Taxi drivers threaten six-day protest against SPAD’s move to legalise ride-sharing services like Uber, Grab

Taxi protest KL 8 April 2016 feat 1

Following the Land Public Transport Commission’s (SPAD) move to legalise ride-sharing services like Uber and Grab, taxi drivers have threatened to protest for six consecutive days, in a report by The Malay Mail.

Malaysian Taxi Drivers’ Transformation Association (PERS1M) president, Kamaruddin Mohd Hussain said taxi drivers are unhappy that the government has decided to allow the commission to regulate the ride-sharing services that is claimed to affect their livelihoods.

“The date (of the protest) has yet to be determined but it will take place. Tensions between taxi drivers and the ride-hailing services continue to escalate. The goal of the strike is to show the government that the taxi industry is suffering because of the unfair playing field,” Kamaruddin told The New Sunday Times.

Taxi Drivers Protest Against GrabCar 6

Aside from “losing their business” to these services, taxi drivers also stated that they are unable to compete because they are bounded by licensing and regulatory requirements set by the commission.

However, the regulation of ride-sharing services will also be met by the deregulation of the traditional taxi industry, which will see fewer restrictions in like the public service vehicle (PSV) license.

Protests by taxi drivers over the matter have previously resulted in massive congestion in Kuala Lumpur as well as in Penang, as they attempt to make their voices heard. Furthermore, taxi drivers have said that they will continue abusing drivers working for these ride-hailing services.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• barney on Aug 15, 2016 at 9:49 am

Great! They should like hold protest forever and let Uber and Grab take over.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 175 Thumb down 1
    • They should hate the gomen they vote

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 12
      • Why wud they hate the Party Hard that they voted?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
        • Same L00 on Aug 15, 2016 at 4:05 pm

Go protest at Putrajaya lar I dare them. May be they will get 1Malaysia Teksi allowance from Jib.

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Aug 15, 2016 at 12:26 pm

You mean under market value govt…

• I breakup with my ex-gf because her dad becoming a taxi driver. Also because i am a Uber driver. Everytime gave me the angry face is like i owe him lots of money, instead i earning more than he does. LOL

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 1
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on Aug 15, 2016 at 12:23 pm

Alamak…how to go to epot like this…got train and bus maaa…thank god…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on Aug 15, 2016 at 12:26 pm

If uber and grab drivers can charge under market value…then taxi drivers can do the same orso..in this case under market value is acceptable and should be encouraged as long penumpang wins…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
      • If taxi drivers can charge over market value and not called it overpriced, then better give donations to SPAD to avoid licensing and regulatory fees to increase their market value

• Can only protest on Aug 15, 2016 at 9:51 am

In other countries, when taxi services go on strike, it creates enough chaos that public outcry will help the strikers to get what they want.
    In Malaysia, Taxi go on strike nobody cares. That’s why need to protest. And when they protest, the public hates them even more. It’s just a downward spiral from here on out.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 136 Thumb down 4
    • Yokohama24 on Aug 15, 2016 at 10:46 am

While all these hooligans are protesting, GRAB/UBER drivers syok syok sweeping all the customers around KL.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 1
    • Andrekua on Aug 15, 2016 at 7:09 pm

Depends. Some country really have good taxi services like Taiwan. If our taxi drivers are more courteous, don’t cheat or fix rate then maybe I also support their strike.

I think public had enough with local taxi drivers attitude.

• uber ftw on Aug 15, 2016 at 9:51 am

the taxi drivers can complain and hooha all they want…the fact is they are a bunch of conmans who don’t wanna adapt to current situation

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 1
  • Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Aug 15, 2016 at 9:52 am

Para pengguna tak takut langsung dengan ancaman PERS1M. Kami akan memperjuangkan hak kami untuk menggunakan Grab dan Uber sehingga titisan darah terakhir.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 122 Thumb down 1
  • Pathetic!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • mikasa on Aug 15, 2016 at 9:58 am

Enough free publicity for uber and grab car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • kumar on Aug 15, 2016 at 9:58 am

same old same old.

• AP Taxi King Siapa on Aug 15, 2016 at 9:59 am

Siapa menteri ada Taxi Permit AP… kaki sudah bergoyang. Rezeki akan lesap…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 0
  • auntie on Aug 15, 2016 at 10:04 am

more illegal roadblock in kl after this.. haiyaa

• kanazai2001 on Aug 15, 2016 at 11:36 am

who care?!
      i have downgraded to kapchai dy since GST implemented!!!
      where ever they wan 2 block, go ahead… it wont hav much effect on my HONDA EX5!!! (Y)

• auntie on Aug 15, 2016 at 5:40 pm

work harder la earn extra money… bolo punya olang..

no more reply… auntie manyak sibuk..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • Justice on Aug 15, 2016 at 10:10 am

Way to go taxi drivers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
  • Bogus Taxi V2 on Aug 15, 2016 at 10:23 am

If the taxi don’t want to improve let them die slowly…later on sure the will find another job.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 1
  • nabill (Member) on Aug 15, 2016 at 10:29 am

Good, please go n protest either in Putrajaya or infront of Parliament… Dont disturb our daily lives….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 4
  • Bunch of idiots. Should have go on strike against their permit “masters” who charged them ridiculous rentals. Bodoh dan sombong.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 4
  • Dear taxi drive, if u scared to compete with ride sharing services, improve your attitude. Some of u being rude and like a gangster which a big turn off. Not to mention being racist too.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 4
  • Grow up you imbeciles. Creating more road blocks meaning you are giving away your customers to Grab and Uber drivers. Seriously, I could give everyone of you (Taxi drivers) a mirror to look at yourself.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • Yokohama24 on Aug 15, 2016 at 10:42 am

They have been bullying customers all these while, recently attacking UBER/GRAB, and now the threaten the Gomen. DUHHHHH isn’t it obvious enough that your taxi services isn’t good enough? Instead of causing mass traffic congestion, you all should really use the time to reflect on yourselves. Ask yourself why all these could happen? Fix yourselves first!
    Bunch of gansters wasting people’s time causing jam and only know how to con people’s money. Serve you right! Karma has come.

(Again only referring to gangster taxi drivers. Not all taxi drivers con people money.)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 2
  • C. P. MOHAN on Aug 15, 2016 at 10:51 am

If these jokers gonna strike than withdraw their licence after all by striking cannot hire and presume one of the issuance requirements.

• James Hakim on Aug 15, 2016 at 10:53 am

piece of crap protestor…go demo at minister office dude! who give approval etc, dont make our road difficult…with your poor service, rudeness, who going to ‘selamatkan taxi’? btw, ppl be known your behavior, they will choose uber/grab…even some taxi also join grab…go protest more, u still have to pay to minister ap…

• Hamlo on Aug 15, 2016 at 10:55 am

Furthermore, taxi drivers have said that they will continue abusing drivers working for these ride-hailing services.

I AM THE PUNISHER

Taxi1m Abdul Hamlo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
  • wendy on Aug 15, 2016 at 10:55 am

pity all the good taxi driver, only 5% from the majority conman, now is UBER/Grabcar time, very convenient for all, look at the Taxi now, the smell makes me wanna vomit, very terrible, I rather walk than ride with them.

• Arteu32 on Aug 15, 2016 at 10:59 am

What to do when cabbies are on strike? Wait for the uber to come pick u up…

• 6 days should be enough for them to lose their taxi business right?

• Gua sudah tension, lol

• david on Aug 15, 2016 at 11:07 am

though i support uber/grab
    but think of it.. if taxi industry die, then uber and grab has monopoly, and they charge whatever they want. now cheap, later expensive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 19
    • This is the reason why the taxi industry needs to be deregulated. Let the drivers be the taxi owners, to enable better continuous competition.

• madcat on Aug 15, 2016 at 1:41 pm

U think Uber n Grabcar are buddy buddy? No taxi..they fight each other la…bloody kiasu mentality….why do you think you are enjoying discount n special rate?

• kereta_lembu on Aug 15, 2016 at 11:18 am

“The goal of the strike is to show the government that the taxi industry is suffering because of the unfair playing field,”

HAHAHAHAHA…and how is over charging customers and providing below par services fair?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
  • sohai on Aug 15, 2016 at 12:11 pm

Yup, please grant them a stadium venue to do the protest. Just don’t block the traffic.
    Is ok if they don’t resume service for eternity. They have no leverage. Nobody cares about rubbish services.

• Nazri AP king on Aug 15, 2016 at 12:15 pm

It’s weird why they don’t want to change? they can fight with introducing new taxi concept, new strategy, creative marketing and good attitude… they should fight with improving the taxi services with new strategy not threaten the public or government!!. As always what they want is spoon-feed…very sian lor.

• Bernard on Aug 15, 2016 at 12:16 pm

“Furthermore, taxi drivers have said that they will continue abusing drivers working for these ride-hailing services”. This is clearly a threat. The police should arrest them immediately.

They can be arrested for public nuisance as well.

• Last Friday as i was walking along Taxi waiting lane at pyramid shopping center. I saw taxi driver negotiating price with a foreigner, then walk off. Culture never change ~

• Customer on Aug 15, 2016 at 12:24 pm

Please protest forever. Thank you. I will continue to ride in Uber n Grab :)

• last week I took grab from klcc to zouk. cost me rm7.. my friend took taxi and the driver asked for rm30 =_=|||

• It’s time to cull these taxi drivers with gansterism ties.
    Everyone should do their duty to record report any incident cause by these people if they still threaten other legal public services.

• Kaliloe on Aug 15, 2016 at 1:16 pm

Revoke license of taxi who protest n refuse to drive

• Francis Lim on Aug 15, 2016 at 1:41 pm

You fools! If you cannot fight them then join them. You need to eat, right. Idiots!

• Dokgo on Aug 15, 2016 at 2:01 pm

What we need right now are those rogue truck drivers to clear the road for us. Where are they when we need them the most

• Pakulupapito on Aug 15, 2016 at 2:09 pm

Bodoh punya taxi driver. I went to send my brother at the airport and they the start blocking the space to drop the passenger and kicking my car.

• izhar on Aug 15, 2016 at 2:23 pm

They should protest against conmen among taxi drivers

• Selamat passenger, not taxi driver, go ahead to protest, don”t stop it, everyday go to protest, 6 days mana cukup, pergi kasi jalan jamlah, kasi jam seluruh KL, not only pavilion, come putrajaya, i havent see putrajaya jam with taxi, come come come….

• old horse on Aug 15, 2016 at 2:49 pm

now where is the police? already got public threaten of stability of the country…

• hooligan too on Aug 15, 2016 at 2:55 pm

They wanna party? Lets give it to them..throw some good old MOLOTOV COCKTAIL onto their dance floor..kita tengok dorang joget..Nokharrom!!

• Hamzah Syed on Aug 15, 2016 at 3:02 pm

well maybe if some of these taxi drivers hadn’t ripped people off…rob and rape cases then maybe we’d have some faith in these guys… bring on uber baby…..

• David on Aug 15, 2016 at 4:25 pm

Its still the same, taxi company trying to monopolize the industry.

If they wanna help the cab drivers… lower down their daily rental, charge lesser, maintain their car better and punish their drivers if not using valid meter…

Else… its back to the same game from the starts, we customers are looking for efficient, cost effective transportation solutions… u cheat we ciao… straightforward sentiments.

• CukurCukur 1Malaysia on Aug 15, 2016 at 8:45 pm

Hello taxi drivers, go protest and cry-baby in front of your PM Ajib.

Maybe PM Ajib will recommend you to some rich royal Arab Sheikh and they will give you billions of Rm as donation…..solve all your “cari makan” problem. You’ll be rich for generation to come.

Cukur ada Arab Sheikh…..Cukur…..

• Najib says he dun gip a F to Tun cronies. He only wanna liberalise the markets.

• Klateboy on Aug 15, 2016 at 9:43 pm

Please get SPAD to flex its enforcement muscle. If the taxi drivers organize the protest, SPAD needs to take affirmative action by terminating the taxi license and penalize the driver. Their action is clearly against the welfare of the paying customers. These drivers and their taxi company needed to be taught a lesson that hoolinganism doesn’t work here.

• johnlabu on Aug 16, 2016 at 10:59 am

We’re not stupid anymore.

Taxi drivers who do the protest/strike/whateverchaos are being paid by the taxi companies bosses to do so laa…

It’s better to get paid few hundred dollars to protest than to go around searching for passengers who don’t like taxi anymore.

Simply put, those greedy lazy taxi companies millions per month in taxi rentals and permits are badly affected by Uber, Grabcar and other e-hailing companies.

Padan muka to those lazy taxi companies!

• At least capitalize-kan lah semua “SELAMATKAN Pemandu Teksi” tu..