Honda Malaysia will cover Takata airbag recalls for grey imports – free parts and labour for replacements

Apart from releasing a status update on the stock availability of Takata airbag inflator replacements, Honda Malaysia has also announced that it is extending the airbag recall to grey import or “reconditioned” Honda models as well, i.e. those that were not sold by authorised Honda dealers in Malaysia.

The company advised that owners of these vehicles to contact any authorised Honda dealers in the country for details of the required preparations to get their vehicles repaired as soon as possible. Honda Malaysia will bear the cost of the parts and labour for any replacement of the airbag inflator.

As a recap of the earlier story, Honda Malaysia has said that it is trying to source as many replacement parts as possible, and is expecting to have 100% stock availability for driver airbag inflators by mid-August. Passenger airbag inflators have been more difficult to come by, and the company said that for cars that have been recalled for both the driver and passenger airbags, it may not be able to change them together.

The company will also reduce its preventive maintenance intake at its dealers to 50% from July 20, in order to make room for more people to replace their airbags. In cases where the company cannot meet the maintenance schedules of certain cars, it will extend the maintenance period, and this will be reflected accordingly in the warranty period the cars involved. Temporary central and mobile hubs will also be set up.

Honda Malaysia added that it continues to urge owners of Honda vehicles affected by the Takata airbag inflator product recall to get their vehicles repaired at authorised dealers as soon as possible. Vehicle owners can check their vehicles’ product recall status via the company’s online VIN checker or call the company’s hotline number at 1-800-88-2020 for information, or visit any Honda authorised dealer.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• I don’t expect it. Well done Honda!! Kudos for being a responsible corporate citizen.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 3
    • wanted to send my Honda NSX 2012 jdm on Jul 14, 2016 at 10:19 pm

takuya

• Kunta Kinte on Jul 15, 2016 at 9:19 am

Although good they are doing this but I suspect they have been told to do this to protect the AP cronies who have brought in lots of Streams and Odysseys

Honda Malaysia being a GLC crony of DRB Hicom simply won’t do things for free. Looks like some big gun at DRB Hicom has his 3rd wife being somebig AP Permit holder and wants to protect the Honda AP cars brought in.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
        • I drive a reconditioned Honda Accord 2004 model and am happy that Honda Malaysia is doing this for car owners like me. Of course they can later claim from Takata, so doubt that this is to protect any AP crony. Give credit when it’s due.

As for why Honda cars have defective airbags, since they were sourced from Takata, I believe at that time, they had relied on their supplier (and Takata was well-known and reliable before this), so cannot blame Honda entirely. In manufacturing industry, parts come from many suppliers and sometimes hard to detect defective parts (I am working in manufacturing industry and have similar issues with our suppliers as well, causing defect to our final product).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
          • automotive guy on Jul 18, 2016 at 8:51 am

finally, there are comment from wise person…. thank you

• karam singh on Jul 15, 2016 at 3:38 am

All the costs are to be born by Honda motor Japan and takata.

Honda malaysia will not do it for free. They will claim back 1 to 1.

• Good job, although Honda Msia should focus on local sold cars 1st.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • Now everyone can change Takata !!!!

• Toyota macais says to grey owners: lu sendri tak mau beli overpriced alfat, belfaiya, wish, estima dari saya, kenapa saya mau tolong lu?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 3
    • alfat, belfaiya, wish, estima make by toyota..not honda..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 22
      • Your point being? He did just say “toyota macais” though.

• Thats why toyota dun gip an F to grey owners when they have airbags problem. Sendri pasal for buying AP and not gip business to Albert.

• Roadside stranger on Jul 14, 2016 at 7:25 pm

Good, keep it on, Honda, this is the after sales service that what customers want. Life is important than profit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • Wilson Q on Jul 14, 2016 at 8:13 pm

Totally no sense of urgency from Honda. Called numerous time for an appointment to change the airbags but always NO STOCK!!!! wait till August???

• You think your car that need to change airbag

• Ootai on Jul 14, 2016 at 9:21 pm

Wait till accident, then only respond.

• Perhaps you can try going to other service centers if your current one is no efficient. I had the same issue when i went to the service center with the recall letter they informed me that there is currently no stock but a few days later they called to give me an appointment date to change the airbags. They even changed both passenger and driver airbags although in the letter its only stated for driver side.

• I am still waiting for driver’s airbag replacement coz honda said no stock. Yet honda keep publishing messages that owners should not delay? now honda wants to help grey importer/recond honda cars? Where is the priority?

• Tong Sampah on Jul 14, 2016 at 11:24 pm

How many recon Honda models infact lol, Toyota recond will be replaced is big news since all Estima Alphard, Harrier, Lexus all lining up…so sorry dude, UMW won’t do it

• seancorr (Member) on Jul 15, 2016 at 12:41 am

Job well done Honda Malaysia for being responsible.

• azrai on Jul 15, 2016 at 8:03 am

Clone cars from SG?

• Nagayaindran S Narayanan on Jul 15, 2016 at 8:21 am

No Kudos from me.Responsible! I don’t think so. If not for US events and local deaths forcing their hands, they will keep quite. We have no laws to force them. Called JPJ to enquire before raya, line was cut multiple times. Called road safety department, the PR department said investigations in the City fatality not completed, refered to JPJ as they are the enforcers. Emailed Honda with a point blank question if my Honda was safe to drive. In US NHTSA has put out a statement that the next drive should be to replace the faulty airbag implicitly indicating otherwise should be in storage. HONDA emailed a reply skirting around that question that when stock was available they will contact me. Cheekily another email if my customer service experience was good! In aviation we ground when defective and if not critical, a mandatory instruction comes from regulators for corrective measures with a time limitation. My view, HONDA has not lived up to its responsibilities, they need to compensate customers for mothballing their vehicles until repair. Its all about $$$$ for them, while we risk our lives! We have non-road worthy cars on the road. Regulators, take note.

• Jeffrey Read on Nov 22, 2016 at 12:42 pm

Whatever it maybe Honda Malaysia is doing the very best it can with the limited resources at its disposal, while trying to avoid adding any more legal issues it may already be facing. At this juncture, I would strongly suggest Honda Malaysia to seek proper and sound legal advice in dealing with SRS Airbag recall. Getting Customer Service to handle this for chips is simply dicing with danger!

• heybadigol (Member) on Jul 15, 2016 at 9:44 am

Good job. But how will HM prioritise between airbags of Malaysian Honda airbags and the grey import units’ airbags?

• clueless on Jul 15, 2016 at 10:53 am

Most of the comments posted suggests that most Paul Tan readers haven’t quite grasped the severity of this issue. This is a HONDA product issue. It is a global issue. Not a Honda Malaysia issue. Because of this it doesn’t matter how the car entered the market. If the affected model was legally manufactured by HONDA, it has to be rectified. Honda Malaysia is acting on instructions from Honda HQ (Japan).

Nothing to do with cronyism, nepotism, AP, BN, UMNO, 1MDB, Putri Gunung Ledang or whatever social mythical nonsense. Sometimes it is good to step away from that screen at work, take your head out of your arse and wonder that perhaps some things happen just out of common sense for the greater good of you the consumer

• Ollie on Jul 15, 2016 at 12:18 pm

“Most of the comments posted suggests that most Paul Tan readers haven’t quite grasped the severity of this issue.”

Partially.

The biggest elephant in the room: TOYOTA. Where are they? Honda is on advertising blitz cleaning up their mistakes while TOYOTA just sits quietly hoping no one notices them. Where is the replacement drive for all the Toyota cars?? How many have been replaced?? More TOYOTA cars are affected than HONDA!!

• Afiza binti Hamdan on Jul 15, 2016 at 11:41 pm

Good job n responsibilty

• But toyota no stock on Jul 16, 2016 at 7:40 am

Got stock arr? Toyota no stock wannnnn