BMW Malaysia teases new G12 7 Series variant, 740e?

BMW Malaysia has just posted up a teaser image on its Facebook page. The image is clearly of a G12 BMW 7 Series and there’s a ‘7’ on the left of the poster, which features blue streaks. “The epitome of true luxury is arriving soon,” the accompanying status says.

The current BMW 7 Series was launched in Malaysia in January 2016, and we have two variants here – the 730Li and 740Li, both in long wheelbase form. The two petrol engines – one’s a 2.0 litre turbo with 258 hp/400 Nm, and the other a 3.0 litre turbo with 326 hp/450 Nm – cover a wide range, so this new entry could be a superlative range topper, a diesel option, or a plug-in hybrid. Of the three, our pick will is the latter, thanks to those blue streaks in the ad.

Bringing in the 740e iPerformance also fits in with BMW Malaysia’s current strategy of offering locally-assembled plug-in hybrids at good deals, thanks to CKD EEV incentives by the government. Already we’ve seen them introduce the X5 xDrive40e M Sport (June 2016) and 330e (August 2016, M Sport launched in February 2017) with attractive pricing, and the LWB 740Le could follow suit to be the G12 range topper.

The 740Le is powered by a 2.0 litre turbo engine with 258 hp and 400 Nm (yes, the same one found in the 730Li), boosted by an electric motor producing 113 hp/250 Nm. Total system output is 326 hp and 500 Nm. While that may not be significantly more than what the 740Li makes, the plug-in hybrid should offer much better fuel consumption. Drive goes to the rear wheels (xDrive is also available but not likely to make it here) via a ZF eight-speed automatic.

Are we looking at another EEV incentive-driven value offering fully loaded with kit? They say it’s the “epitome of true luxury” so it’s fair to assume a long equipment list. The current 730Li is priced at RM598,800 while the 740Li is going for RM788,800. The Mercedes-Benz S400L Hybrid, also an EEV incentive recipient, retails for RM598,888. Stay tuned.

GALLERY: BMW 740Le

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Leafable on Apr 13, 2017 at 5:42 pm

Yes to Plug-in Hybrid please…

• Kelab Kebenaran Kunta on Apr 14, 2017 at 7:04 am

BMW Malaysia going to shoot themselves in the foot. The 740e will be cheaper than the 740li and 730li. Nobody will buy the 740li and 730li anymore.

This what happened with the X5 40e. When they launched it at RM388k, sales of the normal X5 at RM588k became ZERO.

This is will be interesting to see.

Remember the E300 Bluetec Hybrid? When MBM launched at at RM333k, sales of the E200 at RM368k and E250 at RM418k became ZERO.

MBM had to pull the E300 Buetec from the current W213 lineup.

shows that car companies are more interested in selling higher priced cars to the rakyat!

• Nancy Liu on Apr 14, 2017 at 10:52 am

Dont you feel bored keep repeating and stir the same thing Mr. Find a life please.

• Gagasan Satu Malaysia on Apr 14, 2017 at 2:33 pm

Please do a survey or study before you make a statement, BMW currently stop the BMW730/740Li and give way to 740Le same goes to Mercedes, is not pulling Bluetec from W213 is because soon MB will launch E350e to replace E300 that also stop production.

• thepolygonal on Apr 13, 2017 at 5:43 pm

Is it me or the back looks strikingly familiar with certain local car called Perdana.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • I dont think so, looking at the rim the the motto. I reckon it would be the M760Li. If thailand such a small market would dare to launch the model, I cant thin of any excuses why BMW Malaysia wouldnt.

• BOYRACER on Apr 13, 2017 at 8:10 pm

It is the 740Le.plug-in hybrid.

• Mikey on Apr 13, 2017 at 9:12 pm

A 7-series will always play 2nd fiddle/catch-up with the other German Benchmark in M’sia.

For whatever reason’s, if U see one 7-series, there will be ‘3’ S-class parking alongside in almost all 5 star hotel & private clubs.

Don’t have 2 believe me. U can always check it up with our annual sales or their respective web site.

On the flip-side, it is NOT necessary a Bad think though. At least U can claim that the 7 are RARE hence U can claim U are different from the NORM.

Of course, if a Lexus or a Range Rover is park beside the 2 Germans, that is entirely a different story. They are what i call making a STATEMENT.

Please don’t ask me what is the statement bcos only the one owning/driving one can tell U. Maybe it’s the AURA surrounding them that U can feel it literally speaking of course.

• A Perdana is more rare than all the above. So the owner is more special?

• Mikey on Apr 14, 2017 at 12:13 pm

That’s a GOOD one. Comparing a Perdana with Luxuries Limo !! U have taken “thinking out of the box” with Epic proportion. john Mamang Boleh.

• One day my boss will drive a Perdana and u will see whether he is special or not

• iamrarer on Apr 14, 2017 at 12:12 am

AURA A8. Period

• Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 14, 2017 at 1:06 am

new camry?

• Dpillai on Apr 15, 2017 at 6:19 pm

Yes. Next week launching 7 series hybrid.

The S Class hybrid is RM588k so the 740e needs to be closer to RM500k to make a dent in the S Class hybrid sales which is now the ultimate Towkay car.