2016 Yamaha MT-09 Tracer in Malaysia – RM59,900

2017 Yamaha MT-09 Tracker - 41

The 2016 Yamaha MT-09 Tracer has arrived on Malaysian shores at a price of RM59,900. This light dual-purpose styled sports-tourer has been gaining accolades from the press and riders overseas and local riders were awaiting news of its local release.

Powered by an 849 cc three-cylinder DOHC 12-valve liquid-cooled inline engine driving a six-speed gearbox, the 2016 Yamaha MT-09 Tracer complements the standard Yamaha MT-09 (RM44,653). Standard on the MT-09 Tracer are ABS and traction control, along with the upright position of a dual-purpose and different bodywork.

Producing 113 hp at 10,000 rpm and 93 Nm torque at 8,500, the MT-09 Tracer is setup as a distance tourer with the added capability fo being docile enough as a daily rider. Weighing in at approximately 190 kg dry, the Tracer comes equipped with an 18-litre fuel tank, which gives it a respectable range.

Coming only in Race Blu for the Malaysian market, the 2016 Yamaha MT-09 is expected to hit selected authorised Yamaha dealers in mid-July at a price of RM59,900 excluding GST, road tax, insurance and number plates. A full range of accessories is available for the MT-09 Tracer, but it is not known which, if any, that local distributor Hong Leong Yamaha Malaysia will be bringing in.

Local rivals to the 2016 Yamaha MT-09 Tracer include the MV Agusta Stradale at RM99,917, the Triumph XRx at RM66,900, the Ducati Hyperstrada at RM74,999 and the BMW Motorrad F800 GS at RM61,900.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• donno on Jul 01, 2016 at 6:27 pm

The tracer for rm60k?? No. I was expecting it to be around rm50k mark. At that price, I would go for the BMW F800GS for just a little bit more.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 5
    • Perhaps its still cbu now and ckd will be available down the line?Mr. Mohan can help to clarify?

Cbu mt09 was quite pricey as well.around 52k if not mistaken

• donno on Jul 02, 2016 at 12:16 am

This is definitely a Ckd. The cbu was about rm80k. A 15k premium over the normal Ckd Mt-09 is too much. Lots of people (including me) waiting eagerly for this is surely going for the bmw f800gs instead. Let see if the Mt-07 tracer would be more realistically priced.

• Its too expensive then.yes bmw is a better choice at that price.go for it man

• Jimmy on Jul 26, 2016 at 2:54 pm

Brom this is a CBU version. Confirmed with Yamaha and other dealers. CKD target early 2017

• The 800 GS is heavier, less powerful & doesn’t sound good at all. and IMO ugly as well.

• UMW Ruined Toyota Lexus on Jul 02, 2016 at 12:45 pm

Bro, if you want to below RM50k just wait for Yamaha Tracer 700, Yamaha Tracer 700 just release in this year, same chassis and engine with Yamaha MT-07.

• Kak Timah on Jul 02, 2016 at 6:33 am

To be honest, i think the price is quite competitive. Please don’t compare with ckd MT09. The standard mt-09 quite basic, It doesn’t comes with Abs and traction control, I think (mr. Mohan Please clarify). The additional item that was put is a lot compare to itu naked sibling. This bike got excellent overall review back in europe. And please never compare with the boring F800gs. With its parallel twin engine, that bike got no soul whatsoever, only the brand BMW Motorrad that people chasing for.

• obviously cbu. cbu mt09 also expensive. last time i surveyed coz planning wanted to buy mt09, started seeing at ah hong motor, rm69k (not launched yet, grey import) cbu, then becomes lower to 54k (launched price cbu). later at the time gst implemented, yamaha reduced to 44k (launched price ckd).

as of this, expect ckd to be 10k below.

• nagato on Jul 02, 2016 at 8:23 am

I always wonder, do riders in Malaysia start off with big bikes like this as soon as they achieve their B full license, though they had no prior experience?

• Pak Mat Tempe on Jul 02, 2016 at 9:52 pm

To be honest, I think the price of RM60k is quite competitive. Just looking at the spec given for this model. And please do not compare with standard naked ckd MT-09. It doesn’t have abs and traction control, hence justifying the slightly lower price.
    And please don’t compare with BMW F800GS. That parallel twin engine doesn’t have soul as compare to CPS3 in this bike. And different category as well. Most people in Malaysia buying F800GS is either buying for the brand name or doesn’t have enough budget to go for 1200GS.

• Gsx1000f at Rm75k
    Versys1000 at Rm76k

• Rider Kampung on Jul 04, 2016 at 11:22 pm

My two friends owned a 2016 ckd MT-09 it have traction control n abs.This CBU MT09 tracer (basic selling price) 59,900 previously grey imported price for MT09 Tracer is around 70-80k(can look at mudah.com) so waiting for CKD MT-09 Tracer n XV950R Bolt shud be less around 10k against CBU model.Tempting….may b by this year end as HLY announce before when yhey launched the MT09 CKD last year together with Bold.Can anybody clarify TQ

• Zaifuddin on Jul 12, 2016 at 11:33 am

I wish it come with Red color like in UK. I used to have FZ150i Red color then trade-in with CB500X also Red and I wish to own Tracer 900 also in Red color, hope HLY made it happen…

• shams on Jul 18, 2016 at 1:13 am

which dealer sell red color?

• shams on Jul 18, 2016 at 1:14 am

i looking for red color…

• Maybe the ABS and traction control will be removed for CKD version to reduce the cost.

• Asyraf on Jul 28, 2016 at 9:02 pm

Extra RM12K for touring build, ABS and traction control? Previous grey import was RM69K, while this one RM60K excluding OTR and GST, the asking price is too much for me O.O

• EA.59 on Sep 15, 2016 at 4:09 pm

I think for MT09-Tracer if HLY decide to do with CKD they should maintain with all the safety features. Should be same features with CBU. Any big bike buyer either new or OTAI will see safety features 1st than goes the rest gradually with other specs before buying big CC machine. friendly opinion

• limtzechuan on Sep 17, 2016 at 11:04 am

where can i buy it?

• M Karthik on Apr 06, 2017 at 6:55 am

According to one of dealer at Seremban the MT 09 tracer 2017 only available on coming July or August but they nt sure about the specs. Hope they maintain the CBU specs else nt gonna buy it. HLY- Dnt ignore ABS and other features on Tracer 2017. We are looking for perfect Bike interm of Safety, Power and Realiable.Thanks.

• Roy Tan on May 17, 2017 at 11:36 am

Got news from one of the dealer in Penang, the CKD MT-09 Tracer will be available around July – Sep time frame. The specs will be the same as CBU unit which equip with TC and ABS. I agree with Karthik, nowadays all riders are looking for perfect bike in terms of safety, power and reliable. So hopefully this is not a rumors that CKD is equipment with TC and ABS.

• Fauzi on Oct 09, 2017 at 2:43 pm

I really hope Tracer 700 will be on display this coming Sepang MotoGP. Please, please, please..