Works Ministry open to idea of third Penang bridge

penang traffic

The Works Ministry is willing to evaluate the proposal of a third bridge linking Penang and the mainland, but requires the state government to furnish it with the necessary documentation before it can do so.

In a report by The Star, Works Minister Datuk Seri Fadillah Yusof said, “the Works Ministry commits to a fair evaluation to the third bridge proposal and we seek the cooperation of the Penang government to share with us all the relevant documentation.”

Currently, the state government is considering building a 6.5 km-long undersea tunnel linking the island state to the mainland. It has already sunk in RM305 million for the project’s feasibility study, detailed design and environmental impact assessment.

Penang 2nd bridge

“The Penang government had recently said that these studies are already complete or almost complete and that much of the study can be re-used if the tunnel is changed to a bridge. If that is the case, submitting these documents to us would assist us in our decision-making,” said Fadillah.

Fadillah said that it was against standard protocol for the federal government to approve a multi-billion ringgit project with only a single piece of documentation with the application. In the case of a third bridge, further documents will also be required, including studies on the traffic dispersal flow in the federal and state road network, as well as the impact of the bridge on shipping and aircraft operations.

Should the Penang government build an undersea tunnel a third bridge to link the state to the mainland? Which do you think is more effective to help improve traffic flow in and out of the island?

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard's strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• which one cheaper and save money

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • Anonymous on Jun 13, 2016 at 8:10 pm

It doesn’t matter if it is cheaper or save money… bridges will not end or reduce traffic congestions ever… public transportation does.

Anyone is an idiot to think that it will. All you get is to spend lots of money and admit more vehicles into the congestion.

• yihleh (Member) on Jun 14, 2016 at 9:32 am

agreed, we should load balance the traffic to other places. Learn from European countries to create more satellite cities. Penang is not only an island…

• Kunta Kinte on Jun 13, 2016 at 3:53 pm

Wahai Si bodoh kerajaan, you already cut cost like 80% to the Government hospitals and 80% scholarships and research grants to Universities this year.

Old people and poor people are getting generic medicines in hospitals. And your big boss wife is spending RM98 million to fly in a private plane whilst there are 7 already ready planes to take her FREE in the private hangar of the Government.

And now, you want to waste money to build a 3rd bridge so that you can sapu more money?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 43
    • It was an idea expressed by current Penang State Government, please check the link as follow:

http://www.nst.com.my/news/2016/05/147346/penang-govt-federal-please-let-us-build-third-bridge

• Andas on Jun 13, 2016 at 4:03 pm

Can i ask you to ask bro lim why the tunnel will have toll? I tot its in their manifesto.. regardless u win or lose, make an example la.. walk the talk… make a tunnel with no toll then i will change give my vote to his father in glg pth.. yamsey!

• Syed Putra on Jun 14, 2016 at 4:07 pm

If no toll, how to maintain the bridge? Current Prai nse road too congested always jam. And nobody using tolled butterworth expressway.

• HaIrI on Jun 13, 2016 at 4:04 pm

Isn’t the opposite? I thought that Penang Govt who need this third connection a.k.a tunnel/bridge.

• my teacher said that jangan bodoh sombong on Jun 13, 2016 at 5:41 pm

Err…dont you know that the proposal of the 3rd bridge is by the penang govt and not the federal govt? if want waste money its the state money i guess?

Anyway penang state have already spent rm300mil for the ‘feasibility study’ of the undersea tunnel and they found that its too expensive to build the tunnel, that is why they are proposing to turn it to a 3rd bridge.

Just so you know, the 3rd bridge is a major infrastructure project and it would need the federal govt approval. And its funny that the Penang govt just sent a piece of letter for seeking that approval without any accompanying documents? So its not weird that KKR is asking for more documents. Even if you wanna renew roadtax also you gotta bring some supporting document, and a multi billion ringgit bridge does not need any? Now thats weird.

• I don’t support the current federal government, but your comment is really stupid.

Please research your facts before typing away. This is state-financed project through land swap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
    • Dude. U just shot ur own team again. walauweh! Again this month ur trooper pay kena cut. Have to eat Massimo everyday again!

• Dafuq, the second bridge also not many ppl use.

• Syed Putra on Jun 14, 2016 at 4:09 pm

Second bridge wrong location. Koh tsu koon wanted a bridge/tunnel where current state gomen planning to build, but badawi decided to build south where there is no traffic.

• Kunta Kinte on Jun 13, 2016 at 4:01 pm

Both the kerajaan Penang and Federal government are stupid. People in malaysia are suffering with basic cost of living and you want to build billion dollar bridge?

• Operation Manager on Jun 13, 2016 at 4:03 pm

show what PENANG govt capable, be toll FREE, pls…

• It was expressed by current Penang State Government, please read the news in following link:

http://www.nst.com.my/news/2016/05/147346/penang-govt-federal-please-let-us-build-third-bridge

• freetoll on Jun 13, 2016 at 7:38 pm

The FG are so scared with the word “Toll Free”, if they approve, then the 1st bridge and the 2nd concessionaires would go bust as less people will use that bridge anymore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
      • Anonymous on Jun 13, 2016 at 8:14 pm

If most traffic goes to the toll free bridge… it will create high volume of traffic thus a congestion… then people will still use the tolled bridge to escape from the congestion. People are funny that way. But I doubt it will be toll free anyway. BTW… bridges do not ease, reduce congestion… it creates more traffic to enter thus add on to the congestion…only public transportation does reduces traffic congestion

• Syed Putra on Jun 14, 2016 at 4:11 pm

They can build a mrt track underneath the road bridge like in hong kong, or alongside the road tunnel.

• taboogen on Jun 13, 2016 at 4:03 pm

projek dont even start gone RM305Mil.. samalah ko cakap dia.. dia cakap ko.. bodoh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
  • read more Kunta Kinte. Left or Right they are all scraping money. LGE wants undersea tunnel, Federal open to 3rd bridge idea

• Gov actually dun need the 3rd bridge yet cuz just open 2nd bridge. Its just LGE wanna topkek BN cuz he got no mega project to leave his legacy.

Well, its either a bridge/tunnel/whatever or taman manggis, I guess.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 9
      • shame_loo on Jun 13, 2016 at 8:20 pm

Are you sure? I was commuting everyday with 2nd bridge after work and I can tell you that the bridge is like ghost bridge. You can drive >200km/hr easily, if you want. Most of the traffics and most crowded area are at the north of Island and main land. 2nd bridge is basically useless.

• Just goes to show that u din see “yet” after “3rd bridge” eh?

Of course theres nobody yet. Volume needs time to pickup and for those commuting to/fro mainland and island, this is a better option cuz, like u said, no jam.

But once the volume is there like 1st bridge, then a 3rd wud be needed, dun u agree?

• The 2nd Bridge is waiting for the development of batu kawan and was build by the federal goverment.

The real traffic is coming from the northern side which is to SG. Dua, Kulim,Prai, BM and beyond.

The First bridge is closer to those people that is going to town or ftz to work.

So the question of 2nd bridge hardly being used is just plain dumb because it didnt address the real issue which is the northern flow of traffic daily

• If I coming from south (SG,KL,etc) I wud use the 2nd bridge cuz I can enter island much earlier. Thats the reason its built south.

• It is not useless. Your argument is same like when the G want to build the 1st Penang Bridge, and then now you can see how congest is the 1st Penang bridge. Yes it is true that now not so many people use the 2nd bridge, like how the Maju Expressway before. But now if you are one of the frequent traveller between KL and Putrajaya, you will know how congest it Maju Expressway is.

• A tunnel or a bridge?

Can we first ask the question of whether it is needed?
    The second bridge is hardly being used.
    Don’t forget there is still the ferry service also.

I would prefer the development of Butterworth rather than another bridge. The island is a UNESCO site, there is only this much more you could develop and the land price is already super high.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • takNakP1 on Jun 13, 2016 at 4:42 pm

please. the ferry is a joke. u will nvr know how long you have to wait and take to reach the island.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
      • I have actually tried recently. It wasn’t so bad coming from the island to mainland. You could endup stucked on the bridge longer if there is an accident.

What I am saying is that it is another means of transport. Some upgrading work maybe a cheaper and viable solution.

And improved public transport between the mainland and island with proper connecting could avoid vehicle with single passenger traveling.

• Annoynimouse on Jun 13, 2016 at 4:51 pm

The use of the 2nd bridge is now increasing since the Bayan Lepas expressway is opened.

• Kupang Boy on Jun 13, 2016 at 4:54 pm

It is indeed needed. Act late and we will face similar traffic jam horror as in in the case of the first penang bridge.

• penang lang on Jun 14, 2016 at 8:48 am

the 2nd bridge is hardly being used because the mainland site is hardy developed. Now the bridge is done, it will trigger the development, then bring the users..

• pengayuhbasikal on Jun 13, 2016 at 4:40 pm

train system from butterworth to penang via tunnel…passenger only or with vehicle like Eurotunnel…with sea level rising every year…dont know how the ship will pass below both bridge….

• Kupang Boy on Jun 13, 2016 at 4:58 pm

Yep. A tunnel with both road and rail and an underwater RnR in between with transparent walls and ceilings. Will be a massive attraction.

• Yokohama24 on Jun 15, 2016 at 9:55 am

transparent walls? glass you mean? it will cost a bomb to do that. what if accidents happen? some one crashed on the wall/glass, everybody in the tunnel will be drowned. Although that idea would be cool but it may not be practical.

• takNakP1 on Jun 13, 2016 at 4:41 pm

2nd bridge is to encourage southern region development which was planned like more than a decode ago.

3rd bridge is meant for norther region development and will definitely ease a lot of traffic from the first bridge.

the question is y the suddenly open to 3rd bridge idea? most likely they don’t want to lost their piece of cake to the tunnel.

• james on Jun 13, 2016 at 4:59 pm

2nd bridge didn’t help 1st bridge traffic..it’s just good for property developer to hijack home price @ batu kawan and to keep GLC profitable…

i still think there is a need for a link to to Georgetown rather than Batu Maung

• BestBud on Jun 13, 2016 at 5:00 pm

How about just land reclaimation the whole sea? Solve the matter once and for all…. whats with all the bridges?

• drMpower on Jun 13, 2016 at 5:05 pm

i have been shooting up the idea on u bring people into the island, not the vehicles.
    and u mobilise them efficiently in the island.
    if another bridge, means another multiple volumes of vehicles going into penang. and still congest.

if like this even 100 bridge also not enough

• james on Jun 13, 2016 at 6:31 pm

u have the right thinking.. transport infrastructure is stil poor @ penang .. penang LRT/MRT plan rejected by federal gov… if would like to implement your idea..needs to connected all the dots in penang first, then people will choose public transport else your idea is useless…

• Crasher7 on Jun 13, 2016 at 9:46 pm

As a Penangite, I strongly believes that Penang needs a good rail public transport system, not another bridge or tunnel.

• najib lim on Jun 14, 2016 at 8:14 am

Lim, please return the 300mill to Penang gov.
    Najib, please return the 2.6bill to federal gov, get back power asset that has been sold to China, fix 42billion 1MD debt and resign.

• 4G63T DSM on Jun 14, 2016 at 8:25 am

They don’t need a 3rd bridge if they made a double decker 2nd bridge with rail transport.

• palon on Jun 14, 2016 at 8:49 am

305mil for only feasibility study..what the..xxxx