Ferrari Takata airbag recall: 50 Malaysian cars affected

ferrari 458 italia

Earlier in the week, it was reported that a recall has been issued for 359 Ferrari vehicles built between 2009 and 2011 in Australia, due to the possibility of faulty Takata-sourced airbags being installed in them.

The issue revolves around a possible nonconformity within an outsourced component contained in the passenger side airbag in these cars. The company said that this nonconformity may result in the failure of the inflation device and incorrect deployment of the passenger side airbag in the event of a collision, increasing the risk of injury.

According to an official notice posted by the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission’s (ACCC) product safety recalls website, Ferrari Australasia lists the 458 Italia, 458 Spider, California and FF as affected models.

Now, an update on the matter, from a local perspective. It seems that Malaysian cars are also affected. The Ferrari Far East office has confirmed with paultan.org that 50 cars will be recalled for the issue in Malaysia. Affected models are the 458 Italia, California and FF. The defective parts will be replaced in these vehicles at no cost to the customers.

Last year, Ferrari issued a similar improper airbag assembly safety recall for about 2,600 vehicles globally, with Takata units on the driver’s side being the faulty item. The 458 Italia and FF were on that recall list, along with the 458 Spider, 458 Speciale/Speciale A, California T, F12 Berlinetta and LaFerrari. For that exercise, it was revealed that a total of 11 units were affected in Malaysia.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Kunta Kinte on Jun 10, 2016 at 1:50 pm

Wow, even the mighty Ferrari got recall. And to think that Proton and Perodua hardly got recalls.

This could only mean one thing, Proton is far better quality than Ferrari.

Minister already said, Proton is higher quality than Volvo or BMW. Now, they can safely say, Proton higher quality than Ferrari!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 10
    • E Peen on Jun 10, 2016 at 6:35 pm

betul betul betul

• Kunta Kinte on Jun 11, 2016 at 11:48 am

aiseh john, using Ooi now. All your postings always got “foreign overlord” in it.

Anyway, my posting above, read correctly. I said Proton and Perodua “hardly” got any recalls. This does not mean there are no recalls as stated by you.

Go and learn how to read English first john.

• Yep. u r absolutely correct! Maybe P1 dun have airbag recall cuz they use better quality sweden airbags instead of ur jepunis overlords cheapo killer bags,
      or
      maybe u just came out of cave this month cuz u dunno that P1 alredi issued 2 recalls earlier this year.

So why not u balik tidur dalam gua saja and save us ur useless rant?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 13
      • Kunta Kinte on Jun 11, 2016 at 11:51 am

Hardly got any recalls does not mean NO recalls. Are you sure you are not in the gua bangang?

• Kertas Putih on Jun 11, 2016 at 6:16 pm

Yah no one has ever seen proton airbags deploy in a crash. Strange…