Following today’s Budget 2017 speech, where prime minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak actively endorsed ride-sharing services such as Uber and Grab, Proton has issued a statement saying that the announcement has “brought a new excitement” for the company.
As mentioned by the PM, Proton has agreed to offer a RM4,000 rebate for those buying a new Iriz to become a ride-sharing driver. This offer is specifically targeted at the B40 income earners – those with a household income of up to RM3,855.
The local carmaker says that it welcomes the move, and is happy to be working with ride-sharing companies, with the aim of helping to uplift the livelihood of the B40 group. The statement also says that Proton is “thankful to the government with its clear objective to support the national car in its effort to spur the automotive industry, as this initiative provides tangible growth and economic opportunities.”
Uber Malaysia has also issued a statement on this new announcement, which you can read here.
AD: Drive the Proton model of your dreams. Submit your details and Proton PJ will get in touch with you.
Clearing all the old stock for iriz I suppose. Shame on you Proton!! Why are you Proton such a burden to the government and all Malaysians and to this country?
Why so serious
Gomen will start taxing Uber and Grab in 2017. Of course Jib encourage people to go drive.
RM 4k you saved from Najib, RM 14k you will pay back in proton garage. Don’t play play with Proton quality.
Why Iriz? Why not saga? Saga is cheaper, bigger boot more suitable to carry luggage. Just to help proton clear stock la
As long as it is win win, it will work.
Of course proton will like it. It will help clear their stock.
This budget# were to save BN cronies-ass(clearance stock)… Do majority Rakyat ever benefits on this?!?!
Oh My Oh My, another bailout. Government will be using our money to clear Iriz stock. Ask yourself this, why Government did not say Saga or Persona?
Clearly, another bailout for Iriz. And using rakyat’s money.
It is sad when the old CEO had to lie and say Iriz sales were super good and the waiting list for months. And then few months later, Tun M, the then Proton chairman, accidentally told the truth that Iriz sales were kaput.
How can the Government be neutral and fair to other car makers?
How would Perodua feel?
How would Nissan, Toyota and Honda feel?
Why the special treatment towards Proton?
I thought the Government said Proton is now Private and under DRB and the Government must play a neutral role
How would Perodua feel since they work so hard to market their cars??
Do we care what they fell…
logical thinking;
1. Why Iriz? why not Axia or cheap sedan like Saga and Bezza? Iriz is the cheapest ASEAN-NCAP 5* rated city car. Uber caters mostly city passengers, so a safe city car is suitable. Besides, you could ask for bigger car or MPV if you need those from Uber.
2. Why not Persona or new Saga? those are new models and high demand right now. Proton didn’t set a high volume for Iriz but any increase in demand would always be welcomed. So, choosing Iriz will not affect production of their high-demand models like Saga and Persona. Probably Saga and Persona is more suitable for the taxi drivers that are turning to Uber full-time. Gov have different incentives for those taxi drivers too.
3. Why not Bezza or Axia? I guess, this is collaboration between gov, Uber and Proton.
on a side note, the cronies of Taxi companies were created during Mahathir’s time. Najib and Mahathir doesn’t get along, different political party now… so maybe Najib want to cut the funds to Mahathir…?
With 4k rebate, P1 would not need to repay 1.5b loan. Rakyat would have to bear the burden. Down with cronyism n kleptorism.
It’s also reasonable to think that Proton is trying to clear their current stock of Iriz to make way for the updated model (NVH improvements, 3-point engine mount from Persona, more responsive CVT transmission).
Sell it off to China company!
Pegi mampoi if still need Gov to continue to help. Just hurry up and hire more pipu to rampup production of Saga3 and Persona2, otherwise they will go for other brands. If this oso kantoi, PM shud just throw the rest of the money at public transport instead. I rather he do this anyways.
Iriz? Why not Persona. Iriz is old and not that practial and have terrible cvt.
Remeber cvt bising punch? Proton never change. Still with bad campro vvt & cvt bising Punch gearbox. Will stop this word until proton change the engine & gearbox
Remember the dinosar 4AT which is unresponsive unless u slam the pedal down?
Well, they managed the remarkable feat of replacing this ancient GB with an even more gutless CVT and call it an improvement! Thats why everyone says toyota current motto is Moving Backwards
Drive manual.
Obviously you din read about improvement of cvt in persona and newer iriz
new model ma
Dun personal najib why he approves uber. PM support = govt support = SPAD support. Taxi permit owners / companies can tapau lorh
AntiSPAD = sapot teksi.
Timbang or bunga?
U make the choice
How many times we want to give Proton a tongkat? Already given RM15 billion the past 20 years. Few months ago also gave RM1.5 billion
Somemore use tax payers money now to Give RM4k subsidy for Iriz
Any endorsement to a more reliable transport services is welcomed.. doesnt matter from where it comes from.
At least on this front, govt is taking the right steps in embracing change for the better although we know that the govt has vested interests in Uber.
Green bean army, kasi kaya keroni. Grabuber yours waste time and money to buy this scrap.but i booking 10 biji for my kampung youngster koh koh koh ki ki kih.
LOL… P2 salesman is crying for the policy. That what we call business.
Let’s give the Iriz-Uber thing here it’s day on the road and see how it goes. Anyway Paultan… where’s news about the upcoming Honda CRV? How different in design and specs it’s going to be to the US market model? Or are we stuck with the current model for next year also? Thanks
Proton welcome this move or Proton lobby this move before the budget?
At least the customers and driver are protected by, at least, VSC.
Anytime better than Axia or Myvi.
Anyway if I’m Proton, of course I welcome the gov to support my products. lol