Mitsubishi to delay introduction of new ASX, Outlander

Mitsubishi is said to be delaying the introduction of its next-generation ASX and Outlander following the automaker’s assimilation into the Nissan-Renault Alliance. Suppliers say the stay order is so that engineers can see how the two vehicles are able to share parts and elements with Nissan models, Automotive News reports.

The new Outlander was slated to be launched sometime in the first quarter of 2019, with the replacement for the third-gen ASX due to arrive in 2020. Now, word is that the introduction of former has been pushed back to late 2019 or early 2020, and the new ASX won’t see the light of day until 2021.

According to a supplier, development of both models have been halted as the automaker and Nissan look to find ways to share components and underpinnings, the ASX with the Nissan Qashqai (known as the Rogue Sport in the US) and the Outlander, with the X-Trail (the Rogue in the US). The idea is to standardise elements hidden away from sight in a bid to cut costs.

The completion of Nissan’s purchase of a 34% stake in Mitsubishi last year saw the mention of Nissan and MMC cooperating on a wide-ranging synergy of programmes, including joint purchasing and plant localisation as well as common vehicle platforms and technology sharing in a bid to reduce costs.

Platform sharing and co-development have of course been bandied – there’s talk of the Alliance consolidating all its electric vehicle platforms, and there is a possibility that the next-generation Nissan NP300 Navara and Mitsubishi Triton could share the same underpinnings and tech, albeit with their own distinct styling.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Aikon on Mar 22, 2017 at 3:47 pm

What about this facelift of the ASX then since there will not be a new model?

https://paultan.org/2016/04/18/facelifted-mitsubishi-asx-to-make-asian-debut-in-beijing/

• Lawrence on Mar 22, 2017 at 3:51 pm

I dun want the ASX ! Where is the Triton Sport? I cannot believe that Mitsubishi left this space empty for Toyota fortuna, Nissan & Ford to capture! @@

• there u have pajero sport which is based on the triton chassis…when malaysia going to have the new pajero sport..indonesia already launch the new pajero sport..

• Michael Goh on Mar 22, 2017 at 4:03 pm

good everybody is merging. Now Mitsubishi will get even stronger.

This is what you call humility and humble and being clever.

Dont be bodoh and arrogant, your company not doing well also can aksi and make demands from people who want to merge with you

• Kunta Michael on Mar 22, 2017 at 4:24 pm

What a waste, new resigns are outstanding

• Mikey on Mar 22, 2017 at 4:25 pm

The advantages of sharing platform & technology in a bid to reduce costs is a good thing for all parties(Nissan-Renault-MMC) Alliance concern.

Just don’t take too long to introduce it to the public else your products will be deem forgotten as the saying goes – Out of sight, out of mind. Don’t waste anymore time as time is of essence($$$)

• The sad part is, there will be no more Mitsubishi blood, or rather less Mitsubishi blood from now onward…

• EnergyAnalyst on Mar 23, 2017 at 6:51 am

My first thought…The cost cutting measures are set in motion…My second thought could it be we would finallt have a Qashqai in a different guide ? May not be a bad thing to wait a few more years for since TCM is not bringing Qashqai in. Do one for Juke too please