Honda Malaysia steps up Takata airbag recall awareness efforts – door-to-door approach taken

Despite the seriousness of the issue, the response rate for Honda Malaysia’s Takata airbag inflator recall leaves a lot to be desired. The company is stepping up awareness efforts as a result – it has announced that all 84 Honda dealerships nationwide will now deploy staff to go door-to-door to approach affected customers from now until December 31. They will urge owners to replace their Takata front driver airbag inflators.

The door-to-door approach is in addition to recent efforts such as the setting up of Honda Service Central Hubs, Mobile Hubs that are stationed at selected shopping malls, and Honda’s on-ground events such as the Honda Family Road Trip.

The door-to-door mobile teams will be in Honda uniforms (examples of the various uniforms below) together with an authorisation letter. Customers can contact the Honda Toll Free number at 1800-88-2020 or Honda dealers for confirmation when approached by the team. The mobile teams will also make arrangements for replacement activities on-site where necessary, if customers are genuinely unable to proceed to a dealership/hub for the replacement job.

But don’t wait. If your car is affected, make an appointment at any Honda dealership or Service Central Hub; the latter also accept walk-ins. For more info, call 1800-88-2020.

Honda Malaysia says that as of December 8, it has replaced 68% of affected driver front airbag inflators, so there are still many affected cars yet to respond to the recall. The company is also working closely with the Road Transport Department to approach current owners of affected vehicles based on JPJ data.

As for the front passenger airbag inflators, HM said late last month that stock availability is targeted to reach 70% this month. Stock availability for the driver airbag inflator has been at 100% for some time now.

You can check your Honda’s update status by calling 1800-88-2020 or by visiting any authorised Honda dealer. You can also use the company’s online VIN checker to see if your vehicle is affected.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• ask PDRM and JPJ to help. do road blocks. stop all honda city Mk 1 and Mk II. dun persoal why get flagged in road blocks.

• Kunta bin Kinte on Dec 09, 2016 at 4:23 pm

This is good and responsible of Honda. Many people buy 2nd hand and most of our Used Car dealers always will modify the odometer to show low mileage. they then tell the 2nd hand buyer that service booklet hilang so that you cannot see that the car you bought already done 150,000km. On the dashboard of the car you just bought, you see only 10,000 KM only and you are happy you bought low mileage.

So, these buyers cannot be contacted by Honda at all cause the 2nd hand dealer purposely buang the booklet as well as all information on the car.

JPJ knows about this problem as well as Puspakom but both JPJ and Puspakom kuat makan duit kopi and until today both don’t have regulations to insist original booklet is given to the 2nd hand buyer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 6
  • transformer on Dec 09, 2016 at 4:35 pm

I can only praise Honda Msia for taking proactive approach on this recall. ETCM should learn this from Honda Msia!!!

I wish the will be an ORG to monitor these recall and publish stats of airbag changed and airbag not change.

• Andrekua on Dec 11, 2016 at 5:30 pm

I think some people are not aware of the situation and were even impressed by what honda is doing. Fact remains that Honda don’t even have the stock to replace them, but kept doing PR like they really cared. My boss CRV received the letter about the changes required but was notified about the stock situation. Strangely though, no further updates since that letter.

I think since Honda had time to do these PR, why not they just disable these airbags until there’s stock to replace them. Yes, you might get hurt with this move in case the unfortunate happen but would you really risked your life over injuries that would healed over time?

The only reason I think they were doing this so openly is due the number of cases involving their cars. Had they been in the same camp with the likes of Toyota or Nissan, they would also do a silent recall.

• takes few bodies in the ground and few lawsuits before ppl do their work properly…

• Jeffrey Read on Dec 09, 2016 at 8:08 pm

Yes, shaw that is unfortunately how it works from the legal standpoint.

I am TOTALLY AGAINST S.R.S. Airbags irregardless of whatever the experts have claimed, based on specific circumstances but if the powers-that-be has the authority to make a decision against my will despite all my petitions to them, then should the inevitable happen, they can have their day in court and there will be hell to pay, that I will personally see to it.

• heybadigol (Member) on Dec 09, 2016 at 6:23 pm

That is very good of Honda Malaysia. Next time if owners still don’t get their airbags replaced, think have to resort to asking JPJ to refuse renewal of insurance and road tax for the owners, until the airbags are replaced.

• Honda Fan on Dec 09, 2016 at 11:19 pm

Thumb up for Honda in this initiative. Just recently received a letter from ETCM informing that my wife’s car required the inflator replacement but currently there is no part. This is just way too late and too slow vs Honda which I have got mine replaced more than 6 months ago.

• Peter leong on Dec 10, 2016 at 12:11 am

That is an absolute LIE!!!

It’s an absolute disgrace n Honda Malaysia should be taken to task.

I am an accord 2008 owner n i have been told time and time again there are no parts.
    I was also told it’s safe but I should drive slow in case.

Hellooo????

Management of Honda Malaysia. Please be honorable.
    I wish n pray that none of your loved ones end up injured because of your ineptness.

But please proove me wrong.
    Call my secretary miss hew at 0378723000. I will send my car to you immediately.

Incensed
    Peter leong.
    CEO
    ASSUNTA HOSPITAL.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
  • I have got a honda freed that supposed to have the airbag replaced it has been 4months since they contacted me to have it replaced but unfortunately is only call and email to me but without stock. So whats the point of this campaign

• Sustainable Cars on Dec 10, 2016 at 12:17 pm

I’m still waiting for passenger airbag. I have changed driver airbag. Honda should set up centralise database and phone call centre. We should be able to call and verify status.

• My Honda City 2010 have been waiting for the front passenger airbags replacement since 5 months ago. Called Honda Malaysia, they said whole Malaysia no stock. What the…??!! Can we stil trust Honda car? For me, I am totally disappointed with Honda

• Peng Wong on Dec 21, 2016 at 8:50 am

I sent my Honda Type R FN2 to have my airbags checked or replaced 26th November at their Puchong hub.

Forms were filled and till today there are no emails or phone calls whether my airbag is safe.

Call their 1800 helpline and was given an email address to communicate with and I got a ridiculous reply that the mail box is unmonitored and my email will not be promptly read. What bloody nonsense.