stable of companies. Familiar face above? Formerly Proton’s CEO, Datuk Abdul Harith Abdullah is now the COO of automotive distribution and defence at DRB-Hicom.

GALLERY: Tata Xenon pick-up truck

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Kenneth Fook on Apr 28, 2016 at 5:13 pm

Pos Malaysia choosing a TATA over a proton. hahaha. I know you guys wanna say that there are no proton truck but i figure the amount will surpass the iriz.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 26
    • Muniandy Periasamy on Apr 28, 2016 at 5:38 pm

I have always wanted to ask Proton ex CEO one question. Why did he lie and say Iriz sales were doing so well and that Proton could not keep up with orders.

And then, few months later, Proton adviser and Tun came about and said Iriz sales were so bad and company was struggling to even get any sales.

Can the ex-CEO please give us an answer to this question? Preferably in this comments section. We all know DRB staff read comments section everyday.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 6
      • policeman on Apr 28, 2016 at 5:54 pm

Its Business 101. You don’t announce failures. That didn’t work.

So Mahathir came along and played the sympathy card. That never works.

What will work is if the government increases taxes on foreign cars. I suggest upping it by 50%.

I hope the G considers this. I’m tired of seeing stupid German junks breaking down and causing jams. G would get some extra income as well. It’ll be a win-win situation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 27
        • Muniandy Periasamy on Apr 28, 2016 at 5:59 pm

Ex CEO himself don’t believe in Proton. Tuan ex CEO, your Juara look like a pos van, you should revive the Juara.

The Proton Arena also look like Pos Van, you should revive the Arena (jumback)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
          • WT Fuchhh on Apr 28, 2016 at 10:52 pm

Damn truck is going to breakdown all over the country. Need to increase letter and parcel leadtime from 1day to a week.

• Albert on Apr 28, 2016 at 7:03 pm

Datuk Muniandy,
        there ARE CERTAIN people where they fail badly and next month ,naik pangkat lagi.
        sob failed badly and lied too often.
        Wah liao eh,now doing very well cos chat hai chai.
        In Bolehland,it is not the number of degrees u have.It is the KONEKSION THAT BRING INSTANT SUCCESS.
        Shambolic progression in careers due to everlasting perlindungan.

• Dun see why not. P1 dun have pickup truck and Tata brand is franchised to DRB. Unless DEFTECH can come out with indigenous light truck.

• policeman on Apr 28, 2016 at 5:48 pm

Amount of what?

• annoy_namous on Apr 29, 2016 at 8:29 am

Bro, in case you are living in the cave, please be informed that Proton and Perodua don’t have pick ups model. Be wisely to go out from cave and explore more info outside there.

• fanofthisite on May 02, 2016 at 3:06 am

“You guys ” must be the santimoniuous crowd who think there’s a crowd here you can talk down to, while advertising an incredible capacity of shallow thinking and non constructive keyboard tapping. Why are you in an automotive blog again??

• PDW7275 on Apr 28, 2016 at 5:15 pm

Pos Malaysia’s property management people works like snails! Fortunately for us, their ops/poslaju people work wonderfully

Congratulations to Pos Malaysia’s ground!

• Muniandy Periasamy on Apr 28, 2016 at 5:31 pm

This alone shows, crony company Pos Malaysia has no confidence in our local products namely Proton. Pos Malaysia wants reliability and Pos Laju wants reliability.

they know, if they use anything from Proton, the car will fall apart and the postman will spend half his life in the workshop.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 13
  • Can I oso get Tata Halogen or Tata HID as well? What about Tata LED Matrix? Got ornot?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • common sensor on Apr 28, 2016 at 5:26 pm

Apparently, this ex-Proton CEO is enjoying life after the suffering stint at Proton ..

• UMW TOYOTA on Apr 28, 2016 at 5:32 pm

rm270k for this pickup? tata truck..hahaha..zaman dinasor

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
    • Paul Tan on Apr 28, 2016 at 5:41 pm

That price is for the Tata Prime Mover.

http://paultan.org/2015/01/22/tata-xenon-malaysia/tata-dhcv-launch-802/

• Not bad, considering a China prime mover is about that price while a Volvo FM is ~Rm200k more.

• Malaysian = Idiots on Apr 28, 2016 at 6:38 pm

Why a government link body bought foreign product not local? Government or national company must buy local! To be specific pos must buy potong! Only potong! Later those bn troopers will get angry how? Where those red bean army always said that nobody buy potong only got buyer from government.Grow up la idiots!

• Murukku Thosaisamy on Apr 28, 2016 at 6:43 pm

This truck the cheapest among the others apparently.Other brands now over 100k per piece

• Aero (Member) on Apr 28, 2016 at 8:01 pm

553 units is a lot ! … this doesn’t even include all those kapcais and window vans… I wonder how many vehicles Pos Malaysia actually has ?

These Tata Xenons should be Thai CBU models. Tata has a CKD plant there, and they’re supposedly building one here too for bigger vehicles. Honestly, I have far more faith in Tata than some of those unknown China brand trucks… really, why buy a Bison Savanna, Huanghai Plutus, Foday, Dong Feng or whatever… even a second-hand HiLux is cheaper, more reliable and parts are far easier to find too (no, I swear Sam Loo didn’t pay me to say this !). Everyone knows how invincible Tata’s trucks are. You can still see some ancient Tata lorries on the North-South Highway today. Tata’s passenger cars aren’t ‘there’ yet, but Tata’s commercial models are actually not bad at all, especially considering the price.

Naturally, if Proton had a new Arena, DRB-HICOM would’ve chosen that instead… but they don’t. Little known fact; the Arena has the highest resale value of any Proton ever made. If Proton makes a new Arena, it will definitely fill this obvious demand for an affordable, reputable pick-up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • transformer on Apr 28, 2016 at 8:51 pm

they tried to sell these Xenon but sales are low, so they dump these Xenon to POS as to clear stocks.

• For those who bash Proton, hopefully you can check again what kind of car that we are talking about.
    Pos Malaysia requires pick ups for its commercial use.
    Proton doesn’t have any offering in this segment….

• Bashers law:
      Bash 1st
      Bash 2nd
      Bash 3rd
      Then only use brain (if got lah!)

• annoy_namous on Apr 29, 2016 at 8:27 am

So P2, where’s your pick ups model??? Don’t have??? No wonder P2 basher a bit quite… no modal to hantam….

• pos malaysia sucks on Apr 29, 2016 at 9:32 am

What? Pos Malaysia still alive? I thought they are dead?

Anyway new trucks or other new truck will still be the same, slow service. Always dump you mail and said no one at home and pick up your parcel!

This Malas Pos Malaysia should die!

• fanofthisite on May 02, 2016 at 3:12 am

on one hand you say you are clueless of Posmalaysia, on the other hand you choose to make cynical comments. You must be special kind of stupid.

• Bustard on Apr 29, 2016 at 5:41 pm

Why choose tata? Get extra money ka?MACC pls check

• B-Unggul on May 01, 2016 at 3:18 am

Well, looks like you need to check on the last paragraph of the article.

Pos Laju is part of DRB-Hicom group.
      DRB_Hicom also happen to distribute Tata commercial vehicles.

Seems logical.