Gov’t increases excise duty on budget MPVs by 5% – 1.5L Honda BR-V, Toyota Sienta, Perodua Alza affected

The affordable MPV segment is one that’s attracting plenty of interest, thanks to the January launch of the Honda BR-V, which has shot Honda to the top of a segment it previously wasn’t present in. The SUV-styled seven-seater enters a market that has the Toyota Sienta, Toyota Avanza and Nissan Grand Livina. Further down the price scale, local options include the Perodua Alza and the Proton Ertiga, launched last year.

All the above bar the 1.6L Nissan have four-cylinder engines below 1,500 cc, and attract excise duty of 60%. That has now been increased by 5% to 65%, according to the “Excise Duties Order 2017” published by the attorney general’s chambers on March 31. This fresh order replaces the 2012 version and takes effect from April 1, 2017.

Unlike import tax, excise duty is levied on all products, whether imported or manufactured locally. This means that the Honda BR-V, Toyota Sienta, Toyota Avanza, Perodua Alza and Proton Ertiga are affected by this move. Alcohol and cigarettes too, if you’re wondering about the increase in “sin tax”.

The Nissan Grand Livina already attracts the 65% rate due to its 1.6L engine, which falls under the 1,500 to 1,800 cc category. By the way, a 1.5L sedan attracts 75% excise duty, so the new rate for budget MPVs is still lower than the average City or Vios.

There have been no announcements from the affected car manufacturers yet, but this points to an imminent price increase. We’ll keep tabs, but it’s wise to “lock in” your purchase before any revision. Compare prices and specs of the applicable models on CarBase.my.

The government, via the ministry of international trade and industry, has previously said that there are no plans to scrap excise duties. Import taxes have been on a downward trend, thanks to the many free trade agreements in place, but excise duty is the prerogative of the government.

“The auto sector is a very important contributor to the government’s coffers – 75% of the duties collected from the auto sector comes from excise duties,” MITI minister Datuk Seri Mustapa Mohamed said in 2014.

“On excise duties, the position of the government is as follows. Given the current situation of the budget, it is not possible for the government to review excise duties, but the government, of course, in the next few years, will review the fiscal situation. And as the fiscal situation improves, the government will consider looking into the possibility of gradually reducing excise duties,” he added then.

Based on that statement, as the economy is not rosier now than in 2014, there’s no possibility of excise duties going down from present rates. Up? Always a chance.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Nancy liu on Apr 07, 2017 at 6:33 pm

Cukurr 5% saje. Gahmen prihatin..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 125 Thumb down 21
    • Foot for Thought on Apr 07, 2017 at 6:51 pm

“In five years time the government plan to lower down the car prices as much as 30%..”Najib said.
      This was PM promised 5 years ago before GE 13 election but reality was the prices went up every year.
      “Hey Jibby!”
      “What?”
      “Eat my foot”.
      “Ok”.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 582 Thumb down 14
      • Kelab Kebenaran Kunta on Apr 07, 2017 at 7:29 pm

Malaysians suffer with high cost of living but Ministers live luxurious lifestyles. All hidup mewah. Only country in the world where Ministers can own Ferrari and Lambo in their house whilst still holding office.

Cukur betul

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 471 Thumb down 27
        • Albert(Ori) on Apr 07, 2017 at 7:39 pm

STOP buying new cars.
          When new car sales dip,they will collect less duties.Also,after 6 months,distributors will start giving rebates before Christmas.
          Jom,let us visit used car dealersn take the best bargain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 9
          • START buying local cars to save more
            STOP complain about our gov

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 66
          • START buying local cars to save more

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 45
          • PT why post comments slow?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
          • Borsan on Apr 09, 2017 at 7:57 am

Rakyat susah tapi aunti gemuk milik berpuluh puluh beg tangan Birkin berharga RM500k sebiji

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
          • Kunta belum makan ubat on Apr 09, 2017 at 2:26 pm

Fake posts copy and paste.

• Kelab Penyokong Kunta on Apr 10, 2017 at 12:41 pm

All the BN bum lickers just got a shock of their lives. Ha ha ha. They just realised they have been conned

• Kelab Penyokong Kunta on Apr 10, 2017 at 1:03 pm

so many penyokong gomen today butthurt. All shocked their beloved gomen raised car prices. Wait this week. Another shocker. Petrol going up by 25 sen.

• Susukotak on Apr 07, 2017 at 8:55 pm

Semue barang naik, Gaji takde naik.

Ini semua salah Boss sy….Oh wait sy ialah sorang Guru.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 4
        • aisyah on Apr 07, 2017 at 9:41 pm

Perodua, Honda & Toyota command 75% of Total Sales volume in Bolehland.

• Why pipu here complain? It is only 5%! Infact, I am even ready to pay 10%. Oh wai!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 53
          • papakedana on Apr 09, 2017 at 2:11 pm

Why jus stop at 10%???

Hentam 100% or 500%….

Rakyat didahulukan, bukan?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
        • Beli Proton no suffer lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 45
          • negatif sangat dekat proton, ingat proton x kena cukai ka

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 11
          • Graduan bijak on Apr 09, 2017 at 4:57 pm

Taknak P1!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 8
          • onlyyou on Apr 10, 2017 at 4:09 am

Only you said that

• Ah Kow on Apr 10, 2017 at 9:32 am

If, I repeat “if”, all the FSP back out like Geely, P1 can kolos shop anytime, then those current P1 owners will suffer 99, worse for new P1 owners, warranty semua hilang. What are the possibilities huh?

• Why so many thumbs down? Beli Proton suffer meh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 13
        • Kunte Kunyit on Apr 08, 2017 at 12:38 am

Another misleading news. List down all Ministers who own Ferrari and Lambo in their house as u said.. i really want to know this!!! I bet you cant :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 92
          • Katak on Apr 08, 2017 at 10:18 pm

katak di bawah tempurung! How long you want to deny?

• Nancy Liu on Apr 08, 2017 at 11:59 pm

This basher with multiple names got no life. Pity him. Acting like small kid.

• Suhaimi on Apr 09, 2017 at 1:34 am

Bukan mentri sahaja, anak Menteri pun pakai Porsche. Anak Nazri pakai Porsche Cayenne macam mana? Tak kerja tu

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
          • Kunta sakit mental club on Apr 09, 2017 at 3:49 pm

HInda brvb sales wont get impact with this

• Pity keyboardwarrior kuntakatak on Apr 09, 2017 at 7:22 pm

Agreed. BRV sales is still going strong. Now the waiting list is crazy.

• Shariman on Apr 09, 2017 at 8:12 pm

jaguh kampung kunyit blind

• mato mato on Apr 10, 2017 at 9:51 am

Nazri and son own Lambo and other luxury car using proxy…

• Honda on Apr 11, 2017 at 12:50 pm

Yes Honda BR-V sales won’t be affected but their profitability will for those prior month’s thousands of bookings. But then again, Honda Malaysia have deep deep pockets, so its like kacang putih right?

Thanks to them (Honda), our govt decides to increase our Excise Duties.

• ministers in malaysia are businessmen..gomen job is only part time..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 3
          • mato mato on Apr 10, 2017 at 9:52 am

mostly are contractor before joint politic to get easy project.

• Ini lah akibat kecurian banyak banyak…kerajaan sudah boros. Hospital pun tak ada ubat.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 1
        • thomas on Apr 08, 2017 at 9:52 am

jika begitu jokowi dikirim saja ke malaysia jadi perdana menteri. Lengkap dengan mercedes s600 w221-nya yg sering mogok

• Operation Manager on Apr 08, 2017 at 2:46 pm

This is tipu rakyat, where is 30% car price reduction promised BN. After Honda announced surprisingly top-sales from 7-seated BR-V, MITI immediate action from seeing the potential source to suck the bloody hard-earn $$$ from rakyat, the 7-seated car segment, targeted the $$$ from family with >3kids. Now you seeing Hollywood Drama from miti.mai.maa, from previous cheating 30 millions msian by blaming the auto makers of not reduce the car price but the TRUTH is actually duty/tax not reduce but *increased, beside EEV Incentives under mai.maa which another nasi.lemak.teh.tarik break time drama. Pity 30millions msian that paying excise.duty (75%), CKD/CBU.duty(30%), Sales.Tax.GST (6%) that total-up ~210% from actual car selling price, just for a daily basic need * transportation.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 1
        • Ibrahim on Apr 08, 2017 at 3:09 pm

dont forget the Bentley and S400 Hybrid too. Their gaji only RM12k. Tapi masih boleh beli Bentley

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 0
          • ViruxX on Apr 09, 2017 at 3:46 pm

No la, later someone may jump out and say that is gov asset. Own by gov so gov paid.

• Wah you think it’s that simple ah? Can do jump jump and say say like that
            Ptuuuuuuuuiihhhhh

• Jemput Minum Teh on Apr 08, 2017 at 3:22 pm

Kerajaan bankerap. how to make money? Everyday got 10 meetings and all meetings minum teh only

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
      • Aizat Shafiq on Apr 07, 2017 at 9:09 pm

apa lagi Along mahu??!!!!

• Francis Lim on Apr 07, 2017 at 10:46 pm

Datuk Sri, what happened to your GE13 promise to bring down the vehicles prices. Say what you mean and mean what you say.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
      • VW and Subaru not meh?

Stop bashing our Gov

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 43
      • Faiz Roslan on Apr 08, 2017 at 2:34 am

Yes that’s what you get for not buying Proton Ertiga. Please choose wisely. Go Proton! – Faiz Roslan CEng

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 40
        • Muthusammy Loo on Apr 09, 2017 at 2:50 pm

Yes that’s what you get for not buying Proton Ertiga. Please choose wisely. Go Proton!

Go Go Go Proton… save RM20k, but need to add more RM200k for hospital bills (if you not mampus yet) due to no VSC. Poodua Alzaik, no need to say lar, once crash (which is much more easier than Ertiga) high chance occupants already ‘cremated’ inside.

• basherlogic on Apr 10, 2017 at 9:53 am

Nowadays to die also better in jepunis cars?

• PLEASE PANIC NOW on Apr 08, 2017 at 1:50 pm

ATTENTION CITIZEN OF MALAYSIA! FUEL PRICE FOR NEXT THURSDAY ARE CONFIRM TO BE INCREASED ANOTHER 25 CENT AFTER THE WORLD CRUDE PRICE JUMPED AMID UNCERTAINCIES ON STOCK MARKET SINCE U.S. ATTACKED IN SYRIA.FILL UP YOUR TANK NOW AS THE U.S WILL EXERCISE ANOTHER STRIKE IN FEW DAYS.. DON’T BE STUPID BY THINKING NAJIB WILL SPARE YOU FROM THE NEXT INCREASE,BUT ONLY YOU CAN SAVE YOURSELF.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 2
        • BS. Have faith in my mentor. My supreme leader will lead u to liberation…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 12
      • John moo on Apr 08, 2017 at 4:03 pm

True bro tongue twister4

• Kelab Kebenaran Kunta on Apr 07, 2017 at 6:58 pm

OMG that is crazy. Those who buy Alza are from the lower income group. All susah payah. Some even work 2 jobs a day. And yet our beloved gomen want to increase 5% excise??

And Ertiga got ZERO sales. 1 year launched, many people have never seen a single Ertiga on the road. Now with the increase in price, who will buy Ertiga? And how is Proton going to pay the few hundred million ringgit royalty payment to Suzuki Japan for the rights to rebadge Ertiga?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 363 Thumb down 13
      • Gabby on Apr 08, 2017 at 4:24 am

I earn almost 10k a month and i drive an alza..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
      • oh mak lu cina on Apr 08, 2017 at 10:18 am

Low income group then why have so many kids till you need a 7 seater? sial sendiri bawak. so don’t complain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 46
      • SzeWei on Apr 08, 2017 at 12:21 pm

Haha ertiga ugly as heckRather buy other alternative instead

• lilytan on Apr 10, 2017 at 10:49 am

Budget market is where the volume will come from thus the money will surge in. Too bad though since this segment is where the people suffers the most, low income families now have to rely on 15 years old Unser or just overload their BLM Saga.

• Kelab Kebenaran Kunta on Apr 07, 2017 at 7:04 pm

Already Malaysians are paying the highest car prices in the world. To make matters worse, due to corruption, our GDP per capita is one of the lowest in the world. What this means is our pay packet is one of the lowest in the world.

Compare this to Singapore. Singapore GDP per capita is the highest in the world. Average gomen servant in Singapore earns SGD8000 (RMRM26,000) per month.

Average Putrajaya gomen servant earns RM1200.

Compare RM1200 vs RM26,000

Toyota CHR Hybrid in Singapore is SGD65k. COE is SGD35k. Total SGD100k for a CHR Hybrid.

When CHR is launched in Malaysia, it will be RM150k. How earning RM1200 can afford such car?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 342 Thumb down 20
      • Ee Tze on Apr 07, 2017 at 8:46 pm

Current COE for cars up to 1.6L is SGD51K & above 1.6L is SGD54K. Personally I feel CHR is overpriced in Singapore. Parallel importer dealers are selling 1.2l turbo from SGD135k and from SGD116K for 1.8l variant.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
      • RavenAii (Member) on Apr 07, 2017 at 10:08 pm

With RM500 enough to spend 1 month they said,
        5% tax is just a small amount they said,
        No money eat kangkung they said.
        Bullshit everyday makes me wonder if they really have a good education background, or just buy the title?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
      • Our car prices are so cheap, don’t know why pipu here bising for just 5%????

Oh wai!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 31
      • who wants to buy silly CHR or HRV? We got Saga. Much better car. cheap and economical….oh wai!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 31
      • U don’t like u can always move to Sg

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 36
      • Kunte Kunyit on Apr 08, 2017 at 12:29 am

Dude, if you want to bash the gomen, bash with real fact not with your fantasy fact! Since when Singapore GDP is highest in the world? And since when Malaysian GDP is one of the lowest in the world? Pls la get ur fact right and stop spreading false news. A simple google also will tell the truth. In ASEAN itself, Malaysia outranks Singapore. Pls la.. Tlg la.. Rakyat Malaysia tak bodoh. But I wonder those “106” who like your comment is what…. This is an era where we should be more educate dude…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 58
        • Katak on Apr 08, 2017 at 10:21 pm

ha ha ha ha “Malaysia outranks Singapore”

• Wong See on Apr 09, 2017 at 2:22 pm

According to IMF data, Singapore No 7, Malaysia No 62. How does Malaysia outrank Singapore?

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_countries_by_GDP_(nominal)_per_capita

• Kunta thumb up own post on Apr 09, 2017 at 3:36 pm

Better buy the mpv now before price increase

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
        • Shariman on Apr 09, 2017 at 8:14 pm

Is this why 1 Sing Dollar is RM3.30? Outranks?

• Peter on Apr 10, 2017 at 2:37 pm

Ppl said “… one of the lowest in the world”, you translate to lowest in the world!
          Than you mock google saying M’sia outrank Sgp!
          Rakyat M’sia tak bodoh … segelintir only. That’s the reason you still got likes!

• cendol (Member) on Apr 08, 2017 at 10:09 am

why are you still in Malaysia then? If you still in Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 31
      • Kunte Kunyit on Apr 08, 2017 at 11:06 am

Dude, if you want to bash the gomen, bash with fact not with your fantasy fact! Since when Singapore GDP is highest in the world? And since when Malaysian GDP is one of the lowest in the world? Pls la get ur fact right and stop spreading false news. A simple google also will tell the truth. In ASEAN itself, Malaysia outranks Singapore. Pls la.. Tlg la.. Rakyat Malaysia tak bodoh. But I wonder those “106” who like your comment is what…. This is an era where we should be more educate dude…

Paultan, this is a resubmit comment as I dont see my comment being published yet but others are already being published. I am asking you WHY? Paultan, you as a Media platform should have the responsibilities to make sure that no false news are written over your platform!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 154 Thumb down 52
        • Katak on Apr 08, 2017 at 10:27 pm

No need to be cry baby. Paul Tan will publish your comment. Whole day today 8/4/2017 until 10pm nobody’s comment got published. You posted at 11am. So why are you lying others got published?

• Nancy Liu on Apr 09, 2017 at 12:04 am

They dont care. No different with bashers.

• Wong See on Apr 09, 2017 at 2:25 pm

I also simple google and saw Singapore outranks Malaysia by far.

• Mr Thumbs Up on Apr 09, 2017 at 7:22 pm

Wow Kunte Kunyit, you over thumbs up bro. Within 30 minutes can go from 10 likes to 139 likes

• Albert Tong on Apr 10, 2017 at 9:41 am

Agreed. Club kunta thumbs up like crazy.

• meanwhile u and john oughta stop taunt people.

he said ‘gdp per capita’.
          GDP per capita – Spore wins. GDP growth rate- Malaysia wins over Spore, smart-s. A simple search in Google would confirm the fact.

pls la…tolong la….u internet warrior cum keyboard warrior…this is an era where we think first before going off with our mouths or in this case, with ur keyboard.

Ee Tze, Spore car prices ARE overpriced!

• SzeWei on Apr 08, 2017 at 12:19 pm

Hey man. Go apply in private job in singapore. They love us if we are great. I heard that is why singapore private job are full of foreigners not only malaysians.Because their own people rather work with Goverment because of the 8k you mentioned that private wont ever offers. This from my sister working experience 10 years in singapore. Unlike malaysia is opposite of private more locals than foreigners excluding laborers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 12
      • Ibrahim on Apr 08, 2017 at 3:12 pm

Singapura BMW 330e CBU is $170k

Mesia BMW 330e CKD is RM$249k. Harga tax free ni!

• Mat Sporean civil servant on Apr 08, 2017 at 4:02 pm

Your number all salah, probably never step foot in singapore before. 8k average haha.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
    • tokmoh. on Apr 07, 2017 at 8:06 pm

Actually supreme leader nak naikkan 50%, but he understand our suffering, so increase 5% only.

Cukuuur

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • Turunkan Harga Kereta on Apr 10, 2017 at 10:51 am

So actual car price 0% tax like Saga, Myvi is only Rm15K??

• Same L0rr on Apr 10, 2017 at 3:33 pm

Buy toyota & Perodua better! Dont buy Proton, KIA, Hyundai & Chevrolet! Bad RV. Expensive spare parts!

• one way ticket on a one way street

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 1
  • Fetch on Apr 07, 2017 at 6:52 pm

The government is really broke huh? Like MC Hammer broke

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 115 Thumb down 4
  • Tony Stank on Apr 07, 2017 at 6:54 pm

The beloved gov will try every way to sucks the people hard earned money, bloody hell…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 189 Thumb down 9
    • I am happy to pay more. It will be used for our own good

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 35
      • yes john i know who you are.. pls. be yourself. don’t simply put a name which is not belong to you. People now days educated, so rakat know which is true or false… as for you even don’t own a proton or can’t afford it, so pls. you just shout out and stop shitting here n there….n be who u r, be a man!..

• Kancil Hybrid on Apr 07, 2017 at 7:18 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 189
  • Ootai on Apr 07, 2017 at 7:39 pm

Ha ha…tax the affordable, while the poor remains poor. The rich will use the company’s money to spend on these depreciating assets. Lucky you the affordable, the banks are always willing to give IOUs. If you feel the pinch, you know what to do come election time.

• Poor fellow on Apr 07, 2017 at 7:58 pm

Why keep taxing the middle income and the poor people?
    GST is already a burden.
    Why can’t the Gomen tax the rich more instead? Double the lambo and Ferrari tax for all I care, keep the budget cars affordable please.

• Penipu.Dulu cakap nak turun harga kereta. Kerajaan penipu !!

• pondan on Apr 07, 2017 at 8:09 pm

where are all those BN supporters? lost their brain somewhere? still kissing the BN butt? ops…

must shiok sendiri in the toilet.

Malaysia thank you bunch of idiots and baboons.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • tokmoh. on Apr 07, 2017 at 8:10 pm

Bijan : ramai betul rakyat beli Mercedes, BMW, Honda. Dah tak laku da proton.

Best keter baru korang? Banyak duit korang.

Nak aku naikkan cukai, baru padan muka korang?

• This is what happen when you vote this kind of idots to the parliment…

• Rizal on Apr 07, 2017 at 8:30 pm

Eh diorang nak shopping before election comes, kena kumpul dana Mega Sale 2017. Shopping oversea. Currency Dah naik

• Ming Lai on Apr 07, 2017 at 8:43 pm

Huaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

• WOW WHAT HAPPEN TO REDUCING CAR PRICES AS PROMISED BY LAST GENERAL ELECTION??

• tax car, tax tourist, tax everywhere….. YEAH!!!

• Don Ozil on Apr 07, 2017 at 9:35 pm

Good laa.. our government know how to korek duit from rakyat.

• Knightrider on Apr 07, 2017 at 9:36 pm

We ar high income people so must help our gohmen to best in d world….say our corrupt politicion

• Cukurr on Apr 07, 2017 at 10:08 pm

Pandai betul guna peluang…cukurrr

• What the….? Even for Alza? Ini baru kurang ajar…

• jinggo on Apr 07, 2017 at 10:29 pm

Ini memang bangsat punya kerajaan. Haramjadah

• justsomepissedoffdude on Apr 07, 2017 at 11:09 pm

And yet many stupid idiots will still vote for the incumbent come next elections… Remember the 30% decrease promise last time?? I hope malaysians now realise that those in gov’t DO NOT HAVE their best interests at heart at all!! As a matter of fact, they actually hate the fact the malaysians can own cars now so the roads are jammed and they cannot drive their luxury cars as fast as they want LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • Munkay on Apr 08, 2017 at 12:14 am

Before the last GE I remember the government wanted to reduce taxes on vehicles but yet here is an instance where it is going up. I don’t really observe politics but I cannot vote for the ruling coalition on the count of this transgression.

• hafiz on Apr 08, 2017 at 1:56 am

janji dicapati

• Mazdafanboi on Apr 08, 2017 at 7:57 am

And all the hate to Mazda for increasing their prices earlier than everyone else. People just wanna hate as outlet for their frustration

• tunggu masa undi
    Tengok Nasib kau Ada luck ke tidak

• Forget about car price reduce that guy promised us years before yeah..

• domainicus on Apr 08, 2017 at 9:09 am

Stupid policy. Tax the poor. Relieve the rich who buys hybrid at 400k like Volvo et al.

• Farghmee on Apr 08, 2017 at 9:13 am

Web sebelah kata itu naik sbb ada masalah sistem. Akan diperbetulkan, katanya

• Woohoo. People need to buy cars so let’s make money out of this reality. More cars people buy more money into the coffer faster with the 5% hike. Ka-ching. Ka-ching.

Goddammit!

• wow increased on april fool’s day…nice 1 our gomen

• gigi kuning on Apr 08, 2017 at 11:36 am

Maybe some minister will say:

“tak pa, tak pa…..we will make sure banks will give car loan up to 20 years. okeh?

• James on Apr 08, 2017 at 11:48 am

Janji di capati

• Gavonsimon on Apr 08, 2017 at 11:56 am

Tripple tax from GST . Personal tax now excise duty its a greed hope the car industrie suffer tremdous loss in car sale.

• Wee fuk yew on Apr 08, 2017 at 12:27 pm

Thank you for piling the taxes on us. We love being screwed daily in order to keep the fat servants happy.

• facto on Apr 10, 2017 at 4:24 am

Where got fat? The number to calculate civil servants are different between countries

• Lulla44 on Apr 08, 2017 at 12:52 pm

Pondon govt n pondon tactics with zero leadership qualities.shame on u najis

• Modern day cannibalism. Practicing of cutthroat ways.

• paparadzi (Member) on Apr 08, 2017 at 2:30 pm

Can Paul and friends please publish all the taxes that is applicable to all vehicle purchases in Malaysia? High car prices will make people buy the lower variant with less safety features, keep their car much longer than desirable and probably do less maintenance too. Therefore high car prices do contribute to our high rate of road accidents.

Talking about lowering car prices…… (sarcasm mode ON)

In 2013 the Proton Saga SV MT costs USD 11183. Today the Proton Saga 1.3 Standard MT costs USD 8047. That is a reduction of 28%. Very close to the 30% promised during the GE 2013 campaign.

Yes, car price has been lowered.

(sarcasm mode OFF)
    Note:2013: 1 USD = RM 3.0 2017 1 USD = RM 4.5

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
    • Good one paparadzi…

OT: you still active on MalaysianWings forum?

• Spot on. Who says the Gov did not reduce car prices as promise? Just follow my advice and buy Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
      • Fucukyongtaufoo on Apr 10, 2017 at 12:29 pm

Spot on u tak baca sarcasm mode on… Time to wipe off dedak from your eyes bro

• mangkuk on Apr 08, 2017 at 4:12 pm

tahniah najib kerana berjaya mengurangkan beban rakyat satu persatu… celaka

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • applegreen on Apr 08, 2017 at 4:14 pm

Hek eleh 5 peratus pun berkiree!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
  • Vincent Ang on Apr 08, 2017 at 5:01 pm

Kami berterima kasih kepada semua orang Melayu yang mati-mati mahu kerajaan UMNO-PAS.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
  • ae101 on Apr 08, 2017 at 5:13 pm

Most time bad economy hardly affect kampung folks because their living standard are very low. Now gomen really perah kaw kaw semue dia orang nak. For sure more to come. I’m happy to this especially melayu from kampung start to complain and ranting. So tell me now ketuanan is more important or your living needs? Ge is coming soon. Ini kali lah!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • Rakyat Malaysia Bodoh on Apr 08, 2017 at 10:14 pm

Based on all feedbacks received from the poor… the government “will” decide to put the tax increase “on hold”. Undilah kami.

• Ben yap on Apr 08, 2017 at 10:36 pm

What’s the reason for the increase? Gov no more money is it?

• Md Razif on Apr 09, 2017 at 10:03 am

This no brain gov’t only know how to collect money from rakyat..let’s put them into dustbin after GE14 !!

• Md Razif on Apr 09, 2017 at 10:03 am

This no brain gov’t only know how to collect money from rakyat

• Md Razif on Apr 09, 2017 at 10:05 am

Let them down after GE14

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Apr 09, 2017 at 10:49 am

Just a matter of time GST hits 10%

• If P1 can’t beat them, ” kasih naik 5%”. Janji lebih berbaloi for G.

• najip dickhead on Apr 09, 2017 at 11:57 am

see who else will vote you scumbag

• Sukhairul Nizam on Apr 09, 2017 at 12:04 pm

Nice one

• Sukhairul Nizam on Apr 09, 2017 at 12:05 pm

Best picture

• PHANG HAN CONG on Apr 09, 2017 at 12:07 pm

Dont bullshit la , proton and perodua have no excise tax at all except 6 % GST. If you dont believe me go and check the price of proton and perodua at tax free land langkawi and mainland, the only difference is 6% GST. Mana excise duty ? MANA ?

• myotism on Apr 09, 2017 at 1:53 pm

expecting an increase in excise tax for 1.5 non-mpv, 1.3, 1.0 in the future real real soon

• If u guys got no money, just buy local car like Proton lah. Bising apa?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
    • good! increase for next round’s brim.

• The problem is BR1M receivers just like to complaint our Gov. After receiving the aid don’t even say TQ to Najib

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
  • Penalty on Apr 09, 2017 at 10:34 pm

Result from corporatisation of Custom Dept. The more they collect, KPI target achieved, better bonus. GST collections are not enough, need to increase excise duty then target is achieved. Following IRB’s footsteps.

• FIST (Member) on Apr 10, 2017 at 7:26 am

Thank you for helping me decide who to vote in the next election

• V-tec Fan on Apr 10, 2017 at 9:57 am

Sedih…every time tengok news macam ni buat sedih je industry kereta and rakyat. backward…

• Mikey on Apr 10, 2017 at 10:06 am

john is working overtime defending our BN Gov here. Hehehe

• Finally someone talk with sense

• CAn someone from the government explain why the need to increase??

• Mikey on Apr 10, 2017 at 3:05 pm

Our Gov will NEVER explain. That is a Fact & bcos they CAN. If I use logic to explain, U might be able 2 understand.

All taxes be it Service Tax or Excise Duty goes 2 our Gov as a form of income. These income will be use for a varieties of reason which I’m Not going 2 say here bcos i believe U already know by now.

My guess is our Gov is short of CASH & the easiest way is through Excise duty(direct tax) after the recent announcement of BRiM. There U have it. Hope someone can give U a better explanation if they have the time. Cheers

• Meeminsar on Apr 10, 2017 at 3:14 pm

If you all don’t like the 5% increase exise duty, you all boleh keluar Malaysia, okeh??

• Baldy on Apr 10, 2017 at 5:34 pm

Aiks…… Bukan turun harga kereta secara berperingkat ke?