BMW 740Le iPerformance teased ahead of local debut

It’s no longer a case of “is it, isn’t it,” as BMW Malaysia’s latest teaser confirms the imminent arrival of the 740Le. The posting on the company’s official Facebook page is accompanied by the caption: “In the light of living luxury. The subtle blue lines hint two important elements of our forefront innovations; the BMW Laserlight and BMW iPerformance.”

The latter bit points to BMW’s plug-in hybrid vehicles, which includes the X5 xDrive40e and the 330e, both of which are available here in Malaysia. The upcoming 740Le will join the existing long-wheelbase 730Li and 740Li variants in the 7 Series range sold here in Malaysia.

Under the hood, the 740Le is powered by a 2.0 litre turbo engine with 258 hp and 400 Nm of torque, aided by a 113 hp/250 Nm electric motor to provide a total system output of 326 hp and 500 Nm. Where the 730Li has a fuel consumption rating of 5.8 litres per 100 km (740Li does 6.6 l/100km), the 740e should do better with a claimed rating of 2.2-2.0 l/100 km, according to BMW’s global site.

Performance wise, the 740Le will do the zero to 100 km/h in 5.7 seconds, which makes it quicker than the 730Li (6.3 seconds) and just a smidge slower than the 740Li (5.6 seconds). However, the plug-in hybrid 7 Series is capable of providing up to 48 km of electric-only driving range, reaching a top speed of 140 km/h in this mode.

In terms of kit, the 740Le should come with BMW Laserlight headlamps (optional in certain markets) as well as the Sky Lounge panoramic roof (standard on the 740Li), according to what BMW Malaysia has teased thus far.

Of course, price will be an important aspect of the 740Le, aside from the equipment list. It remains to be seen if the premium sedan will come close or even undercut the Mercedes-Benz S400L Hybrid, an EEV incentive recipient which currently retails for RM598,888.

GALLERY: BMW 740Le

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Otman Tino on Apr 17, 2017 at 2:09 pm

The Bemchmark of Luxury has Arrive!

• heybadigol (Member) on Apr 17, 2017 at 2:59 pm

400 NM from just the combustion engine. That’s more than the 530i and 330i (before it was discontinued), if i’m not mistaken. Wondering how much it will cost here.

• meejawa on Apr 17, 2017 at 3:04 pm

SEVENTEEN pictures of the front of the car, FOUR almost IDENTICAL ones and ZERO pic on the rear accomodation. Do you guys even filter which photos you post up or just select all and drop?

• Joker on Apr 17, 2017 at 4:40 pm

Y so serius yet U Cant afford.

• meejawa on Apr 17, 2017 at 6:31 pm

What’s your problem if I can’t afford? What does that have to do with commenting on an observation? Idiotic comment with zero brain time. U magic ar, u hantu ar? How u know I can’t afford? If can afford I can comment you look like siaolang or not? Stoopid.

• toolatetooparty on Apr 17, 2017 at 3:14 pm

too late to dance off with S-class. The S400h is everywhere in KL…

• palehotak on Apr 17, 2017 at 3:33 pm

1.8Bil yet better?!

• seancorr (Member) on Apr 17, 2017 at 4:10 pm

I bet it’s going to be cheaper than the Benz

• Mikey on Apr 17, 2017 at 4:31 pm

Many call a 7 series the Best of BMW that $$$ can buy. As the top of the range, this plug-in hybrid have all the premium(gizmos/gadgets) features that U would expect. The Sky Lounge Panorama Glass Sunroof is a Premium addition to any Limo.

With a 2 liter turbo engine 258hp/400Nm of torque, aided by a 113hp/250Nm electric motor to provide a total system output of 326hp/500Nm, this limo will accelerate to 100 km/h in 5.7 sec is no slouch.

My only complaint is the plug-in hybrid 7 Series can only provide up to 48 km of electric driving range. Can this 740le now claim to be the leader in the Hybrid premium car segment ??! I think the answer is pretty obvious isn’t it.

• Even if u walk also u can’t achieve that range

• Mikey on Apr 17, 2017 at 5:26 pm

Why should I walk when there is a Kancil 2 take me where i want 2 ?! U must be nuts 2 even suggest. Hehehe

• stasta on Apr 19, 2017 at 11:58 am

” only provide up to 48 km of electric driving range.” ??
      thats still further than the s400 isnt it ?

• horrayooi on Apr 17, 2017 at 5:42 pm

Case study – AUDI A6 HYBRID.

• thepolygonal on Apr 17, 2017 at 5:52 pm

Yet another not a driver’s car but a car for the driver.