Petrol prices will continue to rise over next 2-3 months

Petrol and diesel prices are expected to continue to rise over the next two to three months, based on the current economic climate. This was predicted by an expert on the matter, Datuk Chua Tia Guan, to Chinese daily Sin Chew Jit Poh.

According to Chua, the two main factors in play are the price of the raw crude oil and the ringgit’s performance against the US dollar.

“The government fixes the retail price for petrol and diesel with a managed float system based on the average monthly price of crude oil, and raw crude is priced in US dollars. Therefore I advise consumers to be prepared to face an even more challenging period over the next two or three months,” he added, adding that he hopes the government will consider the extra burden the rakyat will have to shoulder with rising fuel prices.

“Our country is an oil producing nation. The government should use the receipts from oil exports to provide infrastructure such as schools and roads for the rakyat. With the cost of goods rising, the government should provide subsidies or financial help to reduce the burden of the people, especially the low income group,” said Chua, who is the head of tax and financial consulting at the Great Vision Advisory Group.

The report, carried by Sinar Harian in its Dari Media Cina column, added that lorry transportation fees are set to increase soon following the rise in diesel prices. According to the lorry owners association, it is forced to raise rates as diesel makes up 20% of total operation costs.

Diesel prices went up by 10 sen to RM2.15 per litre on Feb 1. Euro 5 diesel prices went up by the same amount to RM2.25, while RON 95 petrol increased 20 sen to RM2.30. RON 97 is now RM2.60 per litre, up 20 sen. The unregulated Petron RON 100 now goes for RM3.05 per litre, up 10 sen.

Following accusations that fuel prices were increased without basis, Barisan Nasional’s strategic communications team recently release a statement explaining that the currently employed managed float system (introduced in December 2014) uses the average price of the refined product, specifically the Singapore Means of Platts (MOPS) pricing for petrol and diesel, which is public info.

“It was widely reported over the past several months that oil refineries in South-East Asia had enjoyed higher pricing and margins due to an unusually higher than normal number of refineries around the world shutting down from fires and for major maintenance work. This had reduced supply and increased the refineries’ margins and pricing, hence the higher MOGAS 95 prices,” it explained.

The comms team for the ruling coalition added that Malaysia is among the countries to still have consistently low petrol prices relative to other South-East Asian countries, and even globally.

“This is unusual as Malaysia is not a big producer and exporter of oil when compared to the other countries in the top 15 cheapest retail petrol list. In ASEAN, our RM2.30 per litre price for February compares favourably to Indonesia (RM2.73), Thailand (RM4.10), the Philippines (RM3.72) and Singapore (RM6.56),” it said, adding that Malaysians had also enjoyed prolonged periods of low petrol prices over the last two years.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Simon Ambrose on Feb 03, 2017 at 1:33 pm

I can already say it will go on untill our currency is worst than indonesia

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 117 Thumb down 3
    • Congkak on Feb 03, 2017 at 2:48 pm

And one of our smart ass minister say that a lower ringgit will be good for the economy. Phuih!!! Datuk, don’t treat the rakyat like sekolah pondok. Even nowadays the sekolah pondok students are smarter than you

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 95 Thumb down 10
      • I don’t think you have any idea how brilliant people can get coming out of sekolah pondok. maybe you should’ve compared it with some other things man. just my 2 cents

• idkwhyamihere on Feb 06, 2017 at 4:03 pm

2 cents cant do anything in malaysia. u need 20cents.

• sekolah pondok is not for stupid, better use other word

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 9
      • Kunta Kinte on Feb 04, 2017 at 3:11 pm

So shy. Oil producing country selling petrol to the rakyat so high.

• theory-wise (economics) i wont say he lied though. but time might present us with a different reality, maybe.

• Wake Up La on Feb 03, 2017 at 2:53 pm

Ringgit already the worst performer in Asean over the past 2 years. Rupiah fell around 10% while Ringgit fell almost 20% against USD.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 2
    • CarBuyer on Feb 03, 2017 at 2:59 pm

It will probably rise until a month or two before the GE, then suddenly retreat as the election looms.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 2
    • Too much Economist / Analyst in the comment section. *sit down, grab popcorn and read all comments using iphone7plus in my comfy S-class”

• Dedak in the house on Feb 04, 2017 at 7:15 pm

Which refinery caught fire??? Why dont they mention that OPEC and non OPEC members (including petronas as non cartel) kawtim to cut oil production from 1st jan 2017.. they announced it early dec 2016.. so it have increased gradually.. it will stabilize.. one day.. bcos that what they want..

• Hot dog on Feb 03, 2017 at 1:41 pm

Ya…. my fren motobikes distributor told …bike will keep on increasing the price due to currency exchange rates !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
  • Mikey on Feb 03, 2017 at 1:43 pm

No amount of explanation will make the Rakyat believe anything until & unless they publish the mechanism on how they arrive at the price.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 9
    • JIbril on Feb 03, 2017 at 4:41 pm

The mechanism for the calculation is available to many for quite some time. Even Malaysiakini published the calculation method. Do not be ignorant.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 57
      • Azrin Aziz on Feb 03, 2017 at 6:32 pm

All of us who know basic math can calculate by ourselves given you know the APM formula. Google it, do not let yourself in the dark for too long.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 30
        • Vincent Ang on Feb 04, 2017 at 11:22 am

We want an OFFICIAL MALAYSIAN GOVERNMENT publication on how the APM works. Not Malaysiakini, PaulTan or any other UNOFFICIAL source.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
          • Azrin Aziz on Feb 04, 2017 at 7:17 pm

Read this link. http://etp.pemandu.gov.my/Related_Stories-@-Petrol_prices_not_solely_determined_by_crude_oil_prices.aspx

Excel file:
            https://drive.google.com/file/d/0BzB4BiguuVlUaUxNaGd4T3ZDZnM/view

KPDNKK: https://twitter.com/mykpdnkk/status/537059374233952257

DO YOUR OWN CALCULATION, DON’T BE IGNORANT. This is the real formula, many has do the math and all results are within 5-8cents of error.

• Reality & consequences on Feb 04, 2017 at 2:59 pm

Azrin Aziz,

I work in the Oil industry. the government did not officially publish the mechanism and will not do so. Please do the math for yourself and see how the prices are derived. If you were to follow the formula, it will be in decimals and not rounded up in RM per liter. If you could enlighten all of us how the current pricing was obtained from the APM formula, please show us your mathematical workings.so try the out the numbers,and you’ll look like a fool anyway. Good luck, cheers !

• Vincent Ang on Feb 05, 2017 at 10:46 pm

Why does the government not do so? Something dirty to hide? I hope not. The government is the one setting the fuel prices. Not me and certainly not you eventhough you work in the OIl industry. Therefore, the government is responsible for making it as clear as possible how they arrive at those prices. Perhaps your kind do not understand the meaning of good governance and transparency. Do not worry about my Mathematical abilites for I studied the subject in English.

• Vincent Ang on Feb 04, 2017 at 11:18 am

You are the one who is ignorant. WE want the MALAYSIAN GOVERNMENT to make it clear once and for all how fuel prices are calculated. There is NO official MALAYSIAN GOVERNMENT publication on the fuel price calculation mechanism.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
  • Tiger88 on Feb 03, 2017 at 2:00 pm

Wait for ge14.rests is assured that rakyat would suffer until that period.This is happened when have massive corruption,no fear to God,extreme hunger to make wealth from slaughtering rakyat and incompetent people are in govt to run and no one pull their ears and when opposition spoke on behalf of rakyat they gave no sense reasons to justify.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 6
  • Uberian on Feb 03, 2017 at 2:02 pm

Tough days ahead. I’m not concerned about the price of petrol because they are cheap honestly. But the multiplier effects had me worried. Yesterday, my regular bowl of Pan Mee has increased from RM6 to RM6.50 and Pork Noodle from RM6.50 to RM7. This is when RON95 increased from RM2.10 per liter to RM2. 30 per liter. And we all know once the price of goods and services increased, they will never ever go down again no matter how well the economy recovers in the future.

Weakening Ringgit has caused all imported goods to increase in price. And even if Ringgit recovers to RM3.2 to 1 USD, imported good prices will stay inflated as if Ringgit was still RM4.45 to 1 USD. Same thing with a bowl of noodles or rice. Once increased, stay increased.

Petrol price will continue to increase in the next few months? Then food price will increase again. Tough days ahead of us, folks.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 154 Thumb down 4
    • Bash Basher on Feb 03, 2017 at 4:02 pm

A good govt will take action to cushion the burden of the citizens during tough times. Not making profit from the burden…

A good govt will be concern about every citizen regardless of their income level. BR1M is not going to make anybody’s life easier.

Sadly looking at the situation now, I don’t think our govt can govern our country well.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 3
    • JIbril on Feb 03, 2017 at 4:54 pm

And the sad part is the multiplier effect works in only one direction. When fuel price increased, other prices increased as well. But when the fuel prices went down, only a few bother to reduce back the price. I have a feeling that normal rakyat are screwing the other normal rakyat. Taking advantage by putting blames to everybody else.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 5
      • Gargantia on Feb 03, 2017 at 10:51 pm

Will car price reduce when currency back to or even 1 dollar = RM 2?!?! Rakyat only following what the government cronies are doing…

• Mokmok on Feb 03, 2017 at 2:04 pm

Oh man! – face palm

• Normal Guy on Feb 03, 2017 at 2:16 pm

But we still see many people wearing the latest fashion items hanging out in Starbucks using latest iphones leeching off free wifi while complaining about the rise of petrol price in paultan..good job.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 31
    • tokmoh. on Feb 03, 2017 at 2:44 pm

Did you know got a fb page for Msians to goreng Adidas NMD, Ultra Boost shoes beyond rm1k, and it’s so active.

Rakyat terjejas? Maslanbingung.gif

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
    • Ollie on Feb 03, 2017 at 2:45 pm

Right on comrade. We are so poor but why in Pavilion there are 2 Starbucks on 1st floor and ground floor and both are packed all of the time. Cannot afford petrol but can starbucks in pavilion.

To add, some truths:
      1. We are not an oil-producing country. We don’t produce much.
      2. High-quality oil should be sold at high prices, not used to fuel crappy cars like Myvi, Saga.
      3. Govt is not here to save your butt. You live by your own principles and no big brother/daddy/mommy is gonna take care of you.
      4. Save resources. Even with cheap oil, why must you drive to PD for lunch or Kuala Selangor for dinner? You should realise the world’s resources are depleting and reduce carbon emissions through conservation and responsible consumption.
      5. Educate yourself. We are at the bottom 10 countries in the world for petrol pump prices. The world is not Disneyland.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 55
    • Hot dog on Feb 03, 2017 at 3:08 pm

Off cos… i use my own money … i love to spend to starbuck , i phone 7 so…? Wats the problem? Perhap starbuck brew me a lousy coffee one day , I will definately delete them!!
      Iphone gave me fun , i think worth it then buy !!
      As a truely rakyat we are a good tax payer too.. so I want to ask govt , we voted you .. can you show me the caculation pls !!!??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 13
      • Normal Guy on Feb 03, 2017 at 7:42 pm

Your response sounds like a typical opposition supporter who only know how to complain. You bash and expects a free ride but yet condemn certain sections of the population getting benefits and all. Of course, you’re entitled to spend your money as you wish but then take the consequences of it. If you can afford starbucks everyday and use iphone 7 then dont complain when your petrol bill go up 20-30 bucks a month. The iPhone cost more at every iteration but that didnt stop you from buying…#justsayin

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 43
        • Hot dog on Feb 03, 2017 at 10:51 pm

My responsed to you very clear is…how you know peoples seat in starbuck , using iphone 7 complaining abt the raise petrol in paultan ??? What is the problem with those people wearing latest fashion? Here is KL bro… urban city ! Youth minister he always wear smart , don you see !! I hv to pay tax to own a luxury car… starbuck no free to me , we paid 6 % GST… raising petrol could effect everyday meals raise too… so i a bit worry, cos my workers they definately suffer more . Our costing will up if petrol up, we cannot cut workers salary terbalik we must raise thier salary just becose we want them to stay with the company, otherwise mana ada perkerja ????
          Of corse govt can stop subsidy petrol … if rakyat income strong…but problem now is majority MY income still low..you ask kilang pay RM 2500 montly perkerja see wat happen ( fallen RM time )?? The problem began actually from govt did not proper managing this country, sampai wang pergi mana pun tak herang… So the past is past … we rakyat hv to facing the coming situation ( raise petrol ) so what we hope is …… probably hopeless oso !!

• Vincent Ang on Feb 04, 2017 at 3:27 pm

I can show you millions of Malaysian ‘opposition’ supporter who have to struggle everyday for a living. You ‘government supporters can keep your free rides we the opposition supporters believe in working for a living without ‘hak istimewa’

• Ollie on Feb 06, 2017 at 5:56 pm

Nothing to do with being opposition or govt.

I’m 100% opposed to the BN govt and will fight them until the end.

Even so, I’m opposed to subsidies, and support real price at the pump with zero subsidies. I also support BR1M as a policy.

Its about having brains and using data and having simple logic.

• RicoT on Feb 03, 2017 at 4:28 pm

These are hipsters, who don’t drive car/ride motorcycle, all of them use public transport, so no kecoh2 petrol price increase. :P

• Vincent Ang on Feb 04, 2017 at 12:18 pm

Give me your phone number. For every single Starbucks and fashionable person you can show me, I will show you 100 people struggling to make ends meet.

• Normal Guy on Feb 04, 2017 at 11:21 pm

100? See, this is what people like you dont make much sense. All you do is shout. At any one time, the Starbucks in say Setia Alam has got easily 20 pax. Assuming every 4 hours you cycle 20 pax and it opens from 10-10 daily, thats 60 pax in a day which do not even count those who take away and drive through. Are you seriously going to name 6000 pax who are struggling to make ends meet? Exaggeration, much? Besides, if u know so many, u should definitely do something…they prob come to you for a reason.

#whereisthelogicalthinking

• Vincent Ang on Feb 05, 2017 at 10:53 pm

Perhaps you have been so privileged all your life that you have b[never been outside the tempurung to see the real world. Maybe you should go to some of the kampungs and new villages to see how many of them can afford Starbucks coffee.

I said I can show you these poor people and not name them. Do not put words in my mouth. Perhaps you would like to name the millions of Malaysians outside your privileged enclave of Kuala Lumpur who can afford to drink Starbucks coffee.

• Alfred on Feb 07, 2017 at 4:49 am

Iphone 7 also buy hutang monthly pay installment. haha..
            Some people are tech savvy, they want latest gadgets. Cant just judge someone financial capabilities based on that.

• tokmoh. on Feb 03, 2017 at 2:20 pm

Later samsung s8, iphone 8 launch rm4k, queue long2, sold out in 2 hours.

Macam mana kerajaan nak percaya hidup rakyat terjejas?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 38
    • Hot dog on Feb 03, 2017 at 2:54 pm

Bro. .. we never said petrol cannot increased…we rakyat hv right to know , how you govt manage ? Becos rakyat so confuse …. We rakyat macam mana nak percaya hidup menteri so mewah ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 3
    • Bash Basher on Feb 03, 2017 at 3:32 pm

Hey bro, you only mention about the middle and higher class income, what about the lower class income? Those striving to feed themselves and their family?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
    • AngPow on Feb 03, 2017 at 3:48 pm

u tau tgk itu olang belatur bli henpon saja…u tara tau itu lamai lg olang susah belatur bli nasi maw bg sama ank2 bini mkn…u tara tau ka??lu igt ini smua lakyat malaysia sumua manyak duit ka?lu idup senang lu manyak duit lu tara tau laa…lu pnya otak tara bleh pakai maa…lu tgk itu olang belatur pnjg2 bli henpon u kata rakyat senang…aiyoyo..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
    • Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Feb 03, 2017 at 4:18 pm

Then developers launching AFFORDABLE 18×50 terrace house in hulu gombak for RM999K all SNAPPED UP by INVESTORS in 10 minutes…where got rakyat dalam kesusahan?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 20
    • RicoT on Feb 03, 2017 at 4:27 pm

Only 10 pre-order units of S8/iPhone 8 brought in, that’s why long queue. Staffs work slowly, receipt machine jam, credit card machine malfunction, cash counting machine not working, etc, that is why need 2 hours to sell 10 units.

• Fucukyongtaufoo on Feb 03, 2017 at 4:37 pm

If the kerajaan is using that as their indicator to check hidup rakyat terjejas or not, then we can confirm what kind of intellectuals in the kerajaan and a better reason why kerajaan kena tukar…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 6
    • Vincent Ang on Feb 04, 2017 at 3:30 pm

Like I said, give me your handphone number and I will show you the millions of Malaysians who hidup terjejas.

• Normal Guy on Feb 05, 2017 at 11:09 pm

Millions? Population in Klang Valley is 7.2mil (I’m assuming you live in Greater KL). You mean to tell me you know 1 out of every 7 person in Greater KL? Hory sheet, that’s amazing dude! But it’s a crying shame that you can name them but cant help them. Obviously, they are asking you for help because instead of going to the proper channel for help they come to you, the person who knows millions who are suffering..in Greater KL but can’t do anything.

You just sound stupid. Stop exaggerating.

• Hot dog on Feb 06, 2017 at 10:35 am

Name out million dollars govt servants then you know you tak salah spend RM 18 a cup starbuck coffee, becos tats yr own money! !!

• Vincent Ang on Feb 06, 2017 at 11:28 pm

The population in Kl and Greater KL if you wish is only a fraction of the 30 million people living in Malaysia. You are just pretending to be ignorant of this fact. Typical BTN tactic. Neither did I say these disadvantaged millions are asking for my help. You are the one who is claiming the Starbucks crowd and the fashionably dressed people in KL are representative of the Malaysian population. By the way, the Malays form the majority in Kuala Lumpur.

• adding that Malaysians had also enjoyed prolonged periods of low petrol prices over the last two years. A word enough for you idiot-logy and stupidity. please return my taxation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 7
  • Kelentong.rakyat on Feb 03, 2017 at 2:53 pm

It’s wrong to direct convert other countries fuel prices to MYR and say our fuel price is lower. E.g. In SG they earn SGD and not MYR. Without conversion, their fuel price is lower! Kelentong btol!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 3
  • Lorry fees should not increase. When the deisel price up, they going increase but when the deisel price low, did you heart that they lower the price?

• hahaha on Feb 03, 2017 at 3:06 pm

yeah.. premium fuel

• oil baron on Feb 03, 2017 at 3:07 pm

soon the price of fuel will surpass the price of Indonesia (RM2.73), and by that time, Pendedaks will argue our fuel grade is higher than indonesia, so still the cheapest in the region, while not mentioning Brunei…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
  • Diss-illusions on Feb 03, 2017 at 3:09 pm

Already said look at MOPS but still want to talk about Crude..

MYR marginally strengthened in Jan vs Dec while Crude was fairly stable with average price for WTI Crude +USD0.50 (sourced from Bloomberg). Technically it should go down or at most flat.. BUT it didn’t because refining margins! This is due to the consolidation in the refining industry..

If like this don’t need to call Great Vision la.. Seems like no vision also..

• In this article it is mentioned the price is based on crude oil. In another article by Minister they say based in refined and not crude. Can anyone kindly be precise and smart to be exact on which is correct so we can see which Monkey is lying to the public ?

• JIbril on Feb 03, 2017 at 5:45 pm

It should be refined oil. Even Malaysiakini confirms that. We trust Malaysiakini right?

• Azrin Aziz on Feb 03, 2017 at 6:35 pm

The govt set price based on MOGAS in Singapore. Find the price and the APM formula using Google and you can calculate and forecast the price yourself

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
      • Vincent Ang on Feb 04, 2017 at 3:12 pm

We want the Malaysian government to officially state how the APM calculations are done. Which Kementerian Kerajaan Malaysia do we go to to see such an official declaration? Stop this Google rubbish.

• Vincent Ang on Feb 05, 2017 at 4:04 pm

Official formula used by the Malaysian government has never been published. Thieves and lanuns?

• Ben Yap on Feb 03, 2017 at 3:36 pm

the weakening of RM is not caused by malaysians. it’s caused by the government. why should we malaysians bear the brunt of it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
    • JIbril on Feb 03, 2017 at 5:33 pm

It’s a global phenomenon. Malaysia is not the only country suffering from the exchange rate. Heck, the pound is suffering more than us.

You are saying that weakening of RM is not caused by Malaysians? LGE went to Hong Kong in 2014 and was talking bad things about Malaysia. That is not how you are suppose to build up potential/current investors’ confidence. Not patriotic at all. It’s all about gaining political mileage. When the economy is bad, you must project positive to get investment and not the other way round.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 46
      • Hot dog on Feb 03, 2017 at 6:18 pm

Ok .. i accept you global phenomnon… tell me Indo , thai , sg , brunei drop % comparing MY ?? Again I accept you 2014 cause by LGE….. what about 2016 cause by who ??
        And last … how you gonna to build up potentail/ current investors confident now ??
        Pls help project positive to oversea investors , they may want to listen ….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
      • If you said LGE is not patriotic at all. ah jib should resignation for sake of patriotic because make million of Malaysian suffering if we compare with LGE statement.

• john is otak batu on Feb 03, 2017 at 3:38 pm

The more they talk, the more vote they will lose next PRU. By that PRU time, exchange rate to SGD should be 3.2, to USD should be 4.8.. Sad, no light at the end of tunnel for rakyat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • JIbril on Feb 03, 2017 at 5:05 pm

Why the exchange rate must be at USD4.8? Do you think the government cannot peg it at USD3.8 like what was done back in 1998? Don’t you think there is a reason for why the ringgit is not pegged?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 20
      • No money no pegging on Feb 03, 2017 at 5:48 pm

Pegging requires large amount of foreign reserves. U sure we hav it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
        • JIbril on Feb 03, 2017 at 6:22 pm

Yes we do. Back in 1998 our foreign reserve was at USD20 billion. In December 2016, we are at USD94.6 billion.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 13
          • Hot dog on Feb 03, 2017 at 10:59 pm

Haha… 1998 we cannot pegging ! tats why we lock it at 3.80 . RM tak boleh trade in oversea market lah !!!

• Henry on Feb 03, 2017 at 11:03 pm

You must measure the reserve àgainst the amount of RM printed since 1998. The reserve amount is not static and neither is the RM money supply. You must take a ratio of the two. Fyi the RM money supply today is 1006 billion against the reserve of 94 billion. You do the maths. Suddenly 94 b doesn’t seem that much.

• Vincent Ang on Feb 05, 2017 at 4:01 pm

How much is our public debt today compared to 1998?

• Henry on Feb 03, 2017 at 7:26 pm

Some people think they can peg the RM against air. LOL.

• Hot dog on Feb 03, 2017 at 6:26 pm

Govt said USD 1 to RM 4.5 is freaking good to MY , tats after RM fall so much govt said to rakyat. Wat I want to say is…. if , its so good, govt should act before , make RM fall …why some years ago 3.80 up to 3.10 said the other way round ??

• Tok Janggut on Feb 03, 2017 at 4:16 pm

It is not fair to make oil price comparison by converting currency. Of course, the figure will lean to Malaysia. You need to compare with people earning each month. If Singapore bus driver will earn SD 3000 per month, so Malaysian bus driver also will earn RM 3000 per month. Only uses that figure, we can see that Singaporean enjoy SG 1.95 per liter as compared to Malaysia had to pay RM 2.30 per liter. Just look at the actual figure not converting it. The statement makes me as normal people feel angry

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 3
    • JIbril on Feb 03, 2017 at 5:18 pm

You bring out a good point there. But, if we need that sort of study, you need to take into consideration other factors as well. Take into example the rental of a typical 3 bedroom HDB flat in singapore which are close to CBD. It will set back singaporean in the region of SG3000. You can rent a nice 3 bedroom apartment in kl for RM1k or less. The singaporean might earn more, but their expenses can be higher. We cannot scope everything in terms of earnings to directly compare what they are paying at the petrol pump. Do you wonder why singaporeans are paying taxes than us?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 28
      • JIbril on Feb 03, 2017 at 5:53 pm

Correcting my statement. It should read “Do you wonder why singaporeans are paying higher taxes than us?”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 27
        • Singaporeans pay lesser tax my friend for the same income bracket. Please do not convert. The earning and buying power in a SINGAPORE is also so much higher than MALAYSIA. Compare a teachers s salary in both countries – Singapore maybe 6k Malaysia about 3-4K and that too in RM. Go to mcdonalds – Singapore 5SGD but wonderful Malaysia 5 ringgit also cannot get. House much better quality and guaranteed you will get. In Malaysia after about 60 years of independence, repeat 60 years still no guarantee, consumer pays even if house not delivered, developer scot free and always the below rich class suffer. Rich carry on sucking money. Please lah enough of this gomen nonsense.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
          • That’s why fuel price in Singapore is relatively cheaper if compared to Malaysia. And don’t forget public transport system in Singapore is super duper unlike in Malaysia badly maintained buses and taxis and our bad attitude drivers and on top of that reckless! After 60 years still no enforcement cause all the people in power busy making dirty money for themselves.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
      • Hot dog on Feb 03, 2017 at 6:46 pm

First … tell me SG personal tax rates ?
        16 , 17 or 18 %? …. what abt MY ?

• I think you should compare both close to CBD to make a meaningful comparison. Apple-apple comparison so to speak.

A place close to CBD in Singapore, vs a place close to CBD in KL.

I highly doubt you can get a 3 bedroom place for RM1k close to CBD in KL. You may not even get one for RM3k/month. Yes the market is softer now, but RM1k is just not realistic.

• Henry on Feb 03, 2017 at 7:27 pm

Some people think Singaporeans earn RM and buy fuel with RM. LOL.

• Yes, hope to see a record breaking at RM 3.00 per litre under the Ahjib kor’s regime.

The previous highest petrol price is at RM 2.80 per litre during the Badawi time.

we must continue to support the robber BN. haha.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • Diss-illusions on Feb 04, 2017 at 9:10 am

That SHOULD be the case! We have been mollycoddled for far too long with no proper attention given to fix our economic structure.

After over 50yrs of independence only we start to remove subsidy and invest in public transport in a big way.

Our companies are not competitive due to the subsidy mentality. All they expect is gomen help rather than try to innovate and survive.

Past administrations have created so many fat cats (not just talking about crony companies) and it’s crippling the economy.

• pondan on Feb 03, 2017 at 5:36 pm

raising fuel price, food, transport and everything that you can think… is just the symptoms.

What we should ask is, how prudent the gov spent the money and where it has gone to.

Badly run country will run into unnecessary raise of prices due to lost of confident and lead to rubbish ringgit where all cost are being priced (like it or not, we will need to import raw materials, fertilizer, etc etc to even build parts, grow veg and manufacture goods and etc etc).

every year AG highlights gaps in spending but no action. what we really have is a lousy gov that’s totally corrupted.

There are some good civil servants but the overall, bad gov is really unjust for the good ones.

All I can say, it’s sad… really sad. Love this country.. .but the gov is really screwing it up.

• Diss-illusions on Feb 04, 2017 at 9:16 am

True… By and large the civil servants are an issue.

Many don’t realise and perhaps the gomen should also change the method; there are measures done to address the issues highlighted in the AG report for some.. The lembu case is one and the PTPTN is another.

The fact that MACC has been claiming public lime light for all the right things of late is a step in the right direction. But more needs to be done as you rightly pointed out.

• when oil was cheap why prices didnt go down by even 10cents?????????????
    damn arsehole!!!

• Borneo Darul Seram on Feb 03, 2017 at 8:48 pm

More people will convert to NGV again soon… Ohwai

• Johorian on Feb 04, 2017 at 9:15 am

When oil price is low, said Gov can’t sustain so oil price can’t sell so low and won’t drop price, when oil price is high sure goes up as fast…everything got excuses…the money earn use to build school la, this la, that la, but all using in projects for cronies is the fact.

• I think many thought the rakyats are just a bunch of whiners since they are still spending on luxury coffee drinks and phones.
    Someone here had pointed out a class that is forgotten, the hardcore poor and the lower income class. They don’t get to enjoy starbucks coffee and they are still using Nokia phones for Pete’s sake! so what about this group of people? Anyone of u smart-S care to say anything about this group like ‘in order to curb expenses, you ppl should cut down on sugar?salt?ride bikes instead of spending on public transports?don’t use fan while sleeping?cut down to 1 meal a day instead of 3 or 2??
    Moreover, not all states have the convenience of public transports. there are states where the public transports are seriously limited and in dire need of improvements and aids from the G!
    I really think that its time for the G to consider about the lower income group rather than trying to come up with ways to obtain returns from higher income group people.
    Let’s consider this simply, to peg or not to peg the RM has pros and cons but the way i see it, the G should really do something abt it so as to ensure the increase of goods are kept to a minimal. Fuel prices are bound to increase but at the current rate, its too much to absorb. Malaysia is the only country where the subject on fuel price is highly talked about and griped.

• If you want to make a comparison to other country, kindly make it transparent, not just a fuel, Thailand as you said rm4.10, but Thailand without tolls, road tax, etc lower then Malaysia and their are petrol station control by station owner not government, also our country is an oil producing oil.

• Now axia full tank alrdy rm 60 later increase again all big again can put hse already more kapchai on the road

• Aniki on Feb 04, 2017 at 10:28 am

It doesn’t matter the petrol price goes up or down, i prefer the price stick at the ceiling price last time at RM2.70/litre. You only can imagine hawkers are the one to be blamed to increase food and beverages price whenever there is an increment of the petrol price or toll fee, they never adjust back the price when the petrol price went down. Salary structure won’t change in 20 years but food and beverages are the one that cost us higher living cost…

• When will there be protest?

• Vincent Ang on Feb 04, 2017 at 11:25 am

The Malaysian Government has never officially published the actual calculations behind the APM. Where is the official source? Dishonesty is the word here.

• “According to Chua, the two main factors in play are the price of the raw crude oil and the ringgit’s performance against the US dollar.”

that day said is not due to crude oil price?
    anyway it will drop before next GE. we all can predict the pattern already.

• Mr Syoik Syukur on Feb 04, 2017 at 12:16 pm

Syukur lah, Malaysia is still peaceful. At least, I can still buy Gardenia bread and sardin to feed my kids, and buy pirated DVD for my kids to watch at home during weekend. My wife can buy cheap vegetables at Segi market. Syukur….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
    • ae101 on Feb 04, 2017 at 5:12 pm

Bro, respect your moderate life style and positive thinking. But bear in mind country wont be aman when people are getting from poor to poorer. There will be more criminal cases happen. Also our hard earned money are being day robbed by gomen. Supposely we are paying them to give us better life and not the other way round. I don’t want myself and family makan gardenia, sardin, nasi putih with kari. Malaysia is full of resources. Base on this alone Rm should be stronger than our neighbor. Look at menteri menteri today, they are living in lavish life and they told you minyak naik go take bus or jalan kaki? Sayur mahal pergi tanam sendiri? WTTFFF man!! GE is coming soon and please vote wisely. Syukur with allah can’t help you dude.

• david on Feb 04, 2017 at 4:48 pm

“our RM2.30 per litre price for February compares favourably to Indonesia (RM2.73), Thailand (RM4.10), the Philippines (RM3.72) and Singapore (RM6.56)”

Hello dear all the minister, do you even know that when convert other country currency to MYR is very hilarious?! And you all the minister should shame on your self to convert other currency to MYR when our Ringgit is so weak hence the high value other ASEAN country currency convert to MYR.

That is all a lie and try to divert rakyat eye that our RM2.30/ltr oil price is still cheap compare to other country. Please la, that conversion only try to fool the rakyat that we the people of Malaysia earn SG dollar, rupian, bath, etc.. and then rakyat spend the oversea money in Malaysia???!!!

Try to get the point here, rakyat earn RM, and spend RM all day long, is not possible for rakyat to spend RM in other country right? Even Thailand do not want to accept RM now!! So all the minister very cleaver that they convert other country oil price to RM/MYR? IF like that then we the rakyat know what to do la in the next GE..

• Andrekua on Feb 04, 2017 at 7:56 pm

Gov shouldn’t meddle with businesses. Government is just annoying with its protection over the supply chain. Why not free float it for real? Stop controlling everything. If those bumi that are monipolying the bulk of petrol stations can’t compete, just ask them to get out of the business and retire. Just leave the business for those who wanna compete. They are just overly protecting which is why when prices goes down, it only dropped 5sen, 10sen but when it rises, 15 cents, 20 cents easily. So much buffer for them when price drop, but no buffer for us when price increase?

• Chon Siong on Feb 07, 2017 at 6:33 pm

They had forgot that Malaysia is also a country to export petroleum and will get a lot profit from that as all the export currency is in USD as well …