Works Ministry begins rolling barriers pilot programme

The first pilot programme for the rolling barriers safety system has begun at the underpass from the Subang Airport Road heading into the Federal Highway. The new guardrail was installed along the 100 m stretch on December 7 this year, and should be a common sight among motorists that frequent the route by now.

The project was first proposed by the Works Ministry back in October this year, with the barriers being supplied by South Korean firm ETI. The barriers consists of a steel tube, between which plastic cylinders are fitted. These act as shock absorbers that spin around its axis, reducing the impact of a collision and ensuring the vehicle remains on the road instead of swerving off it.

According to a report by The Malay Mail, the Works Ministry described the pilot project as a way forward to elevate road safety standards. Works minister, Datuk Seri Fadillah Yusof said the location was chosen as it was identified as a “black spot” due to the number of accidents that occur due to the sharp bend.

“We will monitor the effectiveness of this guardrail for three months and prepare a report. Thus far, there have not been any accidents recorded there since the guardrail was installed,” he said, adding that should the results be positive, the rolling barriers will be installed at other accident-prone areas.

On a related issue, Fadillah was also asked if the ministry had plans to upgrade guardrails from the current TL3 standard to TL6, which were capable of withstanding impact from vehicles weighing above 3.5 tonnes. This comes following the accident in Pagoh, Johor that claimed 14 lives.

“We want to minimise the death toll caused by road accidents. We are willing to try new technologies to bring down the numbers,” he said.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• LatukBandar on Dec 28, 2016 at 5:57 pm

Is it me or from the video it shows the vehicle steered towards the other lane, instead of involving 1 car, there is a possibility 2 or more cars will be involved with this system.

Maybe it make sense where there is a deep slope or at the curve of a mountain road, not so much on flat plane.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
    • Operation Manager on Dec 28, 2016 at 7:51 pm

Why not compulsory all vehicle to have safety features: ABS, EBD, BA, VSC/VSA, TRACTION CONTROL, AEP, LANE.WATCH, etc…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
      • ABS,TCS,VSC etc won’t help the idiot driver.

• Rolling barrier is for when ABS, EBD, BA, VSC/VSA, TRACTION CONTROL, AEP, LANE.WATCH, etc, fails becoz technologi is not perfect. Nothing can foolproof human stupidity

• MitchelJohn on Dec 28, 2016 at 9:24 pm

Yes, you eye are correct and not making a fool out of you.

The function of the rolling barriers is to keep the said vehicle inside its lane and not against the opposite lane which could cause more damage to others because of the barriers limitation

• Bash Basher on Dec 29, 2016 at 8:41 am

I guess you are missing out the bigger picture here.

Yes the vehicle you mentioned will steer or bounce to other lane affecting other vehicles.

But if it wasn’t for the rolling barrier, the vehicle might crash through and affect the opposite road instead.

Now let you think about it, which scenario will have the biggest impact? Which scenario will cause more deaths?

This rolling barrier is built to minimize impact

• 4G63T DSM on Dec 29, 2016 at 9:54 am

Correct.

It also prevent tall vehicles like trucks and busses from FLIPPING over on impact (usually to the opposite lane)

• Focus on road signs and drawing proper lanes better and cheaper. Self-driving cars required those basic factors to work.

• Faiz Roslan on Dec 28, 2016 at 6:01 pm

Wonderful news. Our government has shown again we are way ahead other countries that we are prioritizing safety in road.

Even more advanced country like US or any country in Europe have not implemented this.

This shows that the government cares for the rakyat. Syabas government!!

– Faiz Roslan CEng

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 76
    • Hot dog on Dec 28, 2016 at 9:07 pm

Let us see how gov maintence this rollin barriers in future..wait and see…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
    • Ur comments sound sarcastic…

• Kunta Kinte on Dec 29, 2016 at 9:10 am

If so good, why is the ringgit dropping and the whole world is laughing at Malaysia’s corruption?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 16
      • But nobodys laffing. They only laff at u…

• Faiz Roslan on Dec 29, 2016 at 2:03 pm

What has ringgit depreciation got to do with road safety? Ringgit depreciate is a good thing, booster the economy, we can get more exports. Learn ur econmics.

– Faiz Roslan CEng

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 19
        • Kunta Kinte on Dec 29, 2016 at 4:13 pm

Only for you ringgit going down is good. Real jaguh kampung.

Prices of cars go up. Education go up. Everything goes up. Even petrol goes up. Maybe you should learn econs bro too

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
        • Hot dog on Dec 29, 2016 at 4:19 pm

Export?????……u better check which are the countres mata wang low value….dia adalah rich country ?? Beside… if you are the exporter? You ask your buyer to pay you ringgit or USD ??
          Your pocket ada 10 ringgit , you dapat 1 biji waterrmelon 2 nd grade, you jual oversea 20 ringgit dan dia tak mao .
          You ada SGD 10 , you dapat 1 st grade watermelon 2 biji, you jual oversea 40/biji and sold. This is wat Singapore always doing..so Singapore without farms. But they been exported fruits , seafoods around the worlds. And oso , we hv to pay billion to giant construction but Singapore never.
          Don ever and never tot with currency low can make more….lagi oversea tak mao your ringgit … baik you simpang dalam tin milo !!

• Yes, yes. But SG is in recession while MY is not. SG is in big trouble with US pullout, while MY still got wang China coming in.

• Dedak in the house on Dec 29, 2016 at 3:41 pm

Ringgit depreciate compare to USD bur SGD still the same for the pass 2 months.. so our neighbour also depreciate compare to USD but well u never see.. right kunta?

• Hot dog on Dec 29, 2016 at 5:05 pm

Ringgit depreciate worst in SEA !! Lagi…..SGD despreciate little pun dia ada banyak wang stanby , they actually not really worrry.
          But gov MY kosong, anytime oversea hantam saja mati !!
          Samething..if you hv a lot in your account , are worry lost job? Sick ? …

• Want to reduce eksiden? Just put up more AES… oh wai

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 21
    • Kunta Kinte on Dec 29, 2016 at 9:15 am

Our gomen just said that VSC reduces all accidents and deaths by 45% per annum in Malaysia. They announced this last month.

So, instead of doing all this mumbo and jumbo, why don’t gomen ask ALL car manufacturers to put VSC in all their cars IMMEDIATELY?

If there are 10,000 deaths per year, less 45%, next year alone can save 4500 people.

I am not making up this statistics. Our Gomen themselves have quoted this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
      • Cannot! Unlike P1 that only has ONE model with no ESC spec, my glorious P2 only has ONE model with ESC spec! If only sell 1 model, my P2 will ‘chap lap’ like tis! How can!

Its only stupid pipu who think our lightweight no safety cars, can outrun BMWs & mesidis. Not our fault they got roti-canai’ed after eksiden, u know! How can!

• Siapalah yang dapat project ini. Murah betul rezeki dia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 33
    • Tak kesah, asal selamat nyawa. Nak mahal pun takpe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • Takpa…. lebih baik daripada projek bukan-bukan dan tak berfaedah…. janji rakyat pun dapat kebaikan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • Projek ITIS RM565 juta OK jer. Selamat byk nyawa…

• Hot dog on Dec 29, 2016 at 2:49 pm

Hahaha..bila corruptions banyak..gov hutang banyak..ringgit tak value..tax banyak .kereta low spec..acidents banyak…buat ini barriers, you orang ingat boleh safe berapa nyawa??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
      • Nyawa u mau kira dgn duit ke? Takpelah mau mahal pun, asal nyawa boleh selamat.

• Hot dog on Dec 29, 2016 at 5:09 pm

Kan gov ada chart…the whole year apa first second or third accident kematian banyak kaitan barriers? … lain belum selesaian lagi bayar oversea banyak buat barriers ??

• So u boleh kasi brapa harge nyawa u? Becoz life shud be priceless but not for u.

• contender on Dec 28, 2016 at 6:20 pm

well done and if proven effective should be rolled out nationwide. But no mention of cost ??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • Johnson Potien on Dec 28, 2016 at 6:59 pm

Vehicles bounce back to the road upon collision would definitely create chained accidents…I’m order to save one car, all other cars follow closely it collided kao kao… U can use computer stimulation to see that… the Korean system is full of shiit in real world…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 53
    • memandu sekolah on Dec 29, 2016 at 12:21 am

why tailgate? you buy your driving license or what? 1001..1002.

• It is the same when the car pass through the current used TL3 barrier, it will also involve the opposite coming car. So, your suggestion is?

• alldisc on Dec 29, 2016 at 9:23 am

The risk is actually reduced and lowered. In the aspect of serious injuries and or death. Cars are just machines. They can be repaired

• Bash Basher on Dec 29, 2016 at 11:30 am

If you see a crashing vehicle coming into your lane, you brake to avoid it or swerve into other lane. However, swerving into other lane during situation like this might end up hitting another vehicle BUT THE CHANCE OF SURVIVING is DEFINITELY MUCH MUCH HIGHER than a crashing vehicle crash through the barrier on to the opposite side of the road.

Braking will be useless if a crashing vehicle is coming towards your direction, unless you reverse( if you have enough time though).

Hence, Johnson, I advice you to fix your computer that produce shitty simulation and do not follow any vehicles closely in front of you.

• Ahmad on Dec 29, 2016 at 12:53 pm

Orang otak udang. *facepalm when I see such comments.

Who teach you how to tailgate kao kao?
      If you are driving at a safe distance away from the vehicle ahead of you, you should be able to brake in time.

• Johnny on Dec 29, 2016 at 5:42 pm

Might be digressing here. There was a research a few years back also that Malaysian drivers give other drivers 1 sec reaction time when switching lanes, other countries it’s 2-3 sec so that the car you’re moving in-front of has time to apply his breaks.

• svasti astu on Dec 28, 2016 at 7:30 pm

Do install it on Genting Highland road pls, and also Cameron Highland Simpang Pulai road.

• Kaizen on Dec 28, 2016 at 9:24 pm

Common guys… its a pilot project. Give it a try and see the outcome. Mere condemnation of implementation of new things will lead us to nowhere. Hope to see a lots of lives can be saved from this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • Some people do not know the meaning of experiment. Either the result is OK or KO, it still need a lot of $$. Most MY will look at it as a waste of money. What to do. Most MY pipu think backward.

• Good to hear. This country is going forward.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • This is fine. But let the authorities – both the planners and enforcers be aware of dangerous road features and rectify those also. For example unusually sharp corners, non-functioning street lights at junctions, steep rises, obscured road signs, confusing intersections, traffic lights for busy intersections etc. These authorities should patrol the roads and identify problem spots and take preventive actions to rectify the possible problems.

• u rather die instead getting whacked by a tractor trailer coming from the other side of the road?

• Stack up some old tyres and voila! Job done. Korean only good in dancing.

• bendahara melaka on Dec 29, 2016 at 12:06 am

Dari pengamatan hamba baik rasanya kalau ditanam pokok jenis tea dijadikan pagar ditepi jalan. Lebih elok untuk menyerap tenaga ketika kemalangan berlaku. Walaupun begitu sistem barrier 2 baris tayar dalam perlumbaan formula one pun lebih elok dari sistem roller ini kerana pemandu kita di Malaysia ini semuanya bekas pemandu formula one.

• Ben Yap on Dec 29, 2016 at 12:41 am

Now with this barrier, chances of a drift stunt gone wrong and going off the road minimized.

• Ape sajer tah on Dec 29, 2016 at 12:47 am

Jalan ni 20 minit hujan dah banjir. Daripada pasang menatang ni baik la betulkan dulu system aliran kat sini

• Chokla on Dec 29, 2016 at 7:46 am

Great effort to lessen the impact of accidents, but still, the real problems is drivers’ attitude.

• Add A Comment on Dec 29, 2016 at 8:20 am

I see this thing is like sending the to the other direction and hit the other cars on the road. Yes, you probable saved the life of that driver (who may have been speeding like no body business), but at the risking other drivers’ life…May it is just me thinking…

-I Have Just Added A Comment –

• xoxox on Dec 29, 2016 at 8:51 am

hmm..i think it should not test on empty vehicle but test on full loaded vehicle..becoz the empty vehicle may just half weight of full load vehicle..such as lorry, trailer etc…The barrier must able to sustain trailer with full load of cars….and maybe it should not put so close to the road…unless no space to put the barrier…but i think the barrier must able to absorb/reduce some impact instead of only ‘passing’ the impact to next ‘roller’ which may cause the vehicle lose control and hit other vehicles on the road…

• Ahmadjr on Dec 29, 2016 at 9:03 am

And now all we have to do is to wait the accident to happen there *finger cross

• Bottles Lama on Dec 29, 2016 at 10:13 am

I pretty sure we can use our local office’s empty water bottles instead of importing from South Korea

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
  • yourmomma on Dec 29, 2016 at 11:56 am

fix the road holes first lah.. adui….

• Mikey on Dec 29, 2016 at 12:36 pm

WOW, The project was proposed in October this year & its already implemented/installed by December 7, 2016.

This MUST be the fastest ever implemented by our Minister of Works. This should be accredited by Guinness Book of Word Records.

• Das Auto on Dec 29, 2016 at 6:06 pm

Discipline the truck industry, you’ll save a lot of life!

• Das Auto on Dec 29, 2016 at 6:12 pm

In a tropical setting, normally any traffic gadgets made of bright orangey yellowish will stain over time with dark mushy dust and will look ugly. It just that we have a harsh environment.

• butt hurt on Dec 29, 2016 at 6:39 pm

yeah.. much better compared to the PG tunnel that’s still under feasibility study which has been taking forever..

• Dedak in the house on Dec 30, 2016 at 1:12 pm

Got big solid rock underneath sea floor i think..

• Abdull on Dec 29, 2016 at 6:48 pm

Good idea, nice to see at first, it will soon be dark dirty grey rollers when they’re covered with road grime and dirt.

• Bernard on Jan 03, 2017 at 7:35 pm

Shouldn’t the govt be focusing on the millions of road users without licenses ?