Audi automatic transmission found to have emissions cheating device in the United States – report

2015-audi-a6-1.8-driven-local-review- 037

We thought we’ve seen the worst of Volkswagen’s ‘dieselgate’ emissions cheating scandal, but if the latest revelation from Bild am Sonntag is true, the carmaker group could be back in hot soup. According to the German news daily, the California Air Resources Board (CARB) in the United States found a defeat device in an Audi model fitted with an automatic transmission last summer.

The software, claimed to lower carbon dioxide emissions if the car detected it was being tested for emissions, is also said to have been fitted to both petrol and diesel vehicles in Europe, and is separate from the device that was the centre of the original scandal last year.

The report stated that the newly-found device monitored steering wheel movement to detect if it was being tested. If the wheel was not being turned – indicating that it was being tested in a laboratory – then a special gear-shifting programme would be activated to produce lower carbon dioxide emissions than in normal driving. The programme would be switched off if the wheel was turned more than 15 degrees.

Bild am Sonntag also said that Audi stopped using the software in May, just before CARB discovered it in an older model, adding that the company has already suspended several engineers as a result. The paper also stated that an Audi spokesman had declined to comment, saying that Ingolstadt is currently in talks with US and California regulators to fix 3.0 litre diesel models, which also feature a defeat device.

Automotive News said that CARB had no immediate comment regarding the Bild‘s report, and Audi was not immediately available to comment.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Eddie on Nov 07, 2016 at 10:08 am

That’s why we buy volvo hehe, honesty is gold!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 10
  • Andrekua on Nov 07, 2016 at 10:23 am

Holy cow. Transmission also can be used to cheat emission. I don’t think I wanna criticize VW/Audi. Instead I’m impressed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 1
  • pengayuhbasikal on Nov 07, 2016 at 11:22 am

cheating device or fuel saving gearbox program in action?

• 4G63T DSM on Nov 07, 2016 at 4:59 pm

Would not have been a problem had it been a selectable feature for the driver/owner. Like ECO mode that re-maps your gear shifts.

• alpinestar on Nov 07, 2016 at 11:27 am

sometimes old tech is good than new tech

• Only sammy says that. But I agree with this, dual VVTi+CVT is shittier than dinosar engine+4AT.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
  • kimi's fan on Nov 07, 2016 at 12:19 pm

it is pathetic if it is true…

• Bernard on Nov 07, 2016 at 12:56 pm

Buy Audi cars………they are great.

However, with the latest scandal, maybe they can sell it at 50% less……….just a suggestion.

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Nov 07, 2016 at 3:09 pm

Habis la Audi. Habis la VW.

Do business in USA really need to buy insurance. Anytime will kena sue.

• this also want to cheat, maybe your 6 cylinders audi only got 4 cylinders, check probably

• lao yee on Nov 07, 2016 at 5:04 pm

Guys, before commenting about ’emissions or cO2′, first do something about pollution generating in our land, Malaysia. Anyone here would lodge complain when seeing open burning? Would you protest while factories around releasing ‘fresh airs’. If not, why cares about that emission report when you’re not that environment friendly? Oh yea, VW/Audi lies to you and polluting your environement, that’s upsetting you huh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
  • A3 8V on Nov 07, 2016 at 9:52 pm

But my audi fuel consumption still cheaper than myvi even if they said got device which cheating in the test. huhu

• Wonder what else they have been lying about, mayb premium price, premium looks but underneath are badly design poor quality components..hence the unreliability that many faces

• Proton more reliable