SPIED: Third-gen Kia Sorento seen on Malaysian roads

2016 Kia Sorento Malaysia spotted 2

The third-generation (UM) Kia Sorento has been sighted in Malaysia, possibly indicating that the seven-seater SUV will make its debut soon. In our earlier report, a source from Kia Malaysia suggested that the new Sorento will be launched this month.

The unit seen here sports twin-barrel projector headlamps along with “eyebrow” DRLs. Chrome surrounds can also be found on the blinged-out grille, fog lamp enclosures and side windows. Along the sides, we see what appears to be normal-looking 18-inch wheels that feature a five, twin-spoke design, but makes do without a heavy dosage of chrome.

As mentioned previously, the new Sorento will be offered in both 2.2L diesel (CRDi) and 2.4L petrol guises. Based on the ‘AWD’ badge seen on this unit, a four-wheel drive version will no doubt be offered, while the EcoDynamics badge suggests it’s a diesel. In total, three variants will be offered to Malaysians, and we’re predicting a standard-spec petrol, a high-spec petrol and this low-spec diesel for the local line-up.

The Sorento UM made its domestic debut back in August 2014, and we already had a go in the SUV back in June 2015, which you can read about here. Suffice to say, the photos aren’t fooling your eyes, this is a big SUV. Bigger even than the Honda CR-V, measuring 190 mm longer (at 4,780 mm) and 70 mm wider (at 1,890 mm), with a 160 mm longer wheelbase (at 2,780 mm).

Big as it may be, the interior of the Sorento appears clean and classy, courtesy of design work by Kia Europe. Expect Naza Kia to specify an all-black cabin for our market, the same as the vehicle we sat in while in Jordan. Upgrades here include a new seven-inch TFT LCD Supervision cluster and an electronic parking brake.

Those concerned about safety will be glad to know that the five-star ANCAP-rated Sorento achieved one of the highest ANCAP scores ever – 36.62 out of 37 in the more stringent 2015 criteria. More details should be revealed once the Sorento is officially launched here, but for now, how interested are you in the upcoming seven-seater SUV?

GALLERY: Kia Sorento driven in Jordan

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• 1st owner on May 11, 2016 at 5:07 pm

After 2 years, 50% diskaun.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 18
    • Cheap start-up and still better than Fortuner

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 1
      • Muniandy Periasamy on May 11, 2016 at 7:39 pm

No idea why people buy from Kia. Two big problems, Naza is a useless crony company. Nobody has anything nice to say about them and the after sales service. Stinks to glory their name. Worse than even VGM

Secondly, Kia has the worst RV. Buy this Sorento today, next year you sell also, to get RM70k, you will be lucky!!!

Anyway, that was a time when Sorento was one of few 7 seaters. Today, there is the X Trail, the Mitsubishi and many others.

Be wise, buy a good Japanese 7 seater. Today you buy, next year sell also, it depreciates about 10%. And not 60% like the Kia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 51
        • xempro on May 11, 2016 at 9:29 pm

im going for its performance and features. RV? well , i prefer to look for that 2nd value if it does exist. Atleast im paying lesser for the insurance. Still gain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
        • Dey Tambi on May 11, 2016 at 9:55 pm

Stop talking rubbish.. Maybe people like you is the one who likes to bother about RV.. For others, they want something valuable for their money in terms of safety, comfort, design etc and KIA has all of these compared to Toyota, Honda, etc and thats the fact.. Everybody knows that, Mr Periasumi..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 6
        • Safety first on May 11, 2016 at 10:57 pm

Japanese car? ..pay 150k..got 2 airbags only..and Takata will recalled your car for airbags replacement after few years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
        • Every1canTalk on May 12, 2016 at 7:26 am

Oh, this dumby can offer better price for second hand Kia Sorento?
          OK, deal on! I will buy from you at RM80k, additional RM10k for you to minum kopi!!!
          lol

• Every1canTalk on May 11, 2016 at 8:18 pm

OK, after 2 years sell me at 55% of initial price, 5% for you commission! lol

• Same L0rr on May 12, 2016 at 8:12 am

Kia? Hyundai? Volkwagon? Chevrolet? All bad RV.. Buy Japanese sushi car better especially Toyota brand! Good RV! Car 5 years expired already maa.. trade in after 5 years, buy a new one!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 17
      • Not all people like your customer, only looking for body-kits. Changing car after five years because new facelift is out, and by the way facelift by changing the look of the car I mean.

• eddie on May 12, 2016 at 9:34 am

But a 2012 Insight and Freed now cost RM40K – RM50K…. that you call good RV ? Only 4 years old car and already depreciate so much.

• leafable on May 11, 2016 at 5:12 pm

WTF. This is a 2 years old model. Why Malaysia distributors are so inefficient.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • nabill (Member) on May 11, 2016 at 5:47 pm

This i can tell u wont be cheap.. I hv a feeling the topspec will cross the rm200k mark… Bt online reviews are all tiptop n they specially hail the overall quality of the car…and tbh, the stigma attached to korean cars are getting tiring n boring…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • seancorr (Member) on May 11, 2016 at 6:24 pm

Yep the top spec should be a diesel…who in the right mind specs a petrol to be their top spec model? Oh wait UMW does! Not sure why they took so long to intro it here…FL should be coming out soon…reminds me when Honda Malaysia took their own sweet time to intro the CRV (2 years later than the rest of the world).

• D segment suv on May 11, 2016 at 11:26 pm

Wow 2.2 CRDI diesel !! ..but Santa Fe looks better than this Sorento .hehe

• oh mak lu cina on May 11, 2016 at 11:41 pm

Yawn! Same model of this if launched 10 years ago still *Yawn*!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • Josh Ling on May 12, 2016 at 2:04 am

if the pricing is right, fortuner better beware. still can’t believe the 2.4 VRZ model only has 3 airbags and ABS as safety features. that’s a freaking 186k car! tin kosong has a new name!

expect the top spec price to be around RM190k. Finger cross I am right.

• This is what I like about kimchi cars. A Sorento or Picanto or Santa Fe that you buy here will have the same quality and specs that you get in Europe or USA because it’s a global car. I own a current generation Picanto and even at 130km/h on the NSH, it is surprisingly stable and surefooted and relatively quiet. It’s a pity that the aftersales leaves much room to be desired.

• drillero on May 12, 2016 at 5:53 pm

Kia – Too little too late, should have capture the Malaysian market whilst it is new & hot. 3 years after 1st global launched? Honda is playing catch up game with all new 7 seater CRV soon. Now, Sorento is due for face lift already. Kia just need to be the market changer & leader in Malaysian market by offering similar service and warranty like KIA US. If you believe in your products quality & reliability then 10 years warranty is no issue. Gain the market & customer confidence like the Jap did 20 years ago. Kia just wasted good momentum build up with Kia Forte, a product on par with 90’s Civic for Honda & Corolla for Toyota. Forte brand name should be continued not discontinued.

• Sammy Loo on May 13, 2016 at 2:27 pm

another death on launch vehicle by Kia, same like the Rio Sedan.