Honda Civic Type R leaked ahead of Geneva debut

The Honda Civic Type R is one of the most highly anticipated cars at this year’s Geneva Motor Show but ahead of its global debut, images of what appears to be hot hatch have made their way to the internet.

If you loved the Civic Type R Prototype that Honda showed you during last year’s Paris Motor Show, good news! The car seen in both images appear nearly identical to that concept, from the aggressive aero features right down to the triple-pipe exhaust setup.

The only difference as far as we can see is the customary white paint job synonymous with Honda Type R models, a stainless steel exhaust instead of the red-accented one on the concept, and the sighting of some red bucket seats inside.

Under the hood, Honda has already confirmed that a 2.0 litre VTEC Turbo petrol engine will power the new Civic Type R, paired with a proper six-speed manual as it should be. No word on power but it’s been said the drivetrain is “engineered to deliver the most rewarding drive in the hot hatch segment” but did not reveal much in the way of the car’s performance.”

Additionally, production of the Civic Type R will kick off in summer 2017 at Honda of the UK Manufacturing (HUM) facility in Swindon, which is where the previous FK2 Civic Type R was made.

Is this the real thing or is it the work of a rendering wizard? We’ll uncover the truth when the car is officially unveiled in Geneva really, really soon. For now, do you like what you see?

GALLERY: Honda Civic Type R Prototype

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Alifzz on Mar 06, 2017 at 10:50 am

I hope that we could get the Japan spec body just like FD2R. This option is too menace.

• Tebo type R? Might as well get WRX sti or EvoX. At least got AWD

• The only comment is…double exhaust tips is enough. Like so kiasu…

• 4G63T DSM on Mar 06, 2017 at 2:29 pm

If only the 3rd middle one is the un-silenced turbo dump pipe.

That be some mean sounding car if it was.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Mar 06, 2017 at 3:35 pm

classic ah beng car….which is somehow fast