GALLERY: BMW 7 Series Sky Lounge panoramic roof

2016-bmw-7-series-sky-lounge- 001

Vehicle in-car lighting has come a long way, especially so in modern day luxury cars. Cool, multi-coloured ambient lighting is almost a norm for premium segments these days, with models like the latest-gen Mercedes-Benz E-Class offering up to 64 colours to choose from.

As cool as the Benz may be, the BMW 7 Series’ latest trick is probably one of the most impressive means of cabin lighting we’ve ever seen – enter the BMW Sky Lounge glass roof. Yes, Rolls Royce has done something similar before, with its starry night LED headliner, but BMW’s Sky Lounge takes the concept to a whole other level.

Previewed at the 7 Series’ local launch event yesterday morning, the new sunroof system features an electric roller sun-blind, a slide and tilt function for cabin ventilation and an LED-based lighting installation with over 15,000 lighting elements in the glass of the panoramic roof.

It’s difficult to fully capture just how pretty the Sky Lounge is when paired with the vehicle’s ambient lighting systems, or the mood it sets in the cabin, but gosh, this thing is properly impressive. We strongly recommend checking it out for yourselves at a dealership for the best experience – just remember to do so when it’s dark. Then you’ll see the visually impressive exterior Welcome Light Carpet too.

GALLERY: BMW 730Li in Malaysia

GALLERY: BMW 740Li in Malaysia

Chris Aaron

With an equal passion for fast cars and everyday workhorses, Chris Aaron maintains a passion for European makes, Formula 1, playing the electric guitar and spending endless hours on the PlayStation - first-person shooters and the Gran Turismo franchise are his favourites. He also finds it strange to have written this in the third person.

• bunny on Jan 30, 2016 at 7:07 pm

reminds me of Boeing Sky Interior on B787/777/737NG.
    Majestic as F.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • Pontan-HairStylist on Jan 31, 2016 at 12:44 pm

feel like a pimp car…sigh…cheapo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 18
    • Our Proton is bette rthan this junk. Syukur kepada UMNO, BN dan Najib kerana memberi rakyat kereta kualiti baik macam Proton. Jangan jadi macam RBA John, tidak kenal budi.

Syukur!!!!

• Kucipan on Jan 30, 2016 at 10:26 pm

Damn nice.. why our national car cant invent somethg simple as this! Creative la sket, engineer otak tepu

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
    • Ahmad on Jan 31, 2016 at 10:12 am

All want shortcut and minum kopi tea break only how to otak tepu…tongkat mentality lagi pulak

• MitchelJohn on Jan 31, 2016 at 10:53 am

>Expect features from a car valued over half a million ringgit to be inside a car 1/10 of that value.

Pay up la!

• Toyota still does it…same goes to Hyundai….

• Kucipan on Feb 02, 2016 at 12:28 am

Im talking about simple crap things,its only a bulb/led not a features as hill assist, lane keeping, nite vision, laser headlamp,n so on, man.. doest matter hw much the value of a car, n wht car u drive. Its Wht drives u.

• ae101 on Jan 30, 2016 at 11:35 pm

If cheaper car like jappy, p1 or p2 put this. Im sure people will say ah beng or ah lian wanabe.

• Atilla on Jan 31, 2016 at 11:38 am

Thats bcause those cheaper buyers usually play techno music loudly as they go.

• Jimmy on Jan 31, 2016 at 11:39 am

1. Sleep comfortably at the back.
    2. Some people prefer 4-seater version.
    3. White/light-coloured interior is always the best for luxurious vehicles.
    4. Rear side airbags.
    5. Nice sunroofs. Is it termed ‘panoramic’?

• seancorr (Member) on Jan 31, 2016 at 2:08 pm

Can’t wait for it to trickle down to the 5er and 3er

• sudonano (Member) on Jan 31, 2016 at 4:08 pm

Actually, after personally seeing the G12, I have a lot of expectations for the new G30 5er. If at all, the F01/02 was the real vision into the F10 (which took the best bits of the F01 and made it more driver focussed). I’m waiting on a test drive on the G12, but I’m pretty curious to try out the CFRP-Hybrid chassis. Interior is well thought out and works pretty well in reality – it’s a pity this car is not photogenic for me. And M Sport would fix the exterior for me, Design Pure Excellence is just too much bling bling, and unfortunately for them, the Mercedes portrays the luxury look way better.

• alldisc on Feb 01, 2016 at 4:05 pm

Find paultan’s article on Jaguar XJL 2.0T.

Even though jaguar utilising aluminium compare to BMW’s carbon fibre reinforced plastic (CFRP) the end result is more or less the same giving a dry weight of just over 1.5 tonnes.

See how nimble and surefooted the car is. Jaguar XJL is a limousine spec though, which adds about 5 inch to the wheelbase.