Audi R8 tuned by Underground Racing to 2,200 hp!

r8-plus-shoot-tmpl-02

As we all know, the 2017 Audi R8 is obviously an underpowered car. Even in top V10 plus guise, Ingolstadt’s finest produces just 601 hp from its 5.2 litre naturally-aspirated V10. But don’t worry, because Underground Racing has come up with a range of twin-turbo kits that will push outputs to stratospheric heights.

Those who want just a little bit of boost can opt for the Base Twin Turbo System that bumps power to 800 whp on high-octane petrol available at the pumps. Yes, that’s horsepower measured at the wheels – instead of at the crank – and with stock engine internals, too! The price of the kit is US$49,000 (RM196,200) including installation, on top of the price of an actual R8 V10 plus.

Not enough? The US$59,000 (RM236,300) Stage 1 Twin Turbo System raises peak power to a heady 900 whp on race fuel, while the US$69,000 (RM276,300) Stage 2 kit brings it up to 850 whp on high-octane petrol and a round 1,000 whp on race fuel.

r8-plus-shoot-tmpl-03

From there, Underground Racing will need to make modifications to the engine itself to make more power, with the US$99,000 (RM396,400) Stage 3 kit pushing out 1,000 whp on high-octane petrol alone, and 1,250 whp on race fuel. Next comes the Race Version that cranks power up to 1,150 whp on high-octane petrol and 1,500 whp on race fuel.

But it’s the X Version kit that takes the cake – the heavily-modified engine churns out 1,200 whp on regular high-octane petrol, and an astonishing race fuel figure of over 2,200 whp! It’s no wonder that Underground Racing says that the experience of driving its modified Audi R8 V10 plus is “something that should only be experienced, not explained.”

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Kunta Kinte on Jul 05, 2016 at 5:22 pm

Proton should ask them to tune the Perdana cause our Ministers already said, Proton is at par or BETTER than BMW and Volvo.

So, Proton CEO should ask Polestar, Alpina or Underground Racing to tune the Perdana.

After all Proton CEO already said the car is prestige and probably implies it is same ranks as Bentley and Rolls Royce. Might as well now say our Perdana same like Ferrari and Porsche after tuning!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 9
    • Agreement signed between Honda and Proton won’t allowed for any engine or chassis tunings. Hence, the very similar feel of driving an Accord when you are in the Perdana. Was hoping Proton could at least improve the sound insulation though…

• Dato Vida on Jul 05, 2016 at 5:59 pm

Can it compete with my son’s Veyron?

• Average_Joe on Jul 06, 2016 at 2:10 am

price wise cannot complete la but power wise bungkus your son’s veyron for breakfast, lunch, hi-tea, dinner, supper.

• Why get old model Veyron? Surely you can afford the new Chiron, right?

• sleeper r8 UR, i loike….

• Abg Ajis on Jul 06, 2016 at 5:15 am

Of course my dear Vida , your son’s veyron only 1000 hp , perdana after tune by Underground Racing more than 1500 hp , easy to tapau your son’s veyron ( makan asap maaa )

• Bernard on Jul 07, 2016 at 10:06 pm

Here in bolehland powerful means perodua Axia and msians feel by driving that , they have a powerful car:)