SPYSHOTS: 2016 Chevrolet Colorado facelift in M’sia

chevy-colorado-spy-msia-05

Here are pics of the Malaysian-spec 2016 Chevrolet Colorado on the road, courtesy of reader V.Mohan who noticed the two pick-up trucks parked at the Temerloh R&R area along the Lebuhraya Pantai Timur. Very few would have missed the trade plated duo really – there aren’t many trucks clad in Pull Me Over Red. Yes, that’s the colour’s official name.

While the second-gen facelifted Colorado has not yet been officially launched here, Naza Quest opened order books for the truck yesterday, after previewing it last month. GM’s rival to the Toyota Hilux, Ford Ranger, Mitsubishi Triton and Nissan NP300 Navara made its ASEAN debut in Thailand in April.

With an introductory selling price from RM95,000 (not including road tax and insurance), the 2016 Colorado will be available in three engine guises and in five different variant forms. The engine range starts with a 2.5L Duramax fixed geometry turbocharger (FGT) unit with output remaining at 161 hp and 380 Nm. The unit is paired with a six-speed manual transmission.

chevy-colorado-spy-msia-03

The second engine, new to our market, is an upgraded 2.5 litre Duramax four-cylinder turbodiesel that has been reworked to offer better performance, fuel economy and lower emissions. In terms of output, the variable geometry turbo (VGT) Euro 4 unit is good for 177 hp at 3,600 rpm and 440 Nm at 2,000 rpm. The third motor is the familiar 2.8 litre Duramax, which continues to offer 193 hp and 500 Nm, but now with minor tweaks to enhance NVH.

Inside, the cabin gets a new-look dash and a redesigned centre console, along with a new instrument panel and fresh seat trim, with more soft-touch materials for trim to be found. Highlights include an eight-inch colour touchscreen and a MyLink infotainment system incorporating Apple CarPlay and Android Auto.

Plenty of kit, with auto climate control, LED DRLs, a reverse camera, front/rear parking sensors and a remote engine-start function to be found on higher-spec variants. The latter allows the engine to be started using the key fob, allowing the cabin to be cooled sufficiently before occupants get into the vehicle.

chevy-colorado-spy-msia-04

There’s electric power steering, which helps create a more responsive steering feel, as well as a comfort closing window function. With the latter, the front windows automatically drop a fraction when the doors are opened to facilitate an easier and quieter door closing process by reducing resistance and noise.

Safety kit includes traction control, ESC and dual front/driver’s knee airbags, and the higher-spec configuration models here will be equipped with lane departure warning, frontal collision alert and a tyre pressure monitoring system.

Sound good, but my hunch is those who will consider the refreshed Colorado will do so because of the Chevy’s handsome new face. Very macho. Besides Pull Me Over Red, the other colours are Summit White, Switchblade Silver and Black Meet Kettle (no joke). Another new colour is Blue Mountain.

The Colorado comes with a five-year/200,000 km manufacturer warranty. The first 100 customers for the facelifted truck will be entitled to complimentary three years’ worth of parts and labour services.

GALLERY: 2016 Chevrolet Colorado preview, Naza Automall

GALLERY: 2016 Chevrolet Colorado ASEAN debut

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Silthice on Oct 05, 2016 at 7:20 pm

Love to see the specification comparison with the other brands in table form. Easier to see the difference among them whether in power output, engine capacity, bed size, dimension and etc…

• Kundasang on Oct 06, 2016 at 11:19 am

Best suited for Sabah land terrain.

Many rich public servants there.

• Ex VGM staff on Oct 06, 2016 at 8:04 pm

Why is seremban Chevrolet showroom locked? They don’t have salesman there? No manager? Or company no money? What happened there naza quest? Wake the company up… Auto trade something… Putting shame to Chevy name

• Sam L00 on Oct 07, 2016 at 9:58 am

Toyota Hilux open 24/7

• lowprofile (Member) on Oct 25, 2016 at 2:24 pm

They’re still there and still operating.

Address as follows:
        66B & 67A, Lrg Haruan 5/3 Oakland Commerce Square
        70300 Seremban, NSDK

Tel: 06-6307927

• Good looking but... on Oct 05, 2016 at 7:20 pm

Are there current Colorado owners that can come and share their ownership experience? Especially regarding maintenance and durability. Thanks.

• Mikey on Oct 05, 2016 at 9:33 pm

I must say the Chevy looks the part of a rugged 4WD. The price is comparable in the market in this segment. What’s my main concern is the variable geometry turbo (VGT) are rated only “Euro 4”.

Goodness gracious, this is 2016 la. Most petrol station is already using Euro 5 diesel. M’sian 4×4 motorist are one of the most demanding & knowledgeable bunch of drivers.

U can fool some but U cannot fool most 4×4 drivers. My advice to Chevy is DO NOT Treat M’sian 4X4 Drivers as FOOLS or this will be your worst nightmare.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
    • Aikon on Oct 06, 2016 at 8:20 am

Just curious, would you know if all pick-ups sold here are already at Euro5 level? Do share…

• Mikey on Oct 06, 2016 at 9:44 am

Aikon, can U stick to the subject here ! It is reported on this very article that states this Chevy is rated Euro 4. No need to be curious, just READ the spec B4 buying. Is that too difficult to do !?

• FIST (Member) on Oct 06, 2016 at 10:09 am

Aikon asked a valid question.

Also as you said, the article have clearly stated that the engine is rated Euro 4. what is the problem here…?

• Aikon on Oct 06, 2016 at 2:47 pm

I applaud your knowledge and experience in this matter and hope that you could list which OTHER pick-up brand here IN MALAYSIA uses a Euro5 engine. IMHO there aren’t any (I could be wrong). So, I don’t think it is an issue. And I believe I am within the topic. I am just questioning why you’re making such a big deal whether or not Chevy offers a Euro5 engine where there other brands like Isuzu, Toyota, Mitsubishi Ford etc. aren’t. Are they offering Euro5 engines too in their pick ups? Do prove me wrong and I will gladly accept or you still think I’m off topic then, I have nothing else to say…

• Mikey on Oct 06, 2016 at 10:53 pm

Aikon. On its own(diesel), fuel that has low sulphur levels may not enable an engine to meet the Euro5 emissions standard.

The Engine itself (along with the exhaust system) must also be designed to meet the higher standards of Euro5 diesel.

If the engine was originally designed to meet Euro2/4 standards, the use of Euro5 fuel might not meet the Euro5 emission standard. That is my argument.

Hope you can understand why I’m adamant that car company think they can get away with selling us older engines/transmissions.

Toyota have a direct-injection turbo diesel engines 2.8-liter 1GD-FTV together with Toyota-first urea selective catalyst reduction (SCR) system meet Euro 6 standard.

The newly developed 1GD-FTV is currently available in the new Hilux small pickup truck launched in Thailand in May 2015, and in the partially redesigned Land Cruiser Prado. M’sia will always get these trucks later.

i hope I’ve address at least part of your question. Shalom & Cheers

• Seems like you are the fools one. Even in KL and JB not all petrol station have Euro 5, not to mention East MY. FYI most owner will fill their truck with black nozzle diesel here btw.

• Mikey on Oct 06, 2016 at 10:03 am

Ha ha ha, good comment ali, now i know U do not drive a diesel vehicle. I live in Shah Alam & work in Puchong. My entire journey takes me pass 9 stations & they all selling Euro 5.

“most owner will fill their truck with black nozzle diesel” mention by you are just a figment of your imagination.

No truck drivers will fill what U have mention as it will CLOGGED up the fuel system.

By calling me a fool, U have lost the plot & I’m not going to go to your Level by calling U names.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
        • Sorry bro. I do drive diesel. But not like you who drive between Shah Alam and Puchong, but once in 2 weeks between KL n Lumut. Any fuel station with euro 5 in Sungkai Tg Malim and Lumut? I saw just one BHP with euro 5 in Sungkai and one in Lekir. Any problems?

• Mikey on Oct 06, 2016 at 10:07 pm

Bro Ali, there are only 11 BHP selling Euro5 diesel in the state of Perak. There is 1 in Ipoh-Lumut Highway (Pusing). I guess i am lucky to be living in Selangor then. Worst come to worst, pump Euro5 B4 starting your journey next time. Happy driving.

• what? most petrol station already using euro 5..?
      wake up bro.. this is 2016.. not 2026…

name me one place where i can get euro5 diesel in 500km radius within KK

• Anything but P1, Greedy P2 on Oct 05, 2016 at 9:40 pm

Chevrolet Coloshop
    Lol

• nabill (Member) on Oct 05, 2016 at 10:04 pm

Such a good spec.. These features on any other brand it will be selling like hot cake… Bt a stupid logo that signifies spare parts unavailability, terrible service and so on..

• BOYRACER on Oct 05, 2016 at 10:11 pm

And that Black Meet Kettle colour,I assume that it is the same colour as the bottom of the kettle used by our grandparents.

• This brand is runners up to proton when it comes to bad image in malaysia.

• I’ve been driving the Colorado since Dec last year. Truck handling is awesome, FC is good and overall it’s been great. But forget NAZA SC. They are a bunch of lazy MFs. Just get your service done at your favourite workshops.

• JB_KIA on Oct 06, 2016 at 8:42 am

mesia got this car meh? so far neber see any wor….but many in Thailand lor.

• I love it when companies inject humour into their products. Am lovin’ these colour names!

• Tiger on Oct 06, 2016 at 9:29 am

Highest specification offers excellent on par value to buy this truck.service wise don’t ever expect high professionalism from naza. Buy if could and service at many reliable service centres around klang valley as well as outside. It’s just matter of fact that v know the workshops.spare parts availability is pretty much reliable

• passion on Oct 06, 2016 at 9:36 am

too late.

• Wildtrak is the best

• isuzuki on Oct 06, 2016 at 1:57 pm

ooo 2.5 with Auto now.