2017 Benelli RFS150i Malaysia launch – from RM7,407

After switching Malaysian distributors from Benelli Keeway Malaysia to M-Force Malaysia – currently distributor of SYM scooters – Benelli has introduced the 2017 Benelli RFS150i supercub. Priced at RM7,407 for the base RFS150i and RM7,778 for the RFS150i SE (including GST), this is Benelli’s entry in to the 150 cc supercub segment.

Popular in the region, especially locally and in Indonesia, the supercub category is currently dominated by the Yamaha Y15ZR and Honda RS150R. For the Benelli RFS150i, power comes from a liquid-cooled single cylinder 149 cc power plant that produces 15.5 hp at 8,500 rpm and 13 Nm of torque at 7,000 rpm.

Unique to the RFS150i is a three-spark plug cylinder head configuration – called B3SP – that, in conjunction with the bike’s ECU and fuel-injection system, is designed to optimise fuel efficiency and produce optimum power, while reducing emissions. Power gets to the ground via a six-speed gearbox with wet clutch, as is typical in this class of machine.

As “RFS” means “Riders For Speed” in Benelli terminology, the RFS150i comes with proper racing-style upside-down forks along with a monoshock rear-end. Braking is with hydraulic disc front and rear, with the front carrying a 240 mm petal brake disc, and a 220 mm diameter disc at the back.

Fuel for the RFS150i is carried in a 4.8-litre tank under the seat, and dry weight is claimed to be 115 kg. Seat height is set at 787 mm, and top speed for this new supercub is claimed to be 100 km/h, but, from experience, we know that supercubs are somewhat faster than this.

There are three colour options for the 2017 Benelli RFS150i – yellow, red and blue – while the RFS 150 SE comes in matte grey, with availability in local Benelli showrooms starts immediately. Competitors to the RFS150i in Malaysia are the Yamaha Y15ZR at RM8,210, and the Honda RS150R goes for RM8,213 for the standard model, and RM8,372 for the advanced in Repsol racing livery.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Annoynimouse on Apr 02, 2017 at 7:08 pm

A nice addition to the supercubs in the country. Would like to see it compete with the Jap bikes here.

• alldisc on Apr 02, 2017 at 8:38 pm

The alloy wheels are surprisingly resemblance of 125z.

• Azroy on Apr 02, 2017 at 8:43 pm

DOHC or SOHC?

• panjang on Apr 02, 2017 at 8:52 pm

100kmh….hehehehe….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • Alberto Kinto Kinte on Apr 02, 2017 at 9:37 pm

I prefer a Kuntamoto 1100 cc with direct injection technology.

• Hi,there is a typo at the end there, “respol”

• Al ahmed on Apr 03, 2017 at 2:05 am

Sorry but terrible bikes. Rust magnets and poor finishing…dnt be fooled by the price and design

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 27
    • Sub_zero on Apr 04, 2017 at 10:29 pm

You came from the future? This bike just launched how do you know it’s a teribble? You own one? Come on chaps let’s talk here

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 3
  • Will Modenas bring a contestant in this class too?

A four-stroke successor of the Dinamik?

• Papa G on Apr 03, 2017 at 7:43 am

What’s the difference between the two specs?

• Jonn Dol on Apr 03, 2017 at 8:28 am

A good base for a Cub Prix racer.

• Albert is kunta and many more on Apr 03, 2017 at 9:17 am

Nice bike

• First

• anyone can share experience with benelli bikes? reliability & running cost (fc, maintenance, parts)
    tempt to get one, bored with y15 everywhere

• Sub_zero on Apr 04, 2017 at 10:28 pm

All of benelli bikes is made in China and assembled at rawang

So reliability is just below japs but same as taiwan brand (sym and kymco)

• Redidiot on Apr 03, 2017 at 11:04 am

Tiga spark plugs? Orang nnt complain maintenance cost tinggi…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 12
    • Sub_zero on Apr 04, 2017 at 10:24 pm

I don’t get people who down vote you

Legitimately even in cub racing use 1 spark plug (albeit racing version) suddenly use 3 spark plug on 1 cylinder? Must be license from bajaj spark plug

Especially if 1 of the spark plug spoilt then the other also won’t function correctly

Also as you mention, 1 spark plug like 6 ringgit

Triple that and just exactly you said the maintenance is doubled

So who downvoted this guy is stupid

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
      • probiker on Jun 28, 2017 at 5:29 pm

agreed, probably they wanna comply the higher euro emission std kut… if normal spark plug even 3pcs changed at once oso not expesnive… but it could be very expensive if changing all to iradium or platimum plugs… hehe

• Skempit87 on Apr 16, 2018 at 3:25 am

Not really i think. Because typical sohc configuration engine have slanted spark plug positioning. So, its not really efficient.thats why they come with this triple spark plug technology. Actually it is the same concept with i-dsi(honda jazz). First come with this is alfa romeo, twin spark engine.

• armandd on Apr 03, 2017 at 11:35 am

Please do a review as soon as you can get your hands on the bike Mr. Mohan. Thank you in advance.

• Ahmad Kameil on Apr 03, 2017 at 11:38 am

Outlook wise, many will still opted Yamaha Y15ZR. Even Honda RS150R not that many on the road.

• putra18r12 on Apr 03, 2017 at 12:03 pm

y15r and rs150 competitor with the affordable price

• hunter on Apr 03, 2017 at 2:29 pm

design ok la..150cc @ 15.5bhp? gila..? mmg mkn asap dgn yg lain la..

• Sub_zero on Apr 04, 2017 at 10:17 pm

That’s the same out make by y15zr and rs150

Unless you comparing with rxz or 125zr like true blue rempit

• RC213V-S on May 30, 2017 at 4:55 am

#1 honda rs150.
      #2 benelli rfs150i.
      #3 yamahal y15.

• Michelin on Apr 03, 2017 at 5:16 pm

Asked boon siew honda recently, repsol edition is RM11k OTR not RM8.3k.. Yamaha movistar edition is close to RM12k OTR, not RM8.2k..

• some shop mark up their price due to high demand

• Sub_zero on Apr 04, 2017 at 10:20 pm

Repsol and movistar edition are just sticker with bump up price

Better buy standard version and make the same sticker design at sticker shop. Much more cheaper than these so call limited edition repsol/movistar edition

• perhhhh good design and 3 spark plug it ownsome..

• melati on Apr 05, 2017 at 8:12 pm

Using 3 spark plug? lol costing.

• kaboi on Apr 27, 2017 at 9:32 am

made in china..dont buy
    quality drop..price after sale drop..
    after 2 years parking belakang rumah..

• Musrid on May 14, 2017 at 2:43 pm

The design is no good, i think RS150 is the best in term of sport cub bike design and, ummm it’s DOSCH too in the engine department.

• Rijos bin Salampon on Mar 06, 2019 at 9:53 am

I like Benelli RFS150i