2016 Honda Accord Hybrid officially launched in Thailand – Honda Sensing safety suite, from RM193k

2016 Honda Accord Hybrid Thailand launch 1

Honda Thailand has officially launched the new Honda Accord Hybrid, a few months after the refreshed model made its global debut back in April. Two variants are offered to Thai customers – 2.0 Hybrid and 2.0 Hybrid Tech – priced at 1,659,000 baht (RM192,691) and 1,849,000 baht (RM214,782), respectively.

The hybrid powertrain here consist of a revised 2.0 litre four-cylinder i-VTEC Atkinson-cycle petrol engine that develops 145 hp and 175 Nm. This is boosted by new electric motors for the car’s two-motor i-MMD hybrid system, powered by a 1.3 kWh lithium-ion battery pack, with a maximum output of 184 hp and 315 Nm. Overall, the total system output available is 215 hp, with power sent through an E-CVT. The powertrain also comes with four operating modes.

In “Hybrid Drive” mode, the petrol engine powers a second motor/generator to recharge the more compact lithium ion battery pack, while an electric propulsion motor actually drives the wheels. “Engine Drive” mode brings the combustion engine into play, using a lock-up clutch mechanism to connect the engine and propulsion motor, the front wheels are driven by both the motor and petrol engine.

Moving on, there’s “EV Drive” mode, which allows for all-electric driving for short distances (engine switched off) up to maximum top speed of 120 km/h. For those more concerned about a sporty drive rather than fuel efficiency, there is “Sport Drive Mode.”

2016 Honda Accord Hybrid Thailand launch 2

Visually, the new model adopts the same exterior updates as the facelifted Accord. However, the Accord Hybrid gets model-specific badges on its body, different wheels and blue accents on the LED headlamps and tail lamps. Four colours are offered – Grey Modern Steel, Lunar Silver, White Orchid Pearl and Black Crystal Pearl, with the last two costing a little more.

Similar to the exterior, the Accord Hybrid gains the same trim and equipment upgrades as the facelifted non-hybrid Accord. Standard kit include eight-way power seats (with memory), push start, 7.7-inch multi-info display, electronic parking brake and 7-inch touchscreen audio with Apple CarPlay, MirrorLink for smartphones and WiFi hotspot.

A new addition to the cabin is the “EV Mode” button, which is located on the right side of the centre console. Customers will also have a choice of three interior colours, depending on the exterior paint chosen – beige, black and brown.

2016 Honda Accord Hybrid Thailand launch 3

As for safety, the Honda Sensing suite is only available on the range-topping 2.0 Hybrid Tech. The suite includes Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC), Collission Mitigation Braking System (CMBS), Road Departure Mitigation (RDM) with Lane Departure Warning (LDW) and Lane Keeping Assist System.

In terms of warranty, Honda Thailand provides a 10-year warranty on the battery and a 5-year warranty on the entire Honda Hybrid system with no limit on mileage. Additionally, the company is also offering a limited-time Privilege Package to extend the warranty period of the car for an additional two years or 40,000 km, which means total coverage of five years or 140,000 km. Also provided is a five-year or 100,000 km free maintenance package for customers who buy a new Honda Accord Hybrid.

With the launch of the new Accord Hybrid in Thailand, would you want Honda Malaysia to introduce the new Accord Hybrid here as an alternative to the Toyota Camry Hybrid?

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Goldie on Jul 28, 2016 at 4:18 pm

Competition will bring progress and better deal. Current Camry Hybrid is pretty basic, choose EV, eco or sports, then drive like ordinary car, no fancy tech. So Accord Hybrid will be very interesting. However, I am not a big fan for automatic braking, lane departure warning and so. Prefer drivers to be alert and in full control all times. BTW driving in Malaysia, LDW will be constantly bleeping.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 20
    • When this comes to Malaysia, Camry can only shiok sendiri

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 4
    • Better spend 200K for 2 Perdana.

Nicer looks yet superior ride and also performance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 24
      • kadajawi (Member) on Jul 28, 2016 at 9:53 pm

Superior ride? Proton wasn’t allowed to change anything. If they were, then perhaps the ride would be better, it would handle better… but in the end it’s just the old Accord in a nice dress.

• kadajawi (Member) on Jul 28, 2016 at 9:52 pm

I’m alert when driving, but still use these systems. It doesn’t make me pay less attention.

In fact, I find that since the car takes over most of the work, I can drive longer without being exhausted, thus I can pay more attention. I can also estimate when the car needs help.

Plus it’s a fact that the computer can often react faster than humans do, especially when there are sudden changes. Humans are usually better at predictable events (though that depends on how good the radar is… and I don’t trust those purely camera based systems), but computers care good at sudden changes where reaction time matters.

• Goldie on Jul 30, 2016 at 4:57 pm

Interesting point. Techs are good for highway driving. How about city driving with motorcycles constantly weaving left and right in front of you? Collision avoidance system will keep applying brakes? I have not driven a car with these system. Will be interested to try. So far blind spot and cross traffic monitors had been helpful but I still turn my head to look back more often than looking at the reverse camera. Maybe too old to adapt. Will definitely try it out if Honda Malaysia bring it in. When Accords are equipped with such good techs, people will demand the same for Camry = progress.

• Junk.

• DPCraft on Jul 28, 2016 at 4:37 pm

The new rims, the variants of leather color, honda sensing and the superb power from a 2.0l Na engine……wow. If come to m’sia with all the specs and price correctly. the end of camry hybrid.

• I wondering about the feasibility of an Accord hybrid here. Because it’ll slot above RM200k without that fancy EEV thingy the government mandated and as much as a Honda guy I am, that’s really expensive for a D-segment car(judging by complaints from the Mazda 6 Diesel launch article). Than again traditionally there was always a post RM200k accord in the catalogs, the Accord V6 and this may serve as a replacement for that For flagship status. But how much can Honda differentiate the top petrol 2.4 with the hybrid to justify the price increase apart from the fancy power train.

Also interestingly, the hybrid dosent have a traditional electric motor as the engine is coupled to the motor only at higher speed serving as the 6th gear of the car. The motor does most of the propulsion. The only other car with that tech is the multi-million RM/£/€ Koenigsegg Regera thou that obviously is a lot more potent than the accord set up.

• kzm (Member) on Jul 28, 2016 at 6:04 pm

EEV thingy?

• Energy Efficient vehicles Incentive, which in my eyes is not really an incentive as there’s no clear written direction and rather feels like a fancy word for I-help-you-you-help-me scheme.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
        • crash on Jul 28, 2016 at 10:42 pm

This is different. All CKD hybrid car has excise duty exemptions like Camry Hybrid, Merc S400h and E300H. EEV is just for normal cars that the government consider as fuel efficient. Thats all.

• That is if it’s CKD, and that offer is being only extended until the end of this year. For Honda to set up tooling and manufecturing line for the Accord Hybrid, it won’t be ready until at the very least next year(no expert here, but just by judging the complexity of the accord I-MMD power train and the time it took Toyota to set up its own Camry hybrid production). Other methode to remain the car below the RM200k mark would be the Government scepticism EEV incentive….. Which never state anything about tax exempted, just “customise incentive” stuff.

Do note that Honda abandoned CKD manufecturing of the new City and Jazz hybrid did not only to the government incompetence, but just the problem plague by the drivetrain. The I-MMD is a much more rudimentary set up compared to the I-DCD of the JDMs Grace and fit.

• Not makes any difference for customer if they CKD it and got EEV status. Unless you go buy the XC90 and X5 hybrid, if you know what I mean. They prefer to keep the $$ from EEV insentive

• If the hybrid incentive still apply they can actually just replace the 2.4 with the hybrid much like Toyota’s method. Thou I am sceptical of that happening. Toyota’s ability to do so is because there is no other model sharing the power train with the Camry 2.5. I believe the Previa and the Alphard does but that is CBU. The top Accord shares its 2.4 with the CRV and by cutting down demand of the 2.4 R24 engine, demand will shrink and price of the CRV 2.4 will increase. Higher production does contribute to lower cost.

• If we go by MY camry hybrid is Rm10k more expensive than highest range camry, then MY accord shud be around Rm182k. This means tomyamland accord hybrid is Rm11k more expensive than MY projected price.

Ini tabouleh! How can glorious tomyam be more expensive than Zimbabwe MY! Ini mesti semua salah NajibBNGovP1Tongkat…. oh wai

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
    • Tats coz camry hybrid is tagged as ckd.. will accord hybrid b ckd or cbu?
      And how long they will giv d exemption for ckd hybrid?

• Hondas typically have higher chance of being CKDed in MY. U just compare the CKD models for toyota vs honda.

• If the camry hybrid is tagged as CKD, how come it is more expensive then the non-hybrid ckd. Mind you the EEV incentive did not given to the specific brand, it apply to all. How come BMW X5 hybrid cheaper then non-hybrid here, not to mention XC90. But what UMW do is vise versa. Extra $$ for themself? Hoping honda will follow Volvo and BMW for this hybrid if CKD it.

• Ah Kai on Jul 29, 2016 at 12:29 am

Did you guys watch the video? I heard the narrator said in the beginning “Honda Accord Hybrid mari..”…LOL

• thepolygonal on Jul 29, 2016 at 9:42 am

Waiting for plugin hybrid instead and hopefully in a smaller daily drive car.

• Dok sajo on Jul 29, 2016 at 10:19 am

As usual, toyota is always better than honda

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
  • if Honda malaysia consider this model to be assemblied in Melaka then should manage to get eev and more attractive price..

• paparadzi (Member) on Jul 29, 2016 at 2:25 pm

The Honda Accord Hybrid will be a good alternative to the Camry Hybrid. If Honda keeps all the niceties then it will be a winner.

• Honda Sense-less on Jul 29, 2016 at 3:31 pm

I’m more concerned about the slew of technologies available in the Accord Hybrid: Honda sense. Active Cruise Control allows following the speed of the vehicle in front, Road Departure Mitigation allows lane keeping and Collision Mitigation Braking system will apply brakes for you. To me, this will lull the driver into a false sense of security ie. the driver will even try to “drive” when sleepy or drunk. Some drivers will even be tempted to shift to the passenger seat or worse even the back seat to sleep on the highway! If you think this never happened, try to google the guy in US who was driving his Infinity Q50, set the active cruise control and jumped into the passenger seat.

• Goldie on Jul 30, 2016 at 5:09 pm

Don’t worry. The car Does not drive itself. The systems are there to give warning: buzzer and flashing lights, and in case of collision avoidance, slow down and brake if necessary. Perhaps they can add in a driver monitor, in case the driver’s eyes are no longer looking ahead or are shut, will shake the steering wheel and emits loud buzzer to wake the driver up.

• Not a Toyota here on Jul 30, 2016 at 4:31 pm

Will the AIRBAG kills you?