In a bid to compete with ride-hailing services Uber and Grab, a taxi company will be launching a mobile application within the next few months, The Sun reports.
Big Blue Taxi Services says the app will help its taxi drivers promote better quality services. The company’s advisor, Datuk Shamsubaharin Ismail, said the application will prevent haggling and allow users to rate the driver’s behaviour and the vehicle’s condition.
“With that information, users will be able to ask for drivers that they have had good experiences with, which will encourage other taxi drivers to step up their services,” he said, adding that details of the driver and vehicle registration will be made available to the user when he or she uses the app to book a cab. There is a booking fee of RM2 for rides ordered via the app.
He said that more details of the app will be revealed in the next couple of weeks. The app is expected to be launched in around two months’ time. Shamsubahrin said that the company’s taxi drivers are receptive to the idea of the application and are eager to try it out.
The announcement of the Big Blue app follows on another called iTeksi, which was launched last month. As the name suggests, the app allows users to book taxi services in a similar fashion to Grab.
looks like those potato head still dont know where the problem is, they thought that coming out with an app can solve the age long issue ka?
Frickin’ laser!
All this mangkuks think their being disrupted by an app. You are being disrupted by an EXPERIENCE!!! Get it in your head! Jeez
long time ago should have done this… just compete and stop with the pointless gangster attitude protest…
Good, be a man with balls, compete fairly, not the blocking road disturb Uber/Grab drivers ridiculous drama!
A man with ball will not humiliate other car brand and cheat on RV story
If the cars quality sucks, it deserve criticism. Your “holy” Proton is not unspeakable.
Stupid…..dumb…dumb. Crony setup with high overhead due to cronies daily rental….is the actual problem. Just like fighting fire with spoon of water.
I google this chap, he was convicted of cheating and money laundering and sentenced to 73 years jail on May 18 2015. I am surprised how this guy can hold press conferences and yet be in his prison cell.
Amazing how some people can still holiday and enjoy themselves despite being convicted to serve prison sentence for 73 yrs.
You still don’t get it do you? The app is just a medium (or simply, “middle-man”) to channel funds to personal pocket.
Can you guys please stop publishing this guy’s face?
hahahaha
DK, u r damn right.
Nobody,in his right frame of mind would want his bladdy cab.
Just disgusting..and vomiting when u look at his face.
This crony cannot cari makan now….drivers migrating to other cab companies….so coming up with a load of shit and crap.(SAC)
Shambolic..
Datuk kenapa boleh keluar penjara? Kan mahkamah sudah penjarakan anda. Boleh ke masuk dan keluar penjara di Malaysia?
Wait? Does he looks like Dr Evil from the Austin Powers series?
Ya, WTF. CAN YOU PUBLISH THE STORY WITHOUTH PUBLISHING HIS FACE?
DO ANY WORLD OR SUCCESSFUL CORPORATE LEADERS DON’T SHAVE SOME DAM WHISKERS OFF THEIR FACE?
hahahahahaha why charge rm2 per booking? uber and grab can book for free, no cancellation fee also. i know they want to change but still want to squeeze money. bye bye
Why is this guy still outside of jail?
the media is actually giving quotes from a convicted criminal?
Come on!
Excuse me, have you really used uber or grab taxi, not just booking and cancel
name the app – iLaugh / iCopycat
IGangster
they still cannot wake up…. it is not the apps problem… is the Taxi driver and charges problem….
This guy still dont get it, lembu betul dia ni..!!
Its the behavior & attitude of taxi drivers that we hate & dislike. Not to mention the taxi condition. Buruk, Busuk & Kotor. My last taxi ride was last CNY. Boarded a Taxi Persona, inside not only bad smell, he leave his windbreaker hang behind his seat. And I guessed he just smoked before I boarded.
Enough!! I rather in Grab or Uber. I rather spend 30 minutes earlier to book my ride than hail for a taxi.
You dont need to do Apps. Wastage only. And you want to charge RM2.00 for each booking? Please la.. Sedarlah sikit. Not enough to milk from us through ride fares, want to charge extra RM2.00 some more.
Many already said, clean all your taxis, refurbish the condition, no bad smell at all. Then the taxi driver behavior & attitude.
hello, idiot….it’s not about apps, the issue is your taxi services quality and consistency of the taxi fare
He looks like the dude from Austin Powers
This guy face reminds me Dr Evil from the movie
How many app these taxi drivers want to launch? Sendiri pun compete sendiri, ada hati nak compete with uber and grab.
Who votes for this guy as a taxi brand ambassador?
Like to agree
Dislike to disagree
Now this is called action, not those protest on the road like samseng. Finally used their brain to compete with Uber, Grab; and not keep their own samseng ways. We must move forward with technology, not standing still not wanting to change.
Buat la app apa pun, kalau service tak improve pun tak guna jugak…
Now only you realise the new edge business.
hahahhahahahahahahahhahahahahahahaa
Yes, pls develop an app to compete. Don’t complain.
But i will still download & prefer Uber
Why not just put a rating system which says HOW MUCH ID THE CAB DRIVER SCREW ME UP.. a little. to badly. LOL fool me once, shame on you. fool me like for years? C’mon
Here comes Dr Evil again
How many taxi apps are there? Everybody seems to be doing their own taxi apps. If every cab company have their own app which doesn’t seems to be “compatible” with other taxi companies, then how many apps does a customer needs to install on their phone? Why can’t they just unite and use a single app for all taxis so they can fight grab/uber?
SPAD is coming up with an app (http://paultan.org/2016/04/05/spad-to-launch-new-taxi-hailing-app-for-the-public/)… why can’t they just that?
So far we also have:
1. iTeksi (http://paultan.org/2016/04/29/iteksi-taxi-booking-app-introduced-challenges-grab/)
2. Oride (http://paultan.org/2016/03/01/official-ride-oride-app-will-put-taxi-drivers-on-level-playing-field-with-ride-sharing-apps-to-launch-in-may/)
3. Mesra Cab (http://paultan.org/2015/11/02/mesracab-taxi-hailing-app-introduced/)
I just saw a cat commit suicide after she looked at his pic… Rip cat!
Yahoo.. great.. you got your apps.. we can rate your driver, taxi condition and bla bla bla.. so what next? Will you do something after the rating? Please share some solid strategies and not copy what others already doing. All you need is to have strategies to counter your competition not follow your competition. You won’t get much as a follower. Your competitors get all the fruits long long ago and now only you come.. Too late..
If he ever ride his own company taxi….
If he ever ride his own company’s taxi….
“ONE MIIILLIIION DOLLAAAARS..!”
Sorry… just can’t resist. :-P
This joker failed to realise that the Application (App) is the facilitator/enabler to the taxi-service. Like many, the issue is not the quality of the App but the taxi-service.
I thought MyTeksi can also be used to book normal taxis already? Why need a new app?
All well and good that the taxi companies are trying to do something, but this RM2 “booking fee” needs to go. Typical Malaysian style of doing business. Why should I pay an additional fee to take a cab?
Also, the app will be pointless if cab drivers keep rejecting jobs because of reasons only they understand.
Drivers need to pick up passengers all the time! Cab drivers already have a bad rep, so it’s going to be VERY easy for this app to fail. You just need a few “no taxis available” when you try to book and customers will fall back to Uber/Grab.
The app alone will not change anything. Drivers need to change. Pick up passengers, clean your car, get shock absorbers that work, don’t smoke in or near your car, dress appropriately, don’t haggle, don’t make me wait as you ask other passengers if they want to share a cab, don’t drive with one hand, follow the meter, help passengers who are carrying luggage, don’t have your personal belongings strewn all over the car, don’t hang your clothes against the windows, don’t have styrofoam food packaging chucked on the seats. I could go on.
I will ONLY take a cab if these conditions are met. if not, Uber/Grab FTW!!!
Tax money wasting idea !!!!
Dont these people get it? its not the APP!! its the service the cab drivers give, they are just RUDE!
Where is his “mini-me”?
Coming up with app? Just do it lah. No need hu ha hu ha. Not sure if anyone would want to download it. Then when the plan is not working people will have a good laugh at you. Reality check pls.
this guy has a face…that his mother would disown him, in a wink…..
With this sort of crappy taxi service, give free handphone with apps pun saya tak mau.