Honda Malaysia airbag recall: calling all affected owners; replacements will only take up to 45 minutes

By now, the Takata airbag recall involving Honda vehicles in Malaysia is a rather well known issue – or rather we thought it is. As it turns out, quite a number of drivers and owners have not responded to the nationwide recall of what is now the largest automotive recall in the entire industry’s history.

And it’s not for the lack of trying on Honda Malaysia’s side, either. By July this year, the company has issued more than 240,000 letters to customers, sent 35,000 emails to owners, phoned more than 2,000 customers and sent SMS messages to more than 126,000 customers.

On top of all this, it has also actively placed flyers on affected models that are parked in public areas, in hope that they would send their cars in. Most recently, Honda Malaysia stepped up its efforts to deploy staff to go door-to-door to approach affected customers. The company is also working closely with the Road Transport Department to approach current owners of affected vehicles based on JPJ data.

As a recap, Honda Malaysia issued a series separate recalls over the matter: in May, June and July 2015, and again in May and June 2016. In total, approximately 264,000 Honda vehicles require replacement front driver airbag inflators, and around 273,000 models need new passenger airbag inflators.

Models affected include the Honda Accord (2003-2011), City (2003-2013), Civic (2001-2011), Civic Hybrid (2003, 2007-2012), CR-V (2002-2011, 2013), Freed (2009-2011), Insight (2011-2013), Jazz (2003-2007, 2009-2013), Jazz Hybrid (2012-2013), Odyssey (2004-2008) and Stream (2003-2005, 2007-2013).

To handle the unprecedented bulk of the product recall, Honda Malaysia introduced several measures. For a start, all authorised service centres in the country were instructed to focus 50% of its resources and capacity to airbag inflator replacement tasks. This concerns safety after all, it should not be taken lightly.

Next, the company set up Service Central Hubs (SCH) and Mobile Hubs (MH) to replace airbags for affected cars. This was done to help alleviate Honda dealers’ limited service capacities for Takata airbag inflator replacement activity, and to make it more convenient for customers to reach servicing venues.

Three temporary hubs (northern, central and southern) have been operating seven days a week (except public holidays) since August 1, 2016. These static facilities are then supplemented by several mobile hubs that operate at a series of locations, including fuel service stations, shopping malls and the company’s own Honda Family Road Trip venues.

Mobile teams then include teams that go door-to-door to approach affected customers, as well as to make arrangements for replacement activities on-site where necessary, if customers are genuinely unable to proceed to a dealership/hub for the replacement job. There was even a compensation offer of RM50 per day for “loss of use of car” for affected cars waiting for airbag replacement. This ran from July 28 to August 31 to get customers to take notice.

Click to enlarge product recall process flow.

Mobile teams were also deployed to used car dealers to check the status of used Honda cars being sold and, if required, the airbag inflators will be changed immediately to ensure that the airbag inflators in the affected used Honda cars are replaced properly before they are sold to new owners. Buyers of used Honda cars are also advised to check their vehicle status at www.productrecall.honda.com.my. Even grey import or “reconditioned” Honda models are covered.

By mid-August 2016, Honda Malaysia announced that parts availability for the driver front airbag inflator has reached 100%, so there will be no more waiting for affected cars for the crucial driver’s airbag inflator replacement. However, due to the global shortage of passenger front airbag inflators, the stock count stands at a respectable 70% availability as of December 2016.

The company assures its customers that it is doing everything in its capacity to meet the demand for replacement airbag inflators.

With all this done, the only thing left is for the drivers and owners of affected vehicles to respond to the recall and send their cars in. With cases as severe as this (a ruptured inflator may cause serious injuries and even death, as previously reported – right here in Malaysia, no less), you’d expect those affected to be lining up, right? But that has not been the case.

As of December 2016, Honda Malaysia announced that despite all its considerable efforts (and the stock availability standing at a full 100%) to expedite recall activities, it has only managed to replace 71% of affected driver front airbag inflators, with a large number of affected cars yet to respond to the recall. The completion ratio for passenger airbag inflator replacements stood at 50% as of end-November.

Why? Aside from those who are genuinely unaware of the recall, the reasons given by those who do know, but have yet to act on it will surprise you. These include, “oh it’s my mum’s car; my sister is driving it; I’ve used the car for 10 years without issues, so why should I bother?” Ah yes, all “legit” reasons, right?

Others, meanwhile, have slightly more valid concerns, such as not having the time to do so, or even the worry that there will be major work involved in replacing the inflators, which may scuff or damage their car interiors. Well, the central and mobile hubs should help the former concern, while Honda Malaysia’s assurance that all service centres and hubs are staffed by trained Honda associates should serve the latter.

So, it now falls to affected drivers and owners to respond. Not sure if you’re among those affected? Check it. If you have a friend or colleague with the affected Honda models, it’s also good to ask if they’ve checked just to be safe.

Vehicle owners can check their vehicles’ product recall status at www.productrecall.honda.com.my or call Honda Malaysia’s toll free number at 1-800-88-2020 or visit any Honda authorised dealers. The most convenient way, as it almost always is, is to go the online route.

Honda Malaysia airbag recall: calling all affected owners; replacements will only take up to 45 minutesHonda Malaysia airbag recall: calling all affected owners; replacements will only take up to 45 minutes

On www.productrecall.honda.com.my, all you’re asked to do is to enter your Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) to check if it’s involved in any of Honda Malaysia’s active recall campaigns. The VIN number can be found on a blue plate located at either your vehicle’s passenger side centre pillar or engine bay firewall.

Once that’s done, the site will immediately check if your car requires airbag inflator replacements, be it the driver or passenger side inflator, or both. For cases where one of the two required jobs have been completed, the system will show an updated recall status (as shown here).

The next step is to arrange for an appointment. On the website, you can select your preferred service centre – or the central hubs, which are equally equipped and capable – and the centralised system will then show the specific centre’s exact stock availability of replacement airbag inflators. No more guessing around if the service centres have the parts in stock – it’s all clearly shown here.

Honda Malaysia airbag recall: calling all affected owners; replacements will only take up to 45 minutesHonda Malaysia airbag recall: calling all affected owners; replacements will only take up to 45 minutes

From here, you can submit your details and set an appointment at your earliest convenience. Come the day itself, the replacement work will then take just 20 minutes for the driver’s side, and up to 45 minutes for the passenger side. Should your car require replacements for both sides, the work will be done concurrently, so the whole process will take no more than 45 minutes to complete.

Once done, the technician will leave a small paint mark inside the glovebox to be used as an easy visual indicator showing that the recall work has been completed, which may come in handy when you want to sell your vehicle later on. It will all be recorded in Honda Malaysia’s centralised system too, of course.

So there you have it, folks, a simple and short process through and through. Honda Malaysia has done all it can to sort out this global recall. It’s now up to the owners to send their cars in. It’s for your own safety – no better reason than that.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Sgt Scoop on Dec 30, 2016 at 6:58 pm

The passenger side airbag on my Accord was recalled but when I went to the dealership, they said they had no stock. I updated all of my details and they said they’d call me as soon as they had stock. I haven’t heard anything from them. Should I check with the service centre every day?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
    • U shud. Ur life depends on it. Literally.

• Kunta Kinte on Dec 31, 2016 at 12:41 pm

Too many bad comments here and all complaints. A simple way is this. Honda Malaysia can tell JPJ not to renew the road tax of any Honda that has not replaced their airbags.

That will save Honda a lot of trouble. And also it covers many 2nd hand owners who are not registered with Honda Malaysia.

Why can’t the super brains in DRB Hicom, most of them earn 6 figures per month think of this?

And these are the same clowns that DRB put in Proton to govern and manage.

They cannot think of simple effective ideas.

Hello DRB, this will help all 2nd hand buyers. You know ALL our 2nd hand dealers and every single used car dealer purposely throws away the service booklet of any Honda cause they modify the odometer to show low mileage car.

So in return, any 2nd hand buyer of Honda cars are NEVER registered with Honda.

See what happens to the domino effect. Because of 2nd hand car dealers modifying their odometer of their cars, no 2nd hand buyer is now covered by Honda’s protection.

• factVerse on Dec 31, 2016 at 6:50 pm

From what I know, Honda cover all involved Honda cars even they are bought from used car.
          Even grey imported car involved in the airbags recall can change their airbag for free.

• Don,t believe Honda's hype on Dec 31, 2016 at 1:29 am

Just read all of the owners comment down there. Honda if you are teading this, stop telling us you are fixing this and fix the damn problem already. If there’s another Honda related airbag accident, please know that Honda has NOT remotely done all it can.

• Hondanomore on Dec 31, 2016 at 7:21 am

Same here….called few times this particular sc also said no stock…..but in the checking system….got stock…..very funny….

• Receive letter to replace one side, Honda service center say no stock for the other. After months of waiting, received a letter from Honda saying tat the other side also affected and will be notified when stock arrived. No news since. That was six months ago

• Greentechie on Jan 03, 2017 at 2:24 pm

Same case with my 8th generation Accord, no stock! Waiting months since receiving letter from them asking to get the passenger air bag replaced. What the hell is going on with Honda!?

• Honda-san doesnt seem to understand MY pipu penchant for laziness and last minute of everything. And putting the campaign in their svc ctr & obscure locations dun help. Somemore need to check if ur car is affected or not. Somemore need to make appointment to do replacement. Somemore only do during normal hours.

Heres a hint: put the replacement area at all major shopping malls, with big banners at the entrances, and Honda owners no need to own check, just bring the car to the replacement area and Honda will check for u. Then make the replacement hours from 8am~10pm, 7 days a week. And Honda shud pay for the parking as well. Then ur replacement rate is 100%.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 15
    • Sgt Scoop on Dec 31, 2016 at 1:22 am

Their press release claims stock is at 100% but their service centres say they have no stock. It’s not laziness on behalf of the owners, it’s deception on behalf of Honda.

• karam singh on Dec 31, 2016 at 2:29 am

Toyota & other brand airbag recall ?
      not as aggressive though
      Honda putting very high effort on airbag recall compared to others

• lee min chuang on Dec 30, 2016 at 8:06 pm

Honda is just ‘showing off’ their concern ,when in actual fact ,they have NO STOCKS of air bags for replacement.By doing this, they attempt to mislead the public into believing that they are really concerned with our safety, but in actual fact, they want to shrug off any responsibility in the event of further fatality from air bags accidents by blaming the users for NOT responding to their notice.
    One of my Honda City front air bag was replaced few months ago. During the replacement, the Honda technician said THE OTHER AIRBAG IS OK, IT IS MANUFACTURED BY A DIFFERENT MANUFACTURER.Then, 3 months ago, the Honda sent me another letter, asking me to change the THE OTHER AIR BAG.I HAVE BEEN CALLING THE DEALER FOR THE LAST THREE MONTHS, EACH TIME THE SAME ANSWER: NO STOCKS!
    AGU 8645

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
    • Lau chee ming on Dec 30, 2016 at 8:57 pm

They are downright misleading . and they send these so called notices to the auto journalists to give them the impression that they are serious about the whole thing . I’m sure if any of the auto journalists have Honda cars affected theirs would be fixed immediately

• Lau chee ming on Dec 30, 2016 at 9:02 pm

Now they are saying that they have 70% stocks by 31/12. I’m sure not all 70 % have gone to them for replacement so what is stopping them from replacing those who approach them? Its all their spin

• Lau chee ming on Dec 30, 2016 at 8:53 pm

Honda Malaysia is definitely pulling a fast one . I have been emailing to them since middle of the year and they have even asked me which service center I would like to replace my air bag ,passenger side. I informed them and they assured me that the particular service center would contact me as soon as stock arrives. I have been receiving messages and even a letter from Honda telling g me I have to replace my air bag. Every time I responded to them they tell me stock is not available and asked me to wait for the service center to call me. I decided to call the particular service center and found out that I was not even on their wait list and the same story about the stock not.available and that they would call me as soon as stock arrive. I see it as a ploy by Honda Malaysia to absolve.themselves from any liability should an accident happen. And to date.they are not able.to tell me when the stock is expected.to arrive..

• Lau chee ming on Dec 30, 2016 at 9:08 pm

If they don’t think I’m being truthful they can always run a check on their records. AGS 7377. They can even take me to court if they want

• K C Lim on Dec 30, 2016 at 9:25 pm

I rec’d letter fr Honda M’sia in Sept’16 for passenger air bag replacement. Called up Honda Toll Free n Vivahill in Penang abt 2 wks ago and they said No Air Bag available. So dont give me the crap that asking vehicle owners to get it replaced. Its not true!!!.

• Eternalgl0ry on Dec 30, 2016 at 9:42 pm

Lol you have not include the queue time

• Vincent wong on Dec 30, 2016 at 9:45 pm

Had check with Honda car dealers few times, no stock. Every time will be the same response, once the air bag has arrive will notify me. Been few months oredi until now no news. But the Honda official declared that the stock was 100% availability. That is strange.

• Sound good but funny, my 2010 City driver side has been replaced, then supposed to be passenger side. Until now no news, checked with service center also stated no stocks #takata #hondaairbag

• Ex VGM staff on Dec 30, 2016 at 10:41 pm

Honda Malaysia if u r reading this. Many of those Honda cars involved in this programme are owned by 2nd owner and there are chances of 3rd owners too. Some of the cars may have been written off or stolen. As a 12 yrs old cat the Honda city is cheap, it may be sold to kampong folk and may not be aware of the scenario. I want to suggest a simple solution. Create a blue or green sticker to stick at the top windscreen. Must be weather proof. Any Honda model affected without the sticker, you will easily know.

• James on Dec 30, 2016 at 11:11 pm

It’s very simple. Put a deadline, then mention that they will not hold responsibility for any death or injury after said deadline and any airbag replacements after the deadline will incurr charges. Trust me, MY people are that kiamsap that they will suddenly have the time to do it after this announcement because money is more important than their lives….

• Sachi Sur on Dec 30, 2016 at 11:33 pm

everytime i read HCM commenst on airbags replacement, i get angry.
    Early this year, i asked service centre to change airbag but they tell NO stock in whole country. after i complained to HCM directly, only then they “arranged” for replacement air bag for me, even service advisors surprised got stock for me!!

So all I can say is dont believe HCM statements, total BS..pls chase HCM for parts before its too late..

hopefully HCM will get it act together.

• Mikey on Dec 31, 2016 at 10:49 am

I love 2 read on complaints on cars whether it’s airbags, VSC, DSG or anything on transmission/engine/reliability. We have many users here in PT.org who will share their experiences/knowledge.

We as consumers can use the info 2 digest & compare if the car that U intend to purchase(new/2nd-hand) is reliable, value 4 money, have high RV, cheaper to maintain or Best buy on year end sale.

However, having said & read most comments here, as a consumer, U are suppose 2 exercise your own judgement & test the car B4 buying or at least ask your father/older friend or mechanic if U are a newbie. Caveat Emptor or Buyer Beware.

• Bernard on Dec 31, 2016 at 1:09 pm

Msians will be msians… But a valid reason is; send it for servicing and you will definitely find scratches etc

• nabill (Member) on Dec 31, 2016 at 1:17 pm

going by the comments , this seems more like a big PR exercise rather than really want to settle the issue as speedy as possible…

• How can we as a consumer be assured that the free airbags that they are replacing with is of good quality and safe? Japanese manufacturers nowadays are desperately fighting to retain their market share by cutting cost, and that they are known to be using sub-standard parts nowadays. Even Kia is rated as more reliable than T&H in the US.

• the mechanic on Dec 31, 2016 at 7:38 pm

We seem to be more concern about the hassle of gearbox issues than killer airbags.

• Su ML on Dec 31, 2016 at 7:57 pm

Honda may state the efforts being put in but sadly the staff at the service centre in Kuching is far from satisfactory.

So far still no stock and they are unable to give any availability date until now.

If you ask me whether I would buy another new Honda, it is a definite NO for now.

• faizal on Dec 31, 2016 at 9:18 pm

lip service by Honda Malaysia. I have been requesting for confirmation whether my car is affected and I have been asked to check within 1 month upon lodging the request. I have gone through 3 cycles (months) and yet to receive any confirmation from Honda Malaysia..

and they have the audacity to ‘tell their sad story’ via paultan. come on..

• pschew on Jan 01, 2017 at 5:14 pm

Looks like lot of BS and cover-up for its irresponsible failing by Honda Malaysia or whoever is responsible here. Sure there have been lots of messages from them on replacements but each time, I checked with my Honda dealer and service station here on the replacement, I get a no stock reply. My replacement still has not been done and we have told them to let us know when available. I am well aware of the risks, so how to believe them?

• Chow YW on Jan 02, 2017 at 4:58 pm

I called up Honda Peringgit a couple of months ago regarding replacement of the inflator for the front passenger air bag for my Honda City. I was told then that there was no stock and that I would be informed when to bring the car in after the stock arrives. Still waiting for them to contact me.

• Amirudin abd aziz on Feb 13, 2017 at 8:30 pm

Contacted Honda in november to chech whether my CIVIC 1.7 NEED AN AIRBAG CHANGE.UNTIL NOW NO RESPOND

• MUHAMMAD RASUL BIN HJ.RAMLI on Feb 03, 2019 at 10:55 pm

where is the honda agent closest to me to change the airbag CRV 2010