Honda Malaysia on track to achieve 100k sales target for 2017 – 34,500 units shifted in first four months

Honda Malaysia (HMSB) has released its sales figures for the period between January and April this year, and the numbers reveal that the company is on track to hit its sales target of 100,000 units in 2017, and remains on course to retain its No. 1 position in the non-national segment and No. 2 slot on the overall total industry volume (TIV) list this year.

As of April, HMSB has shifted more than 34,500 units, a jump of 9,800 units over the corresponding period in 2016. In terms of market share, Honda contributed 19.4% to the TIV as of March, which is 5.1 points higher compared to the same period last year, and March in particular was a record month – it managed to obtain a 20.5% market share for the very first time.

Primary movers were the BR-V, which has sold more than 7,800 units and contributed 23% to the overall sales numbers. The facelifted City also contributed 23% to the total, the car having received more than 7,200 bookings since its launch in March.

The 10th-gen Civic, meanwhile, continues to move in good fashion. The company said that more than 15,700 units have been shifted since the car’s introduction last June. It added that the 1.5L Turbo variant makes up 60% of Civic sales, averaging around 840 units per month in terms of volume.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Mikey on May 04, 2017 at 10:28 am

No one will doubt Big H will achieve 100k sales in 2017. It is only a matter of time of WHEN. With its Civic, City & BRV recording records sales, it must be something Honda in M’sia doing is Right. john, please bash Toyo as U know best

• Why involve me when ur toyota itself is losing sales? Work harder & dun be lazy, then can achieve 35% market share like me.

• Good that you get good sales. Please setup more service centres too or allow affiliated 3rd party centre to do basic service. It is a joke to be given 15-30 days wait to schedule a booking…

• Albert on May 04, 2017 at 4:10 pm

This is a good problem.Not enough service outlets,but Honda malaysia MUST act fast.
      But sister company protong…has too many idling service centres.Even some petronas stations offer basic warranty related services.
      Some P1 service centres r on the verge of closing shop,only service 5 cars per day.
      One thing for sure,Honda will never appoint petrol station as service outlets.jatuh standard.

• Zakar Naik Kunta Turun on May 04, 2017 at 5:06 pm

Honda is miles ahead than old dinosaur and overpriced Toyota. I expect to see Honda and VW conquering the sales of new passenger cars here in Malaysia.

• IGP mom on May 05, 2017 at 1:16 pm

Perhaps due to different locations. I can get my Honda serviced with a week advance booking.

• sudonano on May 04, 2017 at 10:31 am

Syabas DRB honda, tahniah DRB proton.

• hyundai89 on May 04, 2017 at 10:32 am

please add back lanewatch for civic

• applegreen on May 04, 2017 at 10:43 am

Proton on track to achieve 60k sales target

• Ben Yap on May 04, 2017 at 10:46 am

i forsee that Honda will be Malaysia’s no. 1 car seller beating Perodua within the next 3 years.

• Kinza on May 04, 2017 at 11:02 am

I immediately cancel my booking for brv after the accident went viral and causes one child death. It’s not a safe car unfortunately.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • IGP mom on May 05, 2017 at 1:18 pm

When it was banged from the back by a bus, name a car that can survived that kind of crash.

• jinggo on May 04, 2017 at 11:45 am

Sure service centre honda jammed, waiting list increased… not efficient anymore.. crowded maa…

• Meanwhile proton struggles to sell 5000 units a month

• Not Toyota Fan on May 04, 2017 at 3:44 pm

Impressive numbers, Honda Malaysia. But to be honest, it’s a little bragging especially when it’s only Q1. Stop being so American style arrogance, be more humble Asian style. Continue to do your promotions to hit target, motivate all staff to perform at 100% and when you meet and exceed target, announce it proudly (& reward your staff). Be proud yet humble, the Asian way.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • Mikey on May 04, 2017 at 4:06 pm

How come Big H is selling their cars like Kacang Puteh while P1 is having a tough time surviving??! Kunta, please take over bcos I can never say it better than U do.

• Why summon own dupe?

• 4G63T DSM on May 04, 2017 at 4:50 pm

Why? because consumers have abandoned Proton after years of ignoring their product quality.

Long gone are the days of 60% market share.

Same with Toyota, long been accused of shortchanging customers.

Customers vote with their money.

I hope Honda doesn’t rest on their laurels, the temptation to reap more profit has yielded a BRV to not even have an option of 6 airbags.

• Annop on May 04, 2017 at 6:11 pm

DRB owned both Big H & P1

• Mikey on May 05, 2017 at 8:36 am

U are right Annop. In fact, our Gov owns/controls or have a hand in most car manufacturing/assemblers in M’sia. The difference is in the PRODUCTS. By now, U already know what I mean. Thanks 4 your input. Cheers

• kl fella on May 05, 2017 at 8:58 am

get your facts right first.. DRB fully owns Proton, but for Honda, DRB only has 34% equity. 49% owned by Honda Japan, and the rest by jv group between boon siew group & honda (boon siew honda sdn bhd, jv of oriental holdings bhd & honda motor co)

• Karam singh on May 04, 2017 at 6:46 pm

Honda is the second non national brand to achieve 100k sales, after Toyota did it in 2009. Good.

• Welinkar on May 04, 2017 at 7:36 pm

It’s all very well selling more cars which equates to more service centre’s required. It’s pathetic that one has to wait around 30 days to get a Honda booked in. The you are lumbered with high service costs. To optimize service centre utilization, Honda should put on a second shift, which means service centre’s open till 10pm and also on Sundays. Honda will also need to vastly improve the calibre of mechanics & technicians.

• Service Honda no big issue, for 3 years I usually call within a weeks and can get Saturday appointment. Glenmarie Shah Alam. And they provide shuttle service to Subang Parade, Empire , Sunway Pyramid.

• superdriver on May 08, 2017 at 2:28 pm

Dont buy BRV. Doors are as hollow as reban ayam. Tried knocking the door from within and it sounds not solid at all. Aside from that the interior does not really look the part of a sub RM100 K car. Seriously find other machines. Even a 10 year old optra oso has better interior and a safe and solid feeling as to BRV.