Fuel discounts are not allowed for now – KPDNKK

The domestic trade, cooperatives and consumerism ministry (KPDNKK) has confirmed that fuel retailers will not be allowed to offer discounts on fuel for now. In a report by The Star, the ministry’s corporate communications head Akhtar Sahari did say that fuel retailers would be allowed to do so in the future.

“For now, they must follow the retail price set by the ministry. Yes, we will allow them to give discounts but not right now. We are unsure when the new measures will kick in,” said Sahari. He added that the ministry would first need to prepare proper guidelines to ensure the concerns of low-volume fuel retailers are dealt with in light of such a move.

Petrol stations are only allowed to sell fuel at the retail prices set by the government for now, and rumours of a price war among retailers were shut down by the ministry. This comes after screenshots of a smartphone app’s listing of lower fuel prices went viral recently, to which Sahari reminded consumers to be wary of such apps as they could be inaccurate in their listings.

The switch to the new fuel ceiling price mechanism has already happened as of March 29, where fuel prices will be announced on a weekly basis instead of monthly. Fuel retailers will be able to follow the government-set ceiling prices or set them lower but it appears lower will have to wait for now. The ministry had previously stated that retailers looking to offer discounts on fuel prices would be required to submit a formal application before doing so.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Gaviny on Mar 31, 2017 at 7:59 pm

What keletong is this?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
    • i don’t know why pipu here are complaining so much. We don’t even need the discounts. Our petrol is so dirt cheap. Come on guys, stop complaining. Petrol so cheap also yet we want further discounts?? Oh wai!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 88
      • iamyasmin on Apr 01, 2017 at 4:28 pm

Our petrol is so dirt cheap compared to Saudi Arab. Lolx

• Nasi Lemak 4.0 on Apr 02, 2017 at 10:31 am

What a weirdo. Malaysians are suffering and yet you talk like this?

• That’s john to you, my friend. he’s like a joker in this site n taunt people around.

• Curi Curi Malaysia on Apr 01, 2017 at 3:01 pm

Already we are overpaying Gomen by more than 70 sen per litre. According to world oil prices, after processing, the price of Ron 95 should not be more than RM1.50 per litre.

In Saudi Arab, it is US$ 25 sen per litre (RM1.10).

Malaysia is the ONLY oil producing country selling to its rakyat super high petrol prices.

Per month, rakyat overpay BILLIONS to kerajaan. But yet, our hospitals have no medicine!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 2
      • Diskaun petrol tidak diperlukan kerana ia boleh menjejaskan pendapatan kerajaan. Kerajaan sudah menyediakan BR1M dan pembinaan MRT serta menaikkan tahap kemudahan pengangkutan awam.

Ini semua dapat meringankan kos sara hidup terutama untuk golongan bawahan dan tengah.

• I think what you said is true. World oil price is low now. No wonder Sg and Thais oil price are very low now compare to us. Get it?

• Haji Tan Aramugam on Apr 02, 2017 at 12:37 pm

April Fools!

• Someone pls call Salleh Keruak…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • like i said, Salleh Keruak will give a good reason for this. Trust in our Government. They care for the rakyat and everything is done for the best of the rakyat.

Even our car prices are going down past few years. Pipu in Malaysia just like to complain. Oh wai!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 34
      • heybadigol on Apr 01, 2017 at 4:56 pm

Harap diorang tak buang diskaun saman.

• Meanwhile Team Oppo is trying to find the headless chicken they heard so much about…

• Haji Tan Aramugam on Apr 02, 2017 at 12:39 pm

not sure if john is actually a troll or a kaki lick kerak sebati.

• Haslina on Apr 02, 2017 at 11:17 am

Thumbs Up if you like discounts!

• Albert Yong on Mar 31, 2017 at 8:15 pm

What he is saying is simply this….PDAM is Supreme in Malaysia. If PDAM say sit down, gomen will sit obediently. If PDAM tell gomen stand, gomen will stand obediently.

What he is also saying is PDAM decides what they want to do cause it is the big guns and cronies that hold all the petrol licenses.

With this in mind and how powerful PDAM is, we should propose that PDAM be disbanded (cause too powerful) and petrol station licenses be open to EVERYONE in Malaysia and not just a selected few.

Every single of the 30 million rakyat got the right to apply for petrol station license if they have the ability to run the station.

Now PDAM is acting like the AP cowboys. Everyone in Malaysia suffers just because 20 or 30 cronies want to get richer and richer.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 8
    • K Kannan on Apr 01, 2017 at 4:37 pm

Air mineral 500ml kat kedai Muthu RM2.50..mahal… kuikkuihkuuih

• HANKSS on Apr 01, 2017 at 6:59 pm

Albert..you know nuts about running a petrol station in Malaysia. Get the FACTS right before commenting.Anyone can run a petrol station in Malaysia. Here are the FACTs of being DODO (Dealer Owned Dealer Operates):
      1. You needs a land (1+ acre) along main road.
      2. You needs $$, lots of them…
      to convert your land to petrol station land.
      to build the stations (building, canopy, etc)
      to buy all equipments (pump, tank, etc)

Not too much…about RM4 millions CASH, provided your grand father gave you the land.

By Getting a licence will get you a petrol station, STOP dreaming.

Another CHEAP way to run a petrol station…of course, if you are lucky enough to be selected. (1st interview, 2nd interview, 3rd training).

1) Malaysian Citizen
      2) Age between 23 – 45 years.
      3) sole-proprietorship (meaning, no sdn bhd…you cough up your own $$)
      4) working capital of RM200,000
      5) Heard of BG ? (bank guarantee) you need to provide one..about RM200,000 on top of item 4.

Not too much, you need RM500,000 CASH to get started.

Everyone can apply, but not everyone can afford it…at least before age 45 ?
      –all the infos can be google. (dealership petronas, dodo petrol stations)
      PDAM – has nothing to do with running a petrol station.

• You are Kunta Albert and many mores on Apr 01, 2017 at 10:42 pm

Copy and paste. So boring.

• Albert Yong on Mar 31, 2017 at 8:23 pm

This also sounds like car prices in Malaysia. Everything also set by MITI. Honda Malaysia wanted to sell the new Honda City starting from RM50k, but MITI said no such thing. Minimum is RM78k.

So what real competition do we have here? All tipu tipu competition. All car companies are owned by Gomen. Toyota is UMW, Honda is DRB, Hyundai is Sime, BMW is Sime, Ford is Sime.

All the competition is all a drama to fool the rakyat. The same with petrol price war. It is all a drama to fool the rakyat into believing there is a price war.

For 30 years, we have been fooled to think there is a price war between BMW and Mercedes. And there is a price war between Honda, Toyota and Nissan.

Think again. How can there be a price war when MITI has laready determined every single car price? (to protek Proton of course)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 0
    • Curi Curi Malaysia on Apr 01, 2017 at 3:05 pm

Same story like AP. Give AP to selected few, yet they don’t know how to run and manage things. Tido only they know.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
    • Kelab Pembenci Kunta on Apr 01, 2017 at 3:12 pm

All those begging for discounts are lazy people. Do you know our petrol is cheapest in the world?

Instead of complaining, work hard to afford the already cheap petrol in Malaysia. What do you expect? 70 sen a liter?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 54
      • basherlogic on Apr 01, 2017 at 4:46 pm

PM provide RM4,000 Discounts To Purchase Proton Iriz.
        according to john All those begging for discounts are lazy people… Oh wait!

• alldisc on Apr 03, 2017 at 10:02 am

correction. BMW Malaysia is a subisidiary of BMW AG in Germany. Sime Darby is now only a dealer (super dealer since it has many branches). same goes to Mercedez Benz Malaysia (subsidiary of Daimler Chrysler) and Volkswagen Passenger Cars Malaysia (VPCM, formerly known as VGM) – a subsidiary of VAG.

• paparadzi (Member) on Mar 31, 2017 at 8:45 pm

Competition is not the Malaysian way. Free market? What is that?

1Malaysia Boleh!

• Lau Tak Keong on Mar 31, 2017 at 8:47 pm

Same bashers with same copy paste story will come here to post same negative comment

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 31
    • Kelab Pembenci Kunta on Apr 01, 2017 at 3:14 pm

yup, they fail to realise that Malaysia is cheap to live in and corruption is very minimal. We are cleaner than Singapore!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 42
  • takNakP1 on Mar 31, 2017 at 9:13 pm

y i m not even surprised or angry? all i can say is CHICKEN.

• Market forces gip Cheaper petrol..pegi berambus KPDNKK

• Ah Kow on Mar 31, 2017 at 9:21 pm

Tak apa ini normal ok.

Flip flop, U Turn, Reverse, gostan gostan…Rakyat didahulukan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • What to expect from our government.
    If government is business entity, sure you will lose a lot of customer. But now we do not have a choice.

• dpillai on Mar 31, 2017 at 9:24 pm

Whatever la KPDNKK..haih.. penat dah aku.

• UMW TOYOTA on Mar 31, 2017 at 9:43 pm

gov like to talk shit… say buy 1 free 1..but with T&C freebies out of stock

• 4G63T DSM on Mar 31, 2017 at 9:50 pm

The FUEL PRICE manipulator has ARRIVED!!

• What is wrong with a price war? Healthy competition is always good for us, consumers. I wonder how long ‘in the future’ will take for the ministry to allow discount. Maybe when the prices of fuel are already sky high…

• Vincent on Mar 31, 2017 at 10:42 pm

G has admitted that they are not after the welfare of people! They only care their cronies!

• Shamgti on Mar 31, 2017 at 10:54 pm

Govmt always tipu2 rakyat..no price war.

• alldisc on Mar 31, 2017 at 11:03 pm

Anti competition act

• Whatever on Mar 31, 2017 at 11:15 pm

mlm

• Malaysian Malaysia on Mar 31, 2017 at 11:16 pm

most probably KPDNKK just realized the lower the price, the lesser tax paid. it doesn’t matter that allocations for schools and universities are cut, what matter is that the ministry can do expensive annual dinner/gala at a hotel. lol..

• panjang on Mar 31, 2017 at 11:33 pm

The gomen really know how to lost trust of tye people…..
    Just show how low is the thinking ability and planning ability of the gomen.Just leave the fuel price alone,let the retailer decide.All your decision does not favor anyone except your crony.

• Very funny la this government. First subsidy gone, then float the price, now set ceiling price. So professionalisms. Very efficiency.

• Talk kok Roti Prata on Mar 31, 2017 at 11:52 pm

See! What a prata govt that we have in MY! How to progress ?

• Dulu lain cakap, sekarang cakap lain, menteri kelas 3. Belit sana sini.
    Kalu mat meselan jagu kpdnkk, apa pulak yang akan dia kata….

• Nasi Lemak Yeah! on Apr 01, 2017 at 12:17 am

So gomen as usual maen tipu la.. tak boleh pakai punye Nasi Lemak management!

• pak belalang on Apr 01, 2017 at 1:15 am

No need to give discount.
    Offer better service like sexy pump attendants or free mineral water for every $XX of fuel to draw in the customers.
    Let the survival of the fittest thrive & let those who are unable to compete fold.
    I am sure that due to the limited franchise licence there is always someone to take over the business.

• Kelvin on Apr 01, 2017 at 2:53 am

Flip flop flip flop. How high is Malaysia in the ease of doing business ranking again?

• William on Apr 01, 2017 at 7:55 am

Slow decision and execution strategy by government

Instead of protecting and backup rakyat, they prefer to protect petrol station…

What a shame !!!

• Just talk cock la!

• Haram jadah..kena main lg dengan menteri

• Piupiupiu on Apr 01, 2017 at 10:58 am

“For now, they must follow the retail price set by the ministry. Yes, we will allow them to give discounts but not right now. We are unsure when the new measures will kick in”

Maksudnya, memang takkan ada diskaun la sampai bila-bila..

• Gomorrah on Apr 01, 2017 at 11:11 am

You, the ministry, are unsure? Your ministry is supposed to be in charge of this right? Who are you trying to pacify now? PDAM? Some other crony?

• Elchino on Apr 01, 2017 at 12:57 pm

Don’t they plan things carefully before implementation? This flip flob practice of our authorities shows their poor judgement

• Takdulaku P1 on Apr 01, 2017 at 2:56 pm

Malaysian Government: Flip-Flop at its Finest!
    All run by ministers with low IQ.

• Olang kita on Apr 01, 2017 at 3:39 pm

Ha2……..lawak la….

• ae101 on Apr 01, 2017 at 6:57 pm

Guys, Petronas is the big shot and have the most stations out there. Do you think gomen will go for price competition? Election is near the corner and gomen need a lot of cash. Choose wisely coming GE.

• HANKSS on Apr 01, 2017 at 7:04 pm

AP is AP.
    Petrol station is petrol station..why link them ?

• KPDNKK ada banyak stesen minyak ke takut rugi?

• Wise Guy on Apr 02, 2017 at 12:16 am

rakyat kena tipu sudah….

• 50 years ago,Singapore was an undeveloped country with a GDP per capita of less than US $320. In 2013, it is one of the world’s fastest growing economies. Its GDP per capita has risen to an incredible USD55000, making it 1 of the highest in the world based on CIA figures. For a country that lacks territory and natural resources, Singapore’s economic ascension is nothing short of remarkable.

By embracing globalization, free market capitalism, education, and strict pragmatic policies, the country has been able to overcome their geographic disadvantages and become a leader in global commerce.

Again,50 years ago,almost identical to Singapore,Malaysia too,was an undeveloped country with a GDP per capita of about the same. 2013, it has risen to an incredible USD10500! Oh wait,thought it was a 6 digit figure. Nvm this story.