Malaysia Speed Festival (MSF) 2017 Round 2 on Apr 16

The Malaysia Speed Festival (MSF) will return to the Sepang International Circuit (SIC) this Sunday, April 16, with more than 160 cars across different classes expected to hit the tarmac in a few days time. Last time around, the Mayhem-Fast Autoworks MaxxOil team’s Keifli Othman romped off with both victories in the top Race Car Open category.

The former Formula Asia champion is looking to retain his advantage coming to this weekend, with the fitment of additional aerodynamic aids on his Honda Civic. It won’t be plain sailing for Keifli, however, with strong competition coming from the likes of Fast Lap Autoworks’ Faidzil Alang and SITTY-DNT’s Mark Darwin, who came second and third respectively in the opening round.

Meanwhile, the Super 1500 NA category should see a close battle between Team RAB Prodrag’s pairing of Mohamad Shahril and Shamir Aizan and Momentom Racing’s Keu Sian Shi, with both winning a race apiece in Round 1. In the Proton 1800 NA class, Lau Seng Kiat will be aiming for a repeat of his past performance in the last round, where he won convincingly and set a blistering 2 minute 39 second lap time in the process.

In the popular Saga Cup category, JNA Racing’s Alif Hamdan will be looking to put up a stronger fight to ST Wangan’s Boy Wong, after the latter walked away with both victories in the Expert class.

Team SMRT’s Jay Choong will also be in the mix – he will no doubt want to redeem himself after losing control on an oil spill in Round 1. On the other hand, Ngah Motorsport’s Boey Chai will be coming in as a favourite in the Novice category after winning in her previous outing.

Other forms of racing that will be present at MSF include Special Kei, Street Tuned and Street Tuned 1,600, Super Street and 1,600 and 1,800 Race Car races. Paddock tickets are priced at RM20 before 11 am on April 16, and RM35 after. For more information, visit MSF Racing’s official website or its Facebook page.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• I’ll show my racing skills in this one

• Mikey on Apr 13, 2017 at 9:58 pm

Yeah, i saw Sagas, Iswaras, Civics, Satria & even a Mercedes BUT I did not see a Gen-2 in front.

Can anyone see a Gen-2 ??! Wait a MINUTE – exactly 60 sec later. There U are, at the back, now i can see U. Hehehe. Cheers 2 john 4 racing(showing his racing skills) KONON-nya

• RavenAii (Member) on Apr 14, 2017 at 12:47 am

Was looking closely at the picture and sees some Jazzs, Satrias, Civics, Sagas and even spotted a Corolla E100. Looks fun indeed, especially the fact that I didn’t see any Myvis.