Road tax increase for next year is untrue, JPJ confirms

jpj-road-tax-hike-false

Recently, we’ve been receiving several inquiries about a message circulating around WhatsApp and social media, claiming that vehicles with an engine capacity of 880 cc and above will be charged a higher road tax (and insurance) of 25% more, beginning January 2017. However, this is totally untrue according to the Road Transport Department (JPJ).

We contacted the department to seek clarification on the viral “news,” and an officer there has confirmed that the impending road tax hike is completely false, and urged the public not to believe and spread the word. He adds that for the time being, the department has no plans at all to increase the current road tax charge structure.

Since then, the department has issued an official statement on the matter, reaffirming all that was mentioned above. It also stated that it viewed the matter seriously as it could potentially create a severe misunderstanding within the public.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Henry on Nov 28, 2016 at 2:07 pm

One look at it you know it is false news. 1.3 cc? What car is it? A toy?

• 1.3cc? how stupid can malaysian be to believe such news..

• jason on Nov 28, 2016 at 5:30 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 236
      • that engine capacity in your “example” is 1.3L, which is equal to 1300cc, not 1.3cc. you don’t even understand what you are trying to correct. stop being silly.

• HAHAHAHAHHA Jason wait till you realize your mistake, you’ll want to hide under the blanket

• not samloo on Nov 28, 2016 at 6:58 pm

say…jason did you fail your maths in school???

• You’re pretty stupid, actually. 1.3, 2.4 etc refers to the liters displacement. 1.3 liter = 1300cc. Proton Iriz is 1.3liter. So you are telling me that all the moto are 0.25 cc? You bloody moron. You’re the definition of an uneducated Malaysian. Disgrace.

• Iriz is 1.3L which is 1300cc. Jason, now who looks pretty stupid?

• Anonymously yours on Nov 28, 2016 at 7:55 pm

1300 cc

• Daniel on Nov 28, 2016 at 7:58 pm

The Proton Edar webpage is showing 1.3L, not 1.3cc. In this case, you are the one who have not done any research.

• man. I think I found one of those people that you’ve mentioned

• LatukBandar on Nov 28, 2016 at 9:30 pm

Hey stupid, it is 1300cc. What they said is correct, no such thing as 1.3cc. 1.3L got lah, not 1.3cc.

don’t comment if you havent done your research.

sometimes, being a mummy boy is not really good… you asked how stupid malaysians can be, im not sure where you are from, but it looks like you are pretty stupid

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
      • Vincent Ang on Nov 28, 2016 at 10:17 pm

1.3cc NOT equal to 1300cc. This is what happens when you study Math and Science in the wrong language.

• Megane on Nov 29, 2016 at 3:16 am

I had not laughed hard for a long time reading through the comments section . Bravo Jason . 1.3cc is like a spurt of our semen . What engine size is that hahahahahhahaha .

• Hahaha…I just want to add the insult hahahaha Jason please read

• Faiz Roslan on Nov 28, 2016 at 2:34 pm

time and time again the public is making up fake news to discredit the government. The gov has never burdened the ppl, why do ppl always do this to hurt the government reputation? Crazy world we live in!

– Faiz Roslan CEng

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 51
    • Deadpool on Nov 28, 2016 at 4:35 pm

yea government “never” burdened the people, especially MO1, no they don’t burden, normally they will fart first with their mouth, and then they throw their feaces to the people. they just take the people’s money straight away from their pocket and the people can’t do anything about it. The government called it a donation, GST, or whatever faeces come out from their mouth, still bragging around somemore. hurt government reputation? does our current government has any reputation to hurt? nah.. please read more international news instead of RTM. Don’t forget our MO1, he is out there indulging with our malaysian hard earn money. if the money were used to develope our country then nothing much to say, but you see what our G doing anything good to our country? only when the GE coming soon they give out a little bit sweetness to those people form ULU places, to make them vote for them, using our malaysian’s money somemore. ya right they G are not burdening us the people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 7
  • JAVfan on Nov 28, 2016 at 3:07 pm

I can’t understand why there are still some moron who believe these kind of hoax… LOL :D

• Pressed on Nov 28, 2016 at 3:13 pm

Ya they will raise it in 2018

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
  • This is no educated Malaysian spread the fake news. Do we have 1.3cc -2.4cc car engine???
    Buy car toys with 1.3cc engine no need pay roadtax!

• i hope they will not change their statement to ‘true’ before new year countdown…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
  • ridiculous car price on Nov 28, 2016 at 4:39 pm

sooner or later only. gomen ta da duit. no smoke without fire.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • Nasi lemak 3.0 on Nov 28, 2016 at 5:26 pm

Ek eleh.. nnti mesti naek punya… tengkok gonen sape yg rule… nasi lemak punye… mmng akan naek bila2

• JB_KIA on Nov 28, 2016 at 4:48 pm

Stupid xbersekolah fella failed to figure out the difference between cc and liter

• C. P. MOHAN on Nov 28, 2016 at 5:40 pm

In my opinion yearly road-tax collected is to maintain roads. What if many are using toll-roads especially in the Klang Valley and paying various taxes on vehicle ownership like GST, thus the issue is not the increases but the purpose of the road-tax which is outdated in my view.

• Ben Yap on Nov 28, 2016 at 5:42 pm

usually this people who create hoax just enjoy to see it go viral.

• wanfly on Nov 28, 2016 at 6:54 pm

pergh….denied n then btul2 naik…dah biasa sgt jd camnie….

• poklah on Nov 28, 2016 at 7:10 pm

quote:
    “jason on Nov 28, 2016 at 5:30 pm
    1.3cc example would be Proton Iriz.
    http://www.proton-edar.com.my/en/Models/Iriz/Model%20Pricing%20and%20Specification%20Page.aspx#PRICING & SPECS
    don’t comment if you havent done your research.
    sometimes, being a mummy boy is not really good… you asked how stupid malaysians can be, im not sure where you are from, but it looks like you are pretty stupid

check again bro..1.3 Litre and 1.3CC is not same bro..before calling other people stupid, check first your knowledge..now everyone thinks you are stupid to the max..

• Naik banyak, Turun sikit on Nov 28, 2016 at 7:13 pm

yeah, road tax tak naik…..

But come 2017, car insurance will naik…..
    Tyre prices naik, petrol naik, engine-oil naik, car spare parts naik, labour/service naik, and many more……

Gaji rakyat surely tak naik….

No mood celebrate new year 2017 ….

• Kenny on Nov 28, 2016 at 8:00 pm

There seems to be a lot of fake news circulating using Whatsapp these days. Wonder why some people are so free to write such hoaxes.

• transformer on Nov 28, 2016 at 8:22 pm

I guess Gov won’t increase 2017/18. After that no guarantee. One thing for sure is Insurance premium will be deregulate!!! Meaning pricing from different companies varies. Each has own plan & pricing. They will starts factor in alot to hikes the premium. I foresee the new insurance premium will kill alot car otr and more kereta Hantu…..

• DPCraft on Nov 28, 2016 at 11:10 pm

Wait… a 600cc is cheaper then 2.4cc how come clearly 600cc is much much more bigger than 2.4cc.

• opkpo on Nov 29, 2016 at 12:52 am

I once believe the official statement from gov but now no more

• mr1031 on Nov 29, 2016 at 7:42 pm

the write-up may be wrongly written..

but how many times that gomen denies a thing which later on is true anyway