2016 Toyota Fortuner pricing, specs out: RM187k-200k

Screen Shot 2016-05-04 at 7.35.04 PM

The 2016 Toyota Fortuner has appeared on the brand’s Malaysian website, complete with full specifications and pricing of the all-new seven-seat SUV. Two variants will be on offer locally – 2.7 SRZ (AT) 4×4 petrol and 2.4 VRZ (AT) 4×4 turbodiesel. The 2.8 litre diesel engine has been given a miss here.

Prices start at RM186,900 for the 2.4 VRZ, making it RM7,726 more expensive than the outgoing 2.5G, while the RM199,900 asked for the range-topping 2.7 SRZ is RM12,817 dearer than for the previous-generation 2.7G. Both prices are on-the-road inclusive of insurance and a five-year, unlimited-mileage warranty.

The petrol version gets an updated 2TR-FE 2.7 litre motor, which now has Dual VVT-i tech. It’s rated at 166 PS and 245 Nm of torque, 6 PS and 4 Nm more than before. The 2.4 litre VNT diesel is an all-new 2GD-FTV engine, with 150 PS and 400 Nm of torque. Both get a six-speed automatic transmission (petrol adds paddle shifters), sending power to all four wheels.

On the outside, the 2.7 SRZ, which is clearly the more upmarket variant, gets bi-LED projector headlamps, LED daytime running lights, chrome door belt mouldings and 18-inch wheels. The 2.4 VRZ settles for halogen projectors (also with auto function) and smaller 17-inch alloys (fitted with AT tyres instead of HT rubber on the petrol variant).

It’s much the same story inside, with the petrol version getting all the goodies. These include an Optitron meter panel, colour multi-info display, DVD-AVN touchscreen head unit (optional on the diesel), leather-wrapped steering wheel and gear knob, automatic climate control (front and rear) and a powered driver’s seat. It also gets a Dark Brown combination leather upholstery, while the diesel gets brown fabric seats.

Standard across the range are keyless entry, Bluetooth connectivity, selectable drive modes (Normal, Eco and Power), electronic 4WD Transfer Dial and Toyota’s Premium Security and Solar Film. The second row seats (with Isofix) have a 60:40 split-fold with one-touch tumble, while the last row has a 50:50 split with “One-touch Easy Space Up” function.

On the safety front, the Fortuner 2.7 SRZ is equipped with seven airbags (front, side, curtain and driver knee), ABS, BA, VSC, Active Traction Control (A-TRC), Hill-Start Assist Control (HAC), Emergency Stop Signal (ESS) and Trailer Sway Control (TSC). Out of this long list, the diesel 2.4VRZ only retains three airbags (front and driver knee) and ABS.

GALLERY: Thailand-market 2016 Toyota Fortuner

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• WT Fuchhh on May 04, 2016 at 8:14 pm

People,…..pls wait for the new Ford Everest.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 8
    • i feel Ranger 2.2 diesel 150hp 385nm already under power…2.7 petrol 166hp 245nm? how to move? be logic la…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 8
      • 2.7 dinosaur petrol LOL…. DESIRE to laughhhhh!

• WT Fuchhh on May 05, 2016 at 8:19 am

Toyota started Indon plant to cater cars for the Asian mass market , now only the rich afford . Mampus…lah Toyol …ta San.

• Nazee on May 04, 2016 at 9:34 pm

Sorry to say people who buy this really just brand snobs (and it is not even that really a good brand people)… because nothing in the spec or price or driving dynamics stands out.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 6
      • Gargantia on May 04, 2016 at 11:29 pm

Ask that to the MITI and Malaysia tax system, if not Rakyat will choose Benz, BWM and Audi over Toyota. The high car price were Rakyat biggest enemy not the brand…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
        • Subaru Forrester from RM211k to RM 145k. 31% price down. Cukur & not another moving coffin. Get this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 12
          • Gargantia on May 05, 2016 at 10:45 am

Only Malaysia down price? Go survive others country car “clearance price” then you comment… Stop your Utusan mindset and go read world news!

• Really on May 05, 2016 at 12:35 am

You forgot about UMW’s greed. For 187k, the equipment list for the 2.4 is atrocious. The 2.7 is not exactly very good for a 200k car either.

Is it after the well-equipped Camry Hybrid not selling well, UMW now reverts back to its old strategy of selling the least equipped at the highest price possible? In the hope that some su**ers will still have that ‘it’s the most expensive, therefore it’s the best’ mentality.

• Thetruemaserati on May 05, 2016 at 8:51 am

Talk rubbish. Camry hybrid is selling by the bucketloads.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
        • Tak habis-habis la kau blame the gov while UMW keep on being greed, and not to mention there are customer who hail Toyota like no other good brand in this world. An extra 7K for new diesel engine without any extra accessories? Wow..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
          • Gargantia on May 05, 2016 at 11:00 am

If not Gov pampered the crony then UMW will act greed like they do now? And don’t tell me UMW not under gov sub cronies !!!

• Gonggok on May 04, 2016 at 11:41 pm

Actually I reckon lots of people will still buy it over the Everest esp now with the 5 year warranty and Toyota aftersales, also for the Toyota brandname as you said.
      Clearly the mitsu outlander and Subaru Forester offers better specs at lower price.

• Meng meng on May 05, 2016 at 12:49 am

Haiz…. SPAD and JPJ new car…

• New Everest cost RM200k for 2.2 whole top of the range 3.2 is RM280k!!! How to wait? I went to their roadshow last week in 1U and the salesperson confirmed this price to me… I have to take back my RM500 deposit paid to SDAC

• Gonggok on May 04, 2016 at 8:18 pm

Higher end buyers will have a tough time deciding between the 2.7 petrol Fortuner vs 2.8 diesel top spec hilux.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
  • Pinky on May 04, 2016 at 8:20 pm

Finally found another car without VSC that is more expensive than a Camry.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 104 Thumb down 2
    • Really on May 04, 2016 at 9:20 pm

The Fortuner 2.4 is watered down for our market. Seriously, the safety suite are 3 airbags and ABS only? Not even BA, which btw is available on most cars costing less than half. And it will be more expensive than a Camry 2.0G. Looks like UMW never learns…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 2
      • with that price tag, seriously? lets the market tells the true to umw. Just wait… … …
        =)

• UMW never learn their lessons. Maybe they will only learn after losing its market shares position to Mazda. Go FLY KITE UMW… boo boo!!!!

• Fortune on May 04, 2016 at 8:46 pm

Finally umw is giving all those kits for the msian specs! Seems promising. Hopefully less than 200k. Or better, priced in the current fortuner price range.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 58
  • Batak on May 04, 2016 at 8:49 pm

The diesel variant specs aren’t interesting to say the least.
    Why can’t it have the same spec, while retaining the diesel engine.

• Nowadays, diesel engine is not only for low end vehicle, we just wait the market tells the true to umw.. .. .

• transformer on May 04, 2016 at 8:57 pm

“Out of this long list, the diesel 2.4VRZ only retains three airbags (front and driver knee) and ABS.”

WOW! Toyota, why diesel so much lesser equipped???

even cheap BA also removed, so just forget about VSC(ESC).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 0
    • Really on May 04, 2016 at 9:26 pm

The 2.4 is clearly aimed at fleet sales, specifically from the government. No private buyers (other than diehard Toyota fans) would put down 160k for something that is so poorly equipped.

• Nissan and Subaru know the market trend now, safety feature is standard across all variants.

“Standard across the range are keyless entry, Bluetooth connectivity, selectable drive modes (Normal, Eco and Power), electronic 4WD Transfer Dial and Toyota’s Premium Security and Solar Film.”

haha, good luck, umw toyota.

• laughing here coz Thailand already got this almost a year now! Lol well played UMW

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • Jonathan on May 05, 2016 at 9:04 am

Friend, not up to umw to decide laaaa; known to the whole world new launches surely Thailand gets first (mostly).

• With the kind of Volume Thailand is selling they definitely will get fresh new models first especially in segments like this.

Normal for car makes in this country to not be the first to launch a model

• seancorr (Member) on May 04, 2016 at 9:12 pm

Holy crap the Mitsubishi Outlander takes the crown this round with class leading spec and price plus it’s CBU from Japan too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 3
    • crown? on May 04, 2016 at 9:49 pm

do u know the Outlander 7 seaters don’t have rear air-cond vents, ridiculous!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
      • hahahahah on May 05, 2016 at 12:17 am

Ya is ridiculous. But not as ridiculous as this fortuner diesel spec. Safety feature like shit with that price. So what if got aircond vents ? The rear aircond vents can save u when u accident ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
      • Krasher on May 05, 2016 at 12:36 am

F**k rear air-cond vents. Gimme the air bags, VSC & A-TRC!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
      • That is why Toyota Malaysia can still sell crap car. Because their customer care more about rear air-cond vents, wow…. speechless.

• flipper2uman (Member) on May 05, 2016 at 11:49 am

Bro, Outlander is not in the same category. I think we need to compare with the New Pajero Sport, Ford Everest and ISUZU MUX. That would be a better comparison.

• Greed_Kills on May 04, 2016 at 9:15 pm

With that pricing and kit, Good bye Toyota. You will not be missed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 0
  • I would rather buy the Kia Sorento or wait the Pajero sport 2016

• With these spec and price for the diesel, better wait for Pajero Sport..

• Kancil Hybrid on May 04, 2016 at 9:47 pm

Baik beli Forester XT..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
    • camtakpro on May 05, 2016 at 8:23 am

… was going to said that. Forester XT:
      – is CBU
      – cheaper road tax
      – more powerful

• 0 safety on May 04, 2016 at 10:05 pm

walao eh, the 2.4L safety is really moving coffin…lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • Tangent on May 04, 2016 at 10:21 pm

186k car don’t have VSC

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
    • VSC? look at the specs sheet carefully, A until Z safety also don’t have…haaa

• Just left UMW on May 04, 2016 at 10:27 pm

With availability euro5 diesel it great to own an 2.8…. too bad UMW. I rather pay extra and go for ford 3.2 Everest. Pitty to say goodby !!!

• Up-to-date in terms of looks. Sleeker and sharper. With dual VVTi -should sell well. However basic safety and ride handling features should not be so paltry for a vehicle in this price bracket. Consumers are more informed and competitors offer much more. UMW… you can’t play this game anymore. Don’t go down a certain local brand’s way of creating ill-will among customers that when you reform they still harbour deep doubts and stay away. Let it be win-win and not a zero sum game.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
    • That certain local brand alredi reform & no longer coffin. This brand still trying to sell u coffin but now whole famili too. Buy the certain local brand better.

• nabill (Member) on May 04, 2016 at 10:51 pm

Such a good value and a pretty looking suv. Said NO ONE EVER!

• Ghadafi on May 05, 2016 at 12:04 am

Bs price. Lagi bs after market service.

Really regret to buy toyota.

Good brand but lousy service

• Really on May 05, 2016 at 12:24 am

Your first wish came true. It is below 200k. 199,900 to be exact. Your second wish also sort of came true. The 187k 2.4 is around the old price, albeit with 3 airbags and ABS and bruised ego (I am trying so hard not laugh). I am sure you don’t mind as long as it has that T badge, right?

• “Desire. it changes everything” YES…umw! from bad to worse…

• why dont put 2 models for both 2.4 D and 2.7 P? one with less spec and another one with premium spec and let the customer choose?

dumb umw…..2016 Fortuner got good review and then this is what UMW offer for the local market? oooo….ya….wait few years later then you introduce TRD kit and raise the price somemore….bengong…

• gaviny on May 05, 2016 at 7:35 am

What’s the logic behind punishing diesel buyers ?

This is painfully old school thinking that petrol is superior over petrol hence petrol should be more luxurious.

Other countries don’t even sell a stupid petrol in 4×4 anymore. We have euro5 diesel widely available already.

My advise, anyone looking at this beware, i believe UMW will realize and released an updated diesel with all the goodies making your first buyers lame ducks

• JB_KIA on May 05, 2016 at 8:18 am

fortunate my a55

• Capt. Current on May 05, 2016 at 8:23 am

Such a grand cruising coffin.

• With the new fortuner’s equipment listing and pricing, I would say UMWT is on track for its worst ever annual sales. Along with the new ugly hilux and the new innova sh*tbox, it looks more than likely they will sell less cars this year than Honda and Nissan.

Ismet Suki can still sleep well at night?

• Price up or down on May 05, 2016 at 8:37 am

where is the 30% price drop promise? Price goes up every new model launch.

Oh, forgive me for a moment, so that you can introduce a ‘cheaper’ version as price down? Every 5 years model will up the price for 5% and later introduce cheaper version at 5% down. After 6 model launch at 30 years time you will add up 5% times 6 = 30% price drop?

Now i get it. Thank you gomen for helping on 30% price dorn but thank you gomen also for no price change also.

• Thank you T la. Why thank the Gov. Other brand can reduce price, while T keep on rising price whiteout any extra equipment for customer.

• Buy Forrester. From Rm211k to Rm145k. Here is ur 31% price down. No need complain about Gov if T still think they r rich man brand.

• pakcik on May 05, 2016 at 9:06 am

Baik beli all new pajero sport .. 181ps .. 430 Nm .. mivec diesel .. 8 speed AT .. with 2 bags, ESP & HSA for RM 165k (indo price, come here probably 180-190k)

• applegreen on May 05, 2016 at 9:08 am

cant wait to see driven new series; fortuner vs outlander

• flipper2uman (Member) on May 05, 2016 at 12:11 pm

Should be a shoot out between the Fortuner 2016 vs Pajero Sport 2016. The Outlander is a different class of vehicle. The Outlander should be compared to the Nissan X-trail, Subaru Forester, CRV, CX5 and the Korean make.

• contender on May 05, 2016 at 9:54 am

Refreshing …. let’s wait for Ford Everest and Pajero Sport. But then again pricing for Fortuner not crazy expensive like indicative pricing of Ford Everest from 200k onwards. Interesting to see Pajero Sport pricing. Looks have to give it to Everest, pricing as of now Fortuner better plus reliability. Interesting segment …

• Azt Fiq on May 05, 2016 at 10:09 am

Seems to be alot more upmarket than the current Fortuner.Are they trying to penetrate the ‘semi luxury’ segment? Kit looks good enough on the 2.7. With that kind of looks, wont be surprised to see alot on the road.

• Diesel on May 05, 2016 at 10:09 am

Toyota, Toyota, please make a good survey from the market! … The 2.4 diesel model with fully loaded is what we waiting for, NOT the 2.7 Petrol model! A SUV like Fortuner, people are looking for Diesel model instead of Petrol. You throw in the best features for the Petrol model is a waste! Or at least bring in the 2.8 diesel model! I already made a 4 units booking on this new Fortuner, now I need to think twice of your offer for the 2.4 diesel, so cheapskate and low option! We willing to PAY!

• What are they offering over other makes?

Premium looks and finishing?5 years warranty with unlimited mileage?service networks?
    hard to tell but i do have a gut feeling this car will sell as it is approaching the range of buyers who might not be overly price sensitive compared to other segments

• atoyot on May 05, 2016 at 10:36 am

rather get the current mitsu pajero sport

• flipper2uman (Member) on May 05, 2016 at 11:21 am

From the two engines offered, the diesel engine is a better engine as this is a new engine. The torque figure are decent to haul a vehicle its size. HOWEVER, what is disappointing with this is relatively low spec on the diesel variant compared to the rest of the SEA countries. SERIOUSLY UMW WTF!!!!

• Buy A3 better

• JasonT on May 05, 2016 at 12:00 pm

It’s good for leisure and short distance drive. Good resale value if that’s what you are looking for. But if you drive from Kuantan to KL, you will fully understand what’s in it for you. Ha ha….

• domotomo on May 05, 2016 at 12:29 pm

looking at T buss game, my hope for diesel innova is vanish

• toyota are getting greedy. That and also the ringgit it becoming worthless. Thank you najib.

• Diesel 2.4 High Spec! on Oct 24, 2016 at 2:03 am

2.4 diesel with such poor spec = BODOH UMW!!!
    Your sales could be better with high spec 2.4 diesel variant!!! BODOH!!!