2017 Honda Civic Hatchback teased for Thailand again

Honda Thailand has released a second teaser for the upcoming Civic Hatchback, which is set to be launched in the kingdom soon (reports point towards an early March debut).

As you can see, the teaser prominently shows us one of the main selling points of the Civic hatch – its shape – something that should be pretty familiar to the masses by now. If you need a refresher, the Civic Hatchback’s rear features large faux “outlets”, a tailgate spoiler, C-shaped taillights and centre-mounted exhaust outlets (like on European market models).

Similarly, the front sports a new bumper with large intakes with fog lamps incorporated within them. The Civic Hatchback’s upper apron as well as the bonnet, remains largely unchanged from the sedan. The hatchback’s interior will be carried over from the sedan wholesale as well.

The 1.5 VTEC Turbo petrol engine (173 PS/220 Nm) from the sedan will be offered to customers in Thailand, and will likely be joined by the naturally-aspirated 1.8 i-VTEC mill as well. While the CVT is a definite pairing with the engines, a six-speed manual as offered in European models will most likely be given a miss.

Interested? Unfortunately, Honda Malaysia has stated that the company currently has no plans to offer the Civic Hatchback here, but there’s always the “power of dreams.”

GALLERY: Honda Civic Hatchback (European market)

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• civicx on Feb 21, 2017 at 3:13 pm

bring it on to msia..cant wait to own it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • I am proud of my foreign car...... on Feb 21, 2017 at 4:19 pm

Me too. Can’t wait the airbag too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
      • Oleh Oleh on Feb 21, 2017 at 6:54 pm

Sedan more laku di Malaysia

• I am proud of my foreign car...... on Feb 22, 2017 at 9:01 am

Don’t know why they dislike my comment before. I wonder are they don’t want honda put the airbag?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
        • jinggo on Feb 22, 2017 at 9:41 am

It’s Takata la pandai…

• I am proud of my foreign car...... on Feb 23, 2017 at 8:37 am

ooooo the takata….Nevermind…Hopefully it is honda. Who care about the airbag mehhhh…brand is number one in car selection….

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Feb 21, 2017 at 5:42 pm

Honda…cars for the masses

• passion on Feb 21, 2017 at 5:09 pm

the sedan looks good with this rear design!

• awesomesause on Feb 21, 2017 at 5:35 pm

manual hatch please

• Why the exhaust at centre? It looks like turtle tail.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
  • F.UHonda on Feb 21, 2017 at 10:59 pm

Power of Nightmares la Honda, poor quality interior materials compared to other rivals in Malaysia especially.
    Stupid design team included. Latest City FL looks like shit compared to old one although having LED lights. Kedai Ah Beng and Abang sell LED bulbs too.LOL
    Type R is no match compared to other more powerful hot hatches with better engines and gearbox.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 10
    • Samrich on Feb 22, 2017 at 5:16 pm

What rivals? Toyota Altis? Cheap plastic all round, lousy gearbox and fuel sucking engine…oh yah airbag count-2? Nissan Almera, Kia, Hyundai, what else? Oh, Mazda 3? Another overpriced car with lousy gearbox and big engine. Ever tried to test drive these cars before typing rubbish here?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
  • samuelchia on Feb 23, 2017 at 12:13 am

Either you are too stupid or blind to notice Honda’s Infamous Poor built quality inside and out bro.
    Cheapskate parts everywhere including the Civic FC, City, Jazz and the Hideous HRV. Rattling sounds and low garbage grade plastics inside cars . SAD:(
    The FU Honda writer comments are totally correct. Proof is on Honda Malaysia’s FB page.
    All kinds of negative comments bro. No offence to you bro.